Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map

Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map

The Adventurer 2800 is the only GPS unit which includes full PC software featuring Ordnance Survey mapping, enabling you to print maps, plan routes and transfer routes, tracks and waypoints to and from your PC. You can also add further mapping from the entire Memory-Map collection, including historical mapping, aviation and marine charts, European mapping and maps from further afield. A 50 channel high sensitivity GPS receiver ensures fast lock as soon as the unit is switched on and the signal remains strong and clear even in built up and wooded areas. Featuring a full colour 2.8" touchscreen with high definition for an incredibly vibrant and sharp display. Weatherproof and rugged, the Adventurer weighs in at a featherweight 135g including the battery. It won't weigh you down whether you're walking out on the hill or riding trails
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Review 1 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tresrikay
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

superb walkers aid

Posted16 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Very pleased with the adventurer so far, the mapping is great and accuracy spot on. Being touch screen makes it a step above the competition, though the lanyard holding the pointer is a pain, a clip on the side would be better. The menu takes a little time to get familiar with but I am still finding out its full potential. I had a garmin before and this is far superior to that product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJJMMMPPP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value GPS with excellent PC software

Posted13 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: smallish screen, lack of detailed instructions
An excellent value GPS with memory map PC software that is great to plan your next route. Easy to use, once you work it out, due to the lack of detailed instructions. The screen is really clear, albeit a little on the small side, but at the price I cannot grumble! The touchscreen is very responsive with either your finger or the supplied stylus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobbyboy1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what i require perfectly..

Posted25 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this item to allow me to know at the touch of button
where exactly i was during an Audax run, So saving the need to purchase and carry maps for the areas i was cycling thro.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GadgetGirlage45
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

UK Working Well

Posted08 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, saves on lots of paper maps
Cons: difficult touse at first
Could not use prduct at all at first, took a week for the first map, then to save the on the GPS. Found using the computer with it very diffcult, friend who bought the product 2 years ago had to come round and teach me.
Battery only lasts up to five hours, so if using for long periods cuts out and cannot record GPS route, however has hold functions so battery should last for longer rides.
I have just bought France's maps can't even get the producet registered yet. Here's hoping!
I think its gadjet is great, but I cannot use it fully yet, perhaps ask me in another two months after I come back from 6 day cycle to Paris, if it works for then, well it will be great and if i can use it anyone can.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tracker
from Ayrshire
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Full of Potential

Posted15 July 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought one of these just after they were launched in 2009. The colour screen is terrific, best in class however the software isn't great and it often refused to talk to my computer for uploads/downloads. Battery life was poor with little warning of when it would expire. I also had problems with the bike mount when the lugs snapped off. This happened again with the second bike mount I bought and I am not ruff with my stuff. Not long out of its 1 year warranty and the pretty little on/off switch on the GPS snapped off so I couldn't use it. This co-incided with water getting into the screen and the little darling crashing on me as I was biking from Glasgow to Belfast. I took the ferry by the way rather than swim with the 2800. I sent the 16 month old unit back to MemeryMap and asked them to check it our for repairs. Amazingy they came back stating it was a sealed unit so it was only fit for the bin. They did offer me a replacement at a discounted rate. At this point I decided to save myself further hassle, raided the kids piggy bank and bought a Garmin Edge 800 instead....which is excellent, but pricey.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
exmoorman

Good GPS - but could be better

Posted18 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
It is amazing that the entire 1:50000 map of the UK can be fitted onto such a small device; how technology moves on. It lacks a certain polish, though. There is little direct link between the GPS and supplied software; it is more of an external hard drive than an integrated device. Real lack of good instructions means it can be a pain to set up without a reasonable IT knowledge. Strange glitches on the GPS as well - change the preferences for units etc and it will not remember you're choices. Looking on the web forums this has been a problem for a while, should be easilt fixed, but no patch released. Odd.
Still would recommend this if you want a moving map GPS; just get used to its little quirks
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dingosnow
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good, but not perfect

Posted11 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: windows os
I have used memory map previously with a garmin monochrome device. Very reliable, but basic, so I decided to get a full colour mapped up device.
The map detail on the device is brilliant, perfect for mtb'ing, and impressive battery life, my six hour cycles have only hit it half way out. Mounts to your stem very nicely with tape if your too tight to buy the mount like me. BUT
This is basically Windows, and as such is flaky. I have had it crash, lock up, not load maps properly etc. I am a mac user so have little patience for windows full stop, so that may have a bearing.
Also, there are two ways to load routes to the device, only one works (disastrous day out that was!!)
Not completely intuitive, and I am an engineer so not bad with tech (no I had not read the manual - as if).
Oh, and the worst part, it will only provide map up navigation, not route up. This is my biggest hate
Would I buy this device again? Considering the map detail, accompanying software, price etc, Yes - I would, but I am very keen to see an update to sort out the silly issues.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roger10
Age:55-65

Excellent GPS

Posted08 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Works exactly as it should. Easy to get to know whats what as its fairly intuitive. Battery life good - especially with the extra battery in the extended life battery case.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silverback
from Andover Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted24 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good mapping, good gps lock on
Cons: no on screen speed
Over all I am pleased with this product, my only problem is that there is no on screen display of speed. I found that up loading routes from my lap top was not that easy to start with as the instruction shhet was not all that clear. Apart from that the unit it self is easy to use and is clear while on the bike. Over all if it is just a GPS unit then it is good but as a training tool it is very limited, the good thing is I can use it while off the bike as well as on it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Memory-Map Adventurer 2800 GPS With Full UK Map
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jvivea
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted29 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Have only had this for a couple of weeks now but have found it to be really good. i use it on my bike and the units comes with NCN routes already planned in. when you complete a ride you can also access the data and it will show, max speed, average speed and even altitude. It also breaks down the sped into a chart. really good unit. Highly recommended if you walk or ride off the beaten track
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MMSupport
 
Please wait while more information about MMSupport is loaded.
Additional information about MMSupport could not be loaded.
Thanks
Posted 23 December 2010
Pleased that you like your GPS
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)