Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL-135 Front Light

Cateye EL-135 Front Light

Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TaxedToDeath
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good value

Posted31 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Its a little plasticky but at the end of the day its a low value front light. Great value in the sale. I hope that it stands up to the weather. Spreads a very good clear light which of course is the main objective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rowly10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top product

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good product, however it went through the first set of batteries quicker than I expected - not sure if that's down to the light or the batteries - so I'd recommend carrying spare batteries just in case. Looks good, works well, easily attaches to the bike, small & light enough to carry without being a nuisance. I purchased while on sale which made it good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Runem
Country:Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

To be seen not so much to see

Posted26 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: output low
Easy to attach, but not so easy to detach. Fairly good output for an inexpensive light, but not enough to really see the road 15-20 meters before you. The output is noticably inferior to a good light such as the Lupine Tesla. There is no rubber sealing so I expect there will be water leaking inside the light on rainy days. For the money it´s a fairly good light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pdaddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

small but impressive

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This cateye provides good illumination of the road, having recently completed a night time cycle run was most impressed, car drivers responded quickly to light. Also lightweight, easily adjustable and quickly detachable from bike. Can also be used as a hand held torch. All in all good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nilsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Light

Posted08 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light was adequate to get to and from work traveling approximately 14 miles each way on roads and paths in dusk/dark conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mustTRImore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value, nice and bright - easy to fit

Posted28 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
This light was very inexpensive compared to some of the leading equipment available (which I do pine for, but can't afford - or justify!).
The light is bright and sharp, the batteries last well and it was very easy to fit.
Overall I am very happy with this product - don't expect it to cast a huge amount of light on the road - but do expect it to get you noticed by other road users (much more important in my book!!).
Recommended :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
punctured
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value front light

Posted30 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easily fitted
This light is easily fitted, no tools required to attach to the bike. A small screwdriver is required to make lateral adjustment. Used on well lit roads the light beam on the road is not easily seen but this is to be expected. The flashing mode is best used to make oneself noticable to motorists in this situation. On roads that are unlit there is a good light beam that is adequate providing speed is not too great. Used for my commute to work it is sufficient for providing light to see by and be seen.
It uses inexpensive batteries, is small lightweight and unobtrusive. I have not had the opportunity to see how its weatherproofing copes in severe wet weather but other Cateye lights and cycle computers I have are more than up to coping with the rain we have had over the last summer and this winter.
Unless there is a need for a very high powered, and thus expensive light this will suffice for normal commuting and low light situations. All in all a good product at a reasonable price. Cateye quality, thoroughly pleased with this.
The light arrived justover 24 hours from ordering. Well done Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baguette
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Good light but you probably need 2

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A good bright light , lightweight and easy I fit. Do think you need 2 to cast a reasonable amount of light for dark areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikey41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent commuting light

Posted13 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, very bright, wide beam
I was pleasantly surprised by this light, it is smaller than I expected and I worried that I had made a mistake. After my first town commute home with it, I knew I had chosen right. It's very bright and will definately get you seen, but even where there is no street lighting, there is enough of a beam to light your way, I was impressed!
I would choose something more powerful if I was riding on unlit country roads, but even this would allow you to see where you are going.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim3555
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted20 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good bright light constant and flashing modes and nice and compact - easy to put on and take off too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bianchirider
from Endland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Smart , Very small. but Very Very Bright

Posted07 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I love this light, Its so small . It fits in your pocket.
If like me you don't like to have to many items on ur bike, it's just nice to know that on a long ride out. you have a good light in your pocket to help you get home nice and safe.
Very small, very light and Very Very Bright.
I LOVE IT. They say you only get what you pay for, not with Cateye. you get home safe and sound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CdeF

good as support

Posted27 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does much as is claimed - good for a support and side visibility. Light weight and small size an improvement on earlier cateye alternatives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pinkbiker
from Uk
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good bright light

Posted18 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very bright light. Only fault with it is it's very easy to switch on accidentally which I have done a few times when putting my bike into the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
visuper
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excelent Product

Posted26 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The product is great. I really liked it. And just want to still shopping with Evans because they are always great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bowlman
from melbourne
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted11 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really bright light that is noticeable from a long distance with good battery life.Melbourne
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sipower
from manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light

Posted20 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
nice looking light. easy to fit. very bright - need to dip beam slightly as i've seen drivers fiddle with their rear view mirror. much brighter than my previous light. would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL-135 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satpal

Great light

Posted09 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Small and compact, yet very bright. So far it hasn't switched itself on as easily in my rucksack as my previous front light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.