Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for High 5 Iso Gel

High 5 Iso Gel

High5 IsoGel has a much more drink like consistency rather than being thick like the gel. This makes it easier and faster to digest, and with a dash of real fruit juice it tastes great too. Each Sachet contains 23g of carbohydrate giving you plenty of energy per sachet. These are great to use alongside one of the High5 Energy drinks, for that extra boost where ever you are. High5 have two types of gel to choose from; EnergyGel or IsoGel. Both types of gel do the same job, however, the IsoGel has a lighter consistency which is somewhere between a drink and a gel. The EnergyGel has a slightly thicker consistency but isnt as bulky and is lighter in weight, which makes for easier storage and can carry in larger quantities. The IsoGel would be more appropriate for a hot day as it is more diluted and more of a liquid than a gel, so easier to digest.
Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for High 5 Iso Gel
Review 1 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
symmsie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I use these gels when cycling and on long training runs. They are much easier to swallow than the regular High5 energy gels and require less water intake after taking them. They are a bit bulkier and heavier than the regular High5 energy gels so I usually take a combination of both on my runs and rides, plus sometimes you don't want to take on 60ml of gel and 30ml is easier to take in.
Really easy on the stomach as well but that can vary person to person so it's best to experiment buying a few individual gel sachets before committing to a whole box!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicky7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

love these gels

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
these are very effective at giving energy boost to carry for a good few hours. I like both these iso gels and energy gels but the iso are more thirst quenching - not such a thick, sweet consistency; very good for a refreshing and thirst quenching pick me up. only negative I can think of for both the high 5 gels is that the tear off top doesn't always pull off altogether and I regularly end up with sticky fingers one way or another!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
burning

Great for runners

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I use these for running. More like a drink than a gel so really handy for a longer run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephenMit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

High 5 ISO Gel

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Tastes good and easy to take. It less thick than most other gels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flash92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good product, didn't like the taste

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good energy source, good consistency
Cons: taste
Tried this product to see what it was like. Consistency is good and there is a good source of energy. Unfortunately the taste of the orange flavour wasn't there for me. Didn't really taste of orange at all. With products like these you just have to try as many as you can and find a product that suits you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twoshoes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much needed "boost"

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Was flagging to say the least and this gave me what felt like the ability to keep on going. Will keep trying these and see if I can tailor to my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Narcosis1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to access sachet

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Only just starting using these gels.
More convenient than carrying foods and definitely makes a difference to energy levels when required and not affected by sweaty pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great tasting easy to take gel.

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great taste, don't need water
Cons: slightly bulky
Over the years I have experimented with a lot of gels. I used SiS for quite some time and recently have been using Torx due to their great array of flavours.
Gels have always been a bit of unpleasant necessity to be honest. They have never been something that I look forward to in a race, and I have always had to schedule them around when water will be available. Water not being a problem on the bike, but most certainly is during a run.
I got a couple of the regular high5 gels in a sample pack after a race. They sat around for a while before I eventually tried them. I was quite surprised that they had a really natural kind of flavour to them and weren't a gloopy as the gels I had been using.
When I came to ordering some more of the regular gels I noticed these and decided to give them a go. The flavours are as good as the regular High5 gels and the consistency is great. These go down very easily without the need to be washed down with water. I am now using a combination of these and normal High5 gels.
With the additional water content they are slightly bulkier than a normal gel. That said I am using a tri race belt which can hold them without problem. These are now my energy source for this year's London Marathon.
A little care needs to be taken when opening these as the liquid can spill from the sachet quite easily. I haven't had a problem while running, but I have spilled it on my gloves when on the bike. As water isn't usually a problem on the bike I would probably recommend the regular High5 gels for cycling and the ISOs for running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markyash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Iso Gels work!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I am pleased with the 'lift' these give while out on a long run/ride, although you need to be careful carrying them as they can leak. They are almost un-sticky and do not require a fluid intake to wash 'em down. The suggested intake is 3 per hour of exercise appears to work for me. The flavour isn't too bad either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sixfootpixie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wet

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Seems to do the job. Wetter than many, more refreshing, tasted ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bowdon100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These Isogels work! They taste fine and do not require additional water consumption which is really convenient. I've tried many different brands and these are the best I have come across.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wigtype1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes good

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tastes good & easy to swallow - not as sticky as others I have tried
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Esoxman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to open while riding, taste is fine in lemon not to sharp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
London2Laois
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great to get you up those hills!

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, effective
I used this product on a 640km endurance ride across the uk! It was great to give you that extra little bit of energy when needed. Remember to take about 20min before you think your going to run out of setam and drink water with it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantamas
It was bought:Online

good, easy to drink

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good, cheap for a gel, but be aware that the citrus contains caffeine, which is not mentioned on the webpage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fellranger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gives a quick boost.

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I used High 5 Iso Gel for the first time recently on a cycling trip through France. It undoubtedly gave my energy level a boost at a time when I was tiring. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
midgster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tasting and easy to swallow

PostedJune 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tastes great!
Not like other energy gels, quite watery so no need for extra water, great tasting too. Won't be buying any other Gel from now on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rockille
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You but with a boost

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This was the first gel type supplement I have used out on the trail, it was a little weird but not too sickly. I certainly wouldn't want to put away a load of these on a long ride it may have undesirable effects!
It may have been a placebo effect but I made it home from a 54 miler off road with this halfway on the way home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dreamingrunner

Excellent

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: can be leaky
I've used the Isogel berry or orange flavours during long marathon training runs and have found them to be excellent. I previously used the SIS Go gels, but didn't like the taste and sometimes started feeling sick soon after taking them. The isogels taste great (just like an energy drink, but not as sweet) and are non-gooey. Also, you don't feel the need to drink lots of water after taking them. Most importantly, they usually provide a noticeable energy boost (as long as you're not too exhausted by the time you take them!)
My only quibble is with the packaging, as the gel sometimes seeps out through kinks which develop in the packet during the run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for High 5 Iso Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scotty1982
from Airdrie
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Only use when cycling more than 20 miles. light to carry and keeps the energy levels up. Not the best tasting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>