Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River
Country:Argentina
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this jacket, I can use it all the time, really excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MojoEssex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent jacket good price

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this product because I wanted a fully zipped jacket that was windproof, breathable and warm in cold British weather, and plenty big enough for my size. It is perfect. Size XXL suits my 6ft 3in and 15 stone frame.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guitardodds

Warm, good fit, excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A "Windstopper" is exactly what this garment is. Wearing it with an Arc'teryx base layer underneath, it is warm enough for mid winter commutes in the North East of Scotland.
Medium fits where it touches on my 40in chest/32 in waist frame.
Time will tell how well it breathes when the weather warms up a touch, but there is no doubt this is an excellent winter jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikelover123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great bit of kit

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Would really recomend! Worth the extra £ for something really comfortable. Still good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil1824
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great choice, You get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Spent a while on the Web and chatting in store. Was delighted with the advice from the Manager of the Deansgate store. He took the time to chat through the pros and cons of a range of products. This was the recommendation and I went out in the cold and drizzle today. I was absolutely delighted. It was a joy to wear and the next choice is what Base layer to get.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sje07

Extremely warm

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this jacket to use on spring/autumn mornings and evenings to travel back and for work and although it's great for this, it's also so warm that I'll have no problem using it in the winter. I haven't used it in heavy rain but it also keeps the light rain out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happygoL
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and snug top

PostedJune 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, discreet cycle look
Excellent top for sub 10 degree cycling. Can be too warm even with vents opened above 15degree. The wind block is a dream. Very good fit and sleves are not too long at all. quality product and bought in the sale which made it very good value. Discreet in black and doesn't look too out of place when without a bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrekBoy

Great Product.

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have the slightly more expensive 'brother' to this jacket - the gray/black one which is around £20 more expensive. I've had the gray/black for about a year & can advise it is a great product.
I needed to get myself another one, so opted for the cheaper, all-black version. I have not been dissapointed. It is almost identical to the more expensive one, except for the colour.
Both keep out the wind and light rain, keep you warm, but not too warm and have all the elements for a good riding jacket:
Fit
3 rear Pockets
Breat Pocket
Underarm Vents
Stiff Neck Collar
Quality Zips (important - they last!)
Quality Hem to reduce fraying
Windstopper
Overall a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dumbo
from stockholm
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

exactly what i needed

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i maybe have to start by saying that this is the first soft shell, bike-specific jacket i've ever bought, but nevertheless...
My commuting has improved in comfort enormously as compared to the many-layers + rain jacket i was used to.
I live in sweden and i have been using the jacket from around 0 degrees (with a wool polo under) up to 15 degrees (with a t-shirt under and completely opened zip under the arms). I sweat a lot less and i feel more "free" on my bike.
The table provided by evans for fitting gave me the right size. I like also the "discrete" look as compared to other more flashy models.
I bought it on sale, so my rating for price is done accordingly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needsmoreroom
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

never looked back

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Spent last year umming and arring whether to purchase this jacket or not having been recommended one by a colleague but put off by the two colours evans stocked it in. With the stocking of it in black it suited it all my purposes. Now black isn't for everyone especially with the obvious problems with visibility from other road users but for me an unobtrusive colour allows me to wear the jacket as a much more casual garment.
The windstopper material is exceptional stuff legally if they waterproofed the seams then it could be classed as waterproof. now this is not to say its as waterproof as goretex its not. however it will provide some protection from shower and even in heavy downpours but it will at some point seep through. i use it primarily as a commute jacket to uni where it means if there are chances of showers i don't have to take a waterproof leaving me sweaty as anything by the time i arrive but still drive and its not too obvious a cycle jacket. it is temperate i never find myself too cold or to hot and therefor it perfect.
Other reviews have mentioned it being almost 'race fit' jacket although it is a close fitting jacket it is still casual enough to go to the pub.
It is not only a commute jacket, it accompanies me on the miles i try and clock up in my attempt to keep fit. the three pockets at the back provide amply storage for some foodstuffs and a map while the chest pocket is ideal for a mobile or wallet or both! its definitely big enough.
If you did find yourself over heating slightly it comes with underarm ventilation which just needs to be unzipped to allow access for a refreshing breeze.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roel
from Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent winter jersey

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, 3 pockets on the back
Cons: Expensive
After comparing several Gore Bike (my preferred brand) jerseys with Windstopper, I bought this one because it fitted all my needs:
- Windproof
- neutral color, preferably matte black
- good fit
- enough pockets to carry food, mobile phone, gloves etc (this is a con of most other Windstopper jackets)
The quality and the small details are perfect as all Gore-Bike equipment.
The fit is tight, but with some room for an extra layer underwear.
The jackets is thin, lightweight but the Windstopper works perfect and together with the lining, it keeps you warm.
I bought it for road racing but I'm also using it now for running.
This week, I used it by -6°C with a thermal undershirt and a Nike keep-warm shirt as base layers and it keeped me really warm, if not to hot.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Tool Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Emell

ccld and clammy

PostedNovember 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Returned it after one outing. Definitely not a cold weather garment. I found it reasonably windproof but being such a snug fit there was little room for a base layer of sufficient warmth to make winter riding comfortable.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.