Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg

High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg

High5 EnergySource Protein Recovery is the ultimate drink for after exercise and is the choice of many Professional athletes. The whey isolate used in the drink is a high quality source of protein. Protein contributes greatly to muscle growth and maintenance, so if you dont want to ache the day after your race or exercise then having a Protein Recovery drink after exercise is vital. It also contains carbohydrate, due to the fact that your muscles are often low in glycogen (carbohydrate) after heavy exercise. For a slightly higher rate of protein you can mix the Protein Recovery powder with milk, and is also neutral, whereas some sports recovery drinks can be acidic. If you are used to mixing this with water, then mixing it with milk is a pleasant surprise.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Review 1 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great taste, improved results

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good taste
I got this for my first protein shake and I have to say every cycling day has become a wait for that moment when I get home and can down a cold shake. It's THAT good! Seriously. I got the banana flavour and I shake it with milk, but the 1.6kg went pretty fast for me and I'm looking to try another flavour. It's definitely helping me gain muscle mass as I have somewhat of a problem with my stomach/liver generating energy from normal food (baffled me for years) but recovery after cycling is much improved, compared to no protein supplement.
Also, during cycling I take carbohydrate gel and I've found this combination to work for me very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saker999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm a victim of the heavy marketing at sportives etc where High 5 stuff is dished out at every stop.
However, I like this stuff and it works well for me. I never even come close to "the bonk"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clermontlunet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Versatile!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Compared to another product range I found High-5 very 'thin', until I tried it with (lactose-free) milk and it was much more pleasant. More like a milkshake (not suprisingly!).
I still prefer the other ranges' thick-shake taste but this High-5 is not bad and gives the option of mixing with milk or water which is useful for (some) dairy-intolerants - and those who like a choice.
Another interesting point is the balance of sugars depending on the flavour (see http://images.evanscycles.com/product_document/file/af2/c22/6c6/663/high-5-allergy-information.pdf).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thisisntmyname
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes good & it works

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've only ever tried one recovery product before & it didn't seem to do much for me so I wasn't expecting much from the free sample I received of this, but it worked well. I got back from the same 4+ hour ride I'd done the week before & after one of these & a quick snack, rather than spend the afternoon on the sofa as I'd done the week before, I spent 3 hours working hard in the garden. I ordered 2 tubs the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dominata

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Banana flavour is good, little bit grainy but not clumpy at least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Convenient Recovery Drink

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Having enjoyed benefit of whey isolate in 4:1 I've tried this product, as a higher protein post-ride drink, that I can measure out in bottle and simply add milk (or water if lactose intolerant) & shake on return, for reliably rapid consumption on return.
The taste is fine, but not really liking milky drinks, this is something I "suffer" for the benefits of more rapid recovery. I tend to mix 1 1/2 scoops with 200ml semi-skim milk, rather than the 3 to 400ml recommended. I prefer it with plain water, but that misses out on the cost effective milk benefits. The drink is surprisingly filling. I enjoy real food high protein food more like mixed nuts, fish, meat & cheese more, but take the Whey isolate due to it's rapid availability to the repairing muscles.
Get through tub surprisingly quickly, given my attempts to reduce consumption, convenience and reliability is something you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fremax
Country:Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a good product

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I use this product after a ride and it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This or a tin of tuna

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I got this to help with recovery from short sharp rides I try to do most mornings.
It is difficult to tell if it is helping but my bio-chemist son pointed out that it should but a tin of tuna would do the same. I just can face a tin of tuna at 7am.
I use it with milk, it produces a thick milk shake. It is very sweet, providing the carbs as well as the protein. It would be better if they removed some of the thickener as it does bloat me a bit.
A tub makes 24 glasses so it is quite expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more tired limbs

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Was sceptical at first, but must say this does a great job of aiding recovery. Easily mixed and tastes alright with milk, especially the berry which is a bit like a yoghurt taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This has to be the best tasting recovery mix. As soon as i jump on my bike all i can think about is the cold drink when i get home. I mix the powder with semi-skimmed milk straight from the fridge. The container it comes in is just big enough to get your hand in and get all the powder out. Taste is lovely. 10 out of 10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AKJ123

great taste

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
good product and fast delivery. so i would recomend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perry
from Bergen, Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great taste

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
High5 always taste good. I've tried other recovery powders and most of them doesn't taste good with just water.
I guess this one would taste even better with skimmed milk, but I haven't tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobPB
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty post ride recovery drink

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Much easier to mix than other products I've used and the berry flavour tastes great with milk. Bought on a number of occassions now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Randsy
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect postworkout drink

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good taste
When doing some hard workout in the gym or longer (>2 h) riding sessions, this is the perfect drink for recovery. I usually take it (chocolate and fruit flavour) mixed with water 30-60 minutes after workout to refill the carbohydrate reserves. Tastes good! I even don´t feel sore the next day, so it seems to do its job! Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leroy7
from Wrexham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good purchase

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tastes superb with either water or milk, I seem to ache less the next day after really long rides, and even seem to be bulking up abit thanks to the whey protein, so what's not to like?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drstarr
from westbury wiltshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best on the market

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
i am currently training for this seasons local triathlons and this product helps my recovery no end, with out a doubt, second too none and summer fruits flavour tastes great and is easily digestable.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for High 5 Protein Recovery 1.6kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willtranp
from Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great choice

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've tried several brands, but up to now this is undoubtedly the best one.
It brings you that push up you need retarding your weakness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.