Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL-340 Front Light

Cateye EL-340 Front Light

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VofSpondon
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic light for the money. Actually hits the road so you can see what's ahead and the rechargable option is great. Very highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mott
from Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great with a hidden bonus

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a very good front light for the price. Has a powerful beam, easily lights the way ahead and gives confidence that motorists will see you when in traffic.
As an added bonus if you fit suitable rechargeable batteries in it you can plug a 2.4v charger lead into a socket underneath and charge the batteries directly. Cat eye rec Ni-MH 2.2Ah batteries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PTS570
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Excellent Light

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfectly as described and expected, great light. Would certainly recomend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheRocketman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good on unlit roads

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Neat design with side tell-tales to give drivers 270 deg visibility of you.
Easily detchable when leaving bike unattended.
Powerful, focussed beam is more than adequate for cycling on unlit roads, which makes this excellent value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GrahamP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bright light, but ONLY HAS ONE MODE

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no power-saving mode, no flashing mode
It's a good bright light, casts a good rectangle of light on the road, and takes 2xAA batteries (which means better battery life than lights that take AAA batteries).
However, contrary to what every other website (including CatEye's) says, this light has only one mode: bright and constant. It does not flash, and it does not have a dim, long-life mode. (Which is annoying, because I bought it for the two brightness settings.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andy2CV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, powerful beam, but no flashing mode

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
A good, powerful beam, but BE AWARE (as I wasn't!) that this is actually the model EL340G, which is a German spec model which only has a single constant mode, unlike the EL340 which is shown on the CatEye website as having low / high constant, plus flashing mode.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
iSamurai
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's bright, but...

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
I like the fact that it takes 2xAA batteries, but somehow they still managed to bulk the design. It's a lot bigger and heavier than I imagined. It's bright but the beam is too narrow. Looking back I'd buy something a bit more expensive but don't have the associated problems with this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
m1ateusz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

great value for money

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
good value for money, it does light the road in fron of you, not a big area, but enough so you can avoid any obstacles
the only downside is battery short life, but with decent rechargable batteries it should be ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginger71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Light is good and strong for dark roads
Does not flash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stubert

Good cheap front light

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
What can you say? This is a decent, reasonable cheap front light. When angled correctly it shines a bright light into the view of oncoming traffic alerting them to you. Only downside really is no flashing mode.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gedders

Excellent Light, Competively priced

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good quality light, really bright, looks great on the bike, really compact size. Highly recommendable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jellybabies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

easy to atatch

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Gives a great field of light also the batteries last a long time would recommend these lights to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Varkie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Very bright

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have not tried this light in winter, but it is bright enough to see in broad daylight. It does not have a flicker mode, which is a shame and the battery life is not great. But given the brightness of the light the short battery life is expected. The clip is very secure. The light is much larger than traditional commuter lights and can be used for short distances on unlit streets if you go a bit slower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thirza74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This light was great on a normal dark street but I used it on pitch black country lanes recently and couldn't see more than a few feet in front of me - not great if you're whizzing downhill and need to see further! However its great value for money and does the job otherwise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Vittel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and bright, but no flashing mode

PostedJuly 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: no flashing mode
I think the latest version of this light has a flashing mode, but this older one does not (hence the heavy discount presumably). Nice and bright though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AntonyR1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Rubbish!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, poor output
Very disappointed as Cat Eye are one of the leaders in cycle lighting. Build quality not very good, would be afraid about the item getting wet.
Biggest let down is the pathetic light output the unit gives. Or maybe its because i'm comparing it to the fantastic 7w LED cycle light i bought for a quarter of the cost on Ebay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Really bright beam - good for unlit paths and the not so well lit street around town. Lightweight and well make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamesy60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Bright Light!!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have owned several Cateye lights over the years but this one is the brightest yet. I commute regularly at night and this light is just the ticket.
I would definitely recommend this as good value for money, and if it lasts as long as my previous Cateye lights I will be well pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright white light

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not for off road, no flashing mode
I bought 2 of this at 50% off. Great price Evans! This light is adequate for the unlit road, but would not be very good off road. the beam spread just isn't enough on the path after 10 meters. Still the build quality of this light is good as you expect from Cateye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye EL-340 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
everythinglive
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Light

PostedMay 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: no flash option
Very bright and easy to see in front of you on dark roads. The fastening is secure also. Would be better if the light had a flash option. There's also a rechargeable option aswell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>