Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Gilets & Vests or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest

Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest

Elite Barrier fabric provides superior wind protection and water resistance.
Overall rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Armoredinca
from North wales
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A great cycling vest that is very light and packs very small to carry in a jersey pocket. Has just enough wind protection to keep you warm on cool rides yet very breathable. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeloFreddo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, attractive, does the job

Posted29 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Comfortable, attractive, does the job. Good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davidg1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really bright and light!

Posted13 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought due to not really owning much high viz clothing, with some nights being really misty I though it best to be seen, ideally light and easy to store away if not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrangeChammy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality gilet - very visible too

Posted03 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Yellow is much brighter than picture and looks fairly stylish compared to usual hi-vis gear. I am a 32 waist, 38 chest and the medium fits well and loose enough for a winter top underneath, perhaps a bit more loose at chest but fabric is not too flappy. The quality seems great and it is breathable, so not too clammy. Ideal for road biking when worn all ride - some pack down better than this, but this is just a trade off as I'd say the barrier vest will last longer than most. Get one for the commute if you want to be seen. Also just about cool enough for club rides too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EnjoyingCycling
from Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Water and Windproof, though still hot!

Posted13 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was after something that would be waterproof but, unlike some waterproof tops, would not be like wearing a bin bag (and consequently end up wetter on the inside than the outside!).
Well - waterproof wise it's great, and it is very windproof too so long decents don't end up cold.
However, it is still a waterproof top and as such I suggest wearing it in not just rain, but cold rain - otherwise you do end up too hot (even with the vents underarm)
Fits fine, especially over a Pearl Izumi S/S jersey (I am a small in the jersey and got a small vest and fits great), and is very hi-viz (the picture on the site doesn't show that particularly well).
Also, it packs very small - certainly small enough for your jersey pocket.
At it's RRP it seems very, very expensive for what it is, but at it's now sale price it hits the balance between good quality and high price just right.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gazlondon
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dayglo gillet

Posted17 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, packs small
Cons: attracts bees
This is great to put over my t-shirt when setting off early in the morning. Keeps the chill out and doesn't get too hot and sticky. Good venting across back.
Nice fleecy around neck.
Packs up small into its own rear pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwarf
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just perfect

Posted10 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent quality and style. I bought the small size which is a neat fit. I am 36" chest and 28" waist. Those with plump middle may find this tight if they stuff the rear pockets of your under-layer. The ventilation works well and riding in west coast drizzle proved the water resistance. Very neat to roll into a pocket. Great buy. Personal choice, but the black is classier than the yellow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Xmatt
from South West
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright and beautiful

Posted14 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: a pocket away from perfection
This yellow vest is an ideal high visibility aid which packs down well. It is also easy to clean when muddy. Wind resistance is pretty good. Like some other reviewers I think that a back pocket would be handy.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimGB
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even brighter than it looks

Posted04 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Would have gone for a different colour (yellow) but sale stock so can't be picky, more hi-vis than 'yellow'
Really good quality product for the price and removes the morning chill from riding within a few minutes of riding.
Fit is on the 'snug' side - I'm a 38/40 chest and went for medium. It's fine for riding as length is good, but not sure I'll be using the pocket for anything wider than a credit card.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quoc
from Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Feel good quality and quite comfortable with this jacket. It does have water proof too and this is a bonus for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thorolf
from South Coast, NSW, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value & Light & Packable

Posted25 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no zip pocket.
I bought this vest as an emergency vest for my commute and on longer road rides. I now use it for nearly everything - walking, for the trip home from the pub etc.
The vest is light, stylish and blocks the wind, but is breathable with the mesh vent at the back.
The vest can be stuffed in a rear jersey pocket, has reflective piping, and it is tougher than it looks.
I commute with a sling bag over my shoulder and after about two months, even with all the rubbing of the strap on my shoulders there are no marks or anything on the vest.
The fit is not loose but not ultra tight. I'm a 38" chest and it fits well. However, I bought another in the smaller size for a tighter road cycling fit.
Al in all, a great packable, light, windproof vest (haven't had it it the wet yet). Highly recommended, especially at the sale price although a zippered pocket would be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrFothers
from Sheffield
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Complements any kit

Posted24 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddly zip
I've got the black in a small, having ordered the medium and found it too loose around the waist.
It looks great, packs really small (it's really just one layer) and goes with anything. I often wear it with a short sleeve top at the start of the ride or when I stop. Add some armwarmers and basically you're prepared for a vast range of conditions.
Only (very minor) negative is the zip is a bit fiddly to do at 45 km/hr downhill, which seems to always be when I want to put it on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dartagnon
from Cheshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too small

Posted08 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sizes dont seem right
Even though I bought a medium it was a tight fit and the zip broke after 2 uses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Euxtoner
from Mid-Lancs
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted29 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Found this to do the job in keeping out the early Spring cool breezes and dampness. I am 38/40 chest medium build so I chose the medium size - a good close fit - if you are a bigger build go for the larger size. Looks very smart with adequate rear pocket for small items. Value o.k. at the sale price, but would be expensive at the full R.R.P.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AppleP
from London commuter
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good emergency vest

Posted25 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I keep this one in my bag for emergencies when the heaven's open. It packs up really small and has kept me dry in relatively heavy showers. Definitely recommended for emergencies or in hot weather.
Not so keen on the bright yellow (i have the black one also that is nicer) but it is very visible.
Andy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Budgie
from Dumfriesshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Kit

Posted10 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Super fit and quality product, delivered quickly, Service from Evans was first class
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sicyclist

Nice quality kit

Posted20 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought it for a mate's birthday pressie. Very good fit. Lightweight and functional. Love Pearl Azumi stuff.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brux86
from Poitiers, France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

Posted19 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very windproof & visible, high neck for draught prevention, light & foldable, with mesh panel. Good fit (L for 183 cms/65 kgs); doesn't ride up when down on lower bars. Positive comments from fellow cyclists. Recommended for between season rides.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Vest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Titan
from South Yorks
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not Worth £50

Posted22 February 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought the vest at £29.99 and although its quite warm I honestly thought what have I got for my hard earned cash. It might be expecting more but I'm certainly glad I didnt pay the full £50
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.