Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg

High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg

High5 EnergySource Protein Recovery is the ultimate drink for after exercise and is the choice of many Professional athletes. The whey isolate used in the drink is a high quality source of protein. Protein contributes greatly to muscle growth and maintenance, so if you dont want to ache the day after your race or exercise then having a Protein Recovery drink after exercise is vital. It also contains carbohydrate, due to the fact that your muscles are often low in glycogen (carbohydrate) after heavy exercise. For a slightly higher rate of protein you can mix the Protein Recovery powder with milk, and is also neutral, whereas some sports recovery drinks can be acidic. If you are used to mixing this with water, then mixing it with milk is a pleasant surprise.
Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Review 1 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great taste, improved results

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good taste
I got this for my first protein shake and I have to say every cycling day has become a wait for that moment when I get home and can down a cold shake. It's THAT good! Seriously. I got the banana flavour and I shake it with milk, but the 1.6kg went pretty fast for me and I'm looking to try another flavour. It's definitely helping me gain muscle mass as I have somewhat of a problem with my stomach/liver generating energy from normal food (baffled me for years) but recovery after cycling is much improved, compared to no protein supplement.
Also, during cycling I take carbohydrate gel and I've found this combination to work for me very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Tastes great!

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not really in a position to compare with other similar products, but in terms of the superficial stuff, it's the best I have tried so far... Tastes good and easy to dissolve, unlike some others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I use Chocolate flavour. Taste good, Easy mix. Works for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Tastes good

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have tried a few different shakes all with a bitty texture and a not so nice after taste but not only was it a nice taste the was no bittyness. Works well for an after workouts shake too meaning I can do more the following day with a noticeable reduction in exercise pain and great value compared to other ones I have bought on the market
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have not used protein recovery shakes since my rugby days 5-6 years ago and I remember them all tasting awful.
I have this with milk straight after training and it taste great (chocolate) and legs feel fresh and fully recovered the next morning ready to start again the next day!
I also use the CNP Vanilla shake - the two together is amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Protein Recovery I Have Tried

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After trying many different protein recovery shakes - this is the one. Packs in the protein plus some carbs and is easy to mix. Chocolate is a favourite but for a twist, try mixing Chocolate and the Banana flavours...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic, would recommend to all!!!

Posted18 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, taste, cheap, good range of flavours
Brought this product and it's brilliant would recommend to anyone quality and cheap A*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

Posted26 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm a victim of the heavy marketing at sportives etc where High 5 stuff is dished out at every stop.
However, I like this stuff and it works well for me. I never even come close to "the bonk"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Versatile!

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Compared to another product range I found High-5 very 'thin', until I tried it with (lactose-free) milk and it was much more pleasant. More like a milkshake (not suprisingly!).
I still prefer the other ranges' thick-shake taste but this High-5 is not bad and gives the option of mixing with milk or water which is useful for (some) dairy-intolerants - and those who like a choice.
Another interesting point is the balance of sugars depending on the flavour (see http://images.evanscycles.com/product_document/file/af2/c22/6c6/663/high-5-allergy-information.pdf).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes good & it works

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've only ever tried one recovery product before & it didn't seem to do much for me so I wasn't expecting much from the free sample I received of this, but it worked well. I got back from the same 4+ hour ride I'd done the week before & after one of these & a quick snack, rather than spend the afternoon on the sofa as I'd done the week before, I spent 3 hours working hard in the garden. I ordered 2 tubs the next day.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted14 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Banana flavour is good, little bit grainy but not clumpy at least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Convenient Recovery Drink

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Having enjoyed benefit of whey isolate in 4:1 I've tried this product, as a higher protein post-ride drink, that I can measure out in bottle and simply add milk (or water if lactose intolerant) & shake on return, for reliably rapid consumption on return.
The taste is fine, but not really liking milky drinks, this is something I "suffer" for the benefits of more rapid recovery. I tend to mix 1 1/2 scoops with 200ml semi-skim milk, rather than the 3 to 400ml recommended. I prefer it with plain water, but that misses out on the cost effective milk benefits. The drink is surprisingly filling. I enjoy real food high protein food more like mixed nuts, fish, meat & cheese more, but take the Whey isolate due to it's rapid availability to the repairing muscles.
Get through tub surprisingly quickly, given my attempts to reduce consumption, convenience and reliability is something you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a good product

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I use this product after a ride and it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This or a tin of tuna

Posted30 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I got this to help with recovery from short sharp rides I try to do most mornings.
It is difficult to tell if it is helping but my bio-chemist son pointed out that it should but a tin of tuna would do the same. I just can face a tin of tuna at 7am.
I use it with milk, it produces a thick milk shake. It is very sweet, providing the carbs as well as the protein. It would be better if they removed some of the thickener as it does bloat me a bit.
A tub makes 24 glasses so it is quite expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more tired limbs

Posted07 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Was sceptical at first, but must say this does a great job of aiding recovery. Easily mixed and tastes alright with milk, especially the berry which is a bit like a yoghurt taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted19 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This has to be the best tasting recovery mix. As soon as i jump on my bike all i can think about is the cold drink when i get home. I mix the powder with semi-skimmed milk straight from the fridge. The container it comes in is just big enough to get your hand in and get all the powder out. Taste is lovely. 10 out of 10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great taste

Posted13 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
good product and fast delivery. so i would recomend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Bergen, Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great taste

Posted14 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
High5 always taste good. I've tried other recovery powders and most of them doesn't taste good with just water.
I guess this one would taste even better with skimmed milk, but I haven't tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty post ride recovery drink

Posted05 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Much easier to mix than other products I've used and the berry flavour tastes great with milk. Bought on a number of occassions now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect postworkout drink

Posted29 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good taste
When doing some hard workout in the gym or longer (>2 h) riding sessions, this is the perfect drink for recovery. I usually take it (chocolate and fruit flavour) mixed with water 30-60 minutes after workout to refill the carbohydrate reserves. Tastes good! I even don´t feel sore the next day, so it seems to do its job! Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>