Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
abcgeorge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

good product; would recommend

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is, as I've always found with Gore products, a good item, well made and does what you need it to. Keeps the wind out, keeps out rain unless it's pouring down, and keeps you warm enough whilst not keeping so much moisture in that you become uncomfortable. I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
anthony7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product looks and feels great.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have bought gore products in the past and they have never let me down. Bit the bullet and purchased this soft shell in black whilst on offer and was not disappointed. Tried it out at 6c today with just 1 base layer, nice and warm and as it says totally windproof. The fit is slim but it feels great, didn't ride up at all. I'm 5 10, 40 inch chest, 32 waist and the large is perfect. All I can say is if you are looking for a soft shell don't think twice about buying this one, it's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grizz53
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very impressed with the warmth of this jacket. I have worn it twice in temps around 5C with cold winds with just a base layer underneath. It definitely stops the wind and keeps you nice and toasty on the worst of days. If there is any criticism it is that it does not breathe much and you can get fairly sweaty on the inside if you are riding tempo or higher.
The jacket is well tailored for cycling. I am 182 cms and 80 kilos and the large fits very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeffy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

A must for winter cycling period!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I wore this with just a merino base layer at 1deg C. I am warm and protected. It really helps me to perform well on training. My core is well regulated & ventilated. It does not flap on high winds. The windstopper fabric does it all. Its Mercedes benz price, Mercedes benz quality.
I am 5"8 40in chest 32 waist. The Medium size is perfect. Fitting is racy which I like & good length on sleeves, good for the drops. The fabric is also stretchy.
I got the black colour. Beware the tape piping is gray instead of black not like the photo shows. I look like a character on Tron. LOL!
Theres is also a bonus neck/face warmer that hides in the colar.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dadbob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top-class jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I could feel the quality as soon as I tried it on. Great fit - long sleeves! - and certainly keeps the chill off. Water beads off in a light shower. In fact, the splashes from my wife's back wheel wiped off easily. And before you ask, she likes to lead to dictate the pace...
Highly recommended - and the jacket too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Briliant!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks good, feels good and does a great job of keeping you warm on the coldest days. Been out in sub-zero with this and a base layer and never felt the cold once. It is a tailored fit that has drawn admiring comments from my horse-riding wife. If it wasn't for the 3 pockets on the bag I think she would pinch it. One thing it could do with is a zipped pocket for extra peace of mind, The neck warmer feature is a nice touch and removes the need for my usual buff to keep the draughts out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shaddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does everything it claims for a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RocDoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent - just like my other Gore jacket!

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Warm flexible and in my case brightly coloured, it even did a pretty good job in the pouring rain - so good for autumn riding when visibility with breathability count
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
globero
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good quality

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I choose the L size because I am, 178cm tall and 103 cms chest. The quality is bigger than I expected. Warm fabric and windstopper action. Lateral grating pockets.
Front zip with interior protection for the wind.
A bit large in the rear part and the sleeves (it is a common shape for gore bike wear clothes).
The jacket is full made of wind stopper fabric (for example phantom model has some parts in black for not wind stopper fabric)
A bit expensive but good quality.
Be careful with the sizes. For me M size is small, and phantom model in M size is OK. This is due to the form, tight shape, comfort shape, and slim shape, check in the web site.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustinSane
from Herts
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Oxygen Jacket

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I agree with the previous reviews, this is a great jacket. It was around 5 degrees and quite windy recently, the right weather for the jacket; kept the wind out and me comfortable.
It's a bit on the expensive side but you get the quality and the features you'd expect from Gore.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
escapedubai
from Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does exactly what it's meant to do

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, good pockets
Cycling in this with a long sleeved merino layer underneath and a long bib on was just right with the temperature at 5 degrees C the other day.
Yesterday I went out with the temperature at 10 degrees in high winds with nothing underneath it and again it was just right.
Much warmer than this and you'd be wanting something else.
It's really well made, the integral ear warmer is a nice feature and it fits really well. The rear pockets are deep and the two mesh side pockets a handy feature for food bars or for sunglasses (in tunnels)
I'm 1.83m, 79Kg and the large fits beautifully,
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickmcg
from north devon
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

gore oxygen soft shell

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
i would agree with other reviews of this jacket...it is simply superb. i can normally find a fault in most cycling gear but not this... very versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrackSpinner

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Christened in fog and mist this morning, awesome jacket. Snug fit, toasty and dry.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energizer
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beware of the size!!!

PostedJune 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, very tight, size problem
This jacket very thin, is not warmed enough for winter and problem with the size..
I usually use size M, but for this jacket size M is like size XS, so for anybody how want to buy this item please carefully to choose the size.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ageingcyclist
from Lincoln
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Jacket

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the most comfortable and warm windproof that I have ever worn! You will not need more than one layer underneath unless it's rally cold. It also seems to shrug off light rain.
Please be aware that the sizing is fine for chest and arms but unless you have a racing whippet waist (unlike me!) you may need a bigger size.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigGerman
from Buckingham
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Weather beater

PostedApril 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this jacket to cope with the changeable british weather, and it was put to the test on a day when it rained, the sun shone and the wind picked up.
A good fit, even for a large muscular frame, and kept the elements out whilst not overheating when things warmed up.
Very light and you hardly notice you are wearing it.
Very versatile clothing item, probably best in the cooler months or early morning/late evening rides.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyguk
from Rural Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a great jacket and sized right for me

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As a fair weather cyclist I was looking for something to keep out the cold and get me cycling to work earlier in the spring and later in the autumn. This jacket enables me to do so.
I am 180 cm (6 ft) tall with and fairly slim (34 inch waist). I bought a LARGE size, and the fit is exactly right - and similar to my large Altura jersey.
This jacket is very close fitting, with an excellent sleeve length. If anything, initially it 'felt' a bit too short at the front; however, after a month of riding in it I am increasingly pleased with the length.
The fabric is lovely and soft both inside and out and appears very well made with high attention to detail (e.g. neck warmer, good reflective detail etc).
Even in unseasonably warm weather this is still a comfortable jacket.
Perspiration control with the jacket is good, was improved further by switching out my backpack for some panniers.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rigidrider
from kent
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
if you ride hard and dont pootle buy one. warm comfy and sweat free.its a snug fit but you will only need a base layer under it.not tryed in heavy rain yet but shrugs off showers and mist .dont hesitate buy one
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remedy111
from Nottingham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent versatile soft shell jacket

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, warm and cosy
Bought this in the sale in Feb 2011, (it's still on sale now in March) from the online shop, I bought two sizes, XL and XXL, to try.
Usually I'm a L or XL in normal clothes, but the XL didn't fit very well so went for the XXL and returned the XL. If your body shape is anything other than skinny roady or XC whippet, I advise you to try a size up from your normal size!
The jacket itself:
Nice red colour, close fitting, cosy, microfleece backed, some minimal reflective logos and two reflective striped on the back, three back pockets + two handy side mesh pockets should be sufficient for your needs for a day ride if you've got water bottle(s) on the bike, and there's a little neck gaiter incorporated into the collar, which adds a little bit of extra warmth and wind protection if you need it, if not, you can keep it tucked away in the collar.
The jacket is nice and warm, a good bike specific low cut at the back, with a quality gripper hem. It is cosy, warm, and although it's a softshell it actually performs very well in light rain, arguably better than a fully waterproof jacket because it's more breathable.
All in all an excellent quality well thought out and designed product, as you'd expect from Gore. I recommend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.