Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g

High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g

EnergySource 4:1 is an all in one sports drink, which is recommended for use both before and after exercise. It contains 4 parts carbohydrate to 1 part whey protein isolate and also vital electrolytes. The 4:1 is many Pro athletes first choice energy drink for multiple purposes such as, multi-day endurance events, hard training purposes and before and after a race. The ingredients within the 4:1 help sustain performance during prolonged exercise and also help maintain hydration by enhancing the absorption of water. The Whey protein part is a high quality source of protein and contributes to the maintenance and growth of muscle mass. This can result in stronger more resilient muscles in the correct consumption and exercise.
Overall rating:
4.792 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Review 1 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good source of energy

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says on the box. 4 parts carbohydrate to 1 part protein so you get a good source of energy and recovery protein in the say drink. Great tasting and easy to mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tommedic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Training Fuel

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great fuel, especially for multi-day events as your body is getting protein in before the end of the day and does seem to diminish DOMS. Also tastes great. If in a hot climate do wash the bottle out soon after use otherwise the whey residue goes off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good taste

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I am sure it works. Many products make me feel sick. This appears neutral and I've bought about 3 boxes since
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Brilliant product easy to use.

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
I have now been using this product for the three last years and it has not let me down. It is easy to mix easy on the stomach and taste buds.
In my view a 5star product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrStav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than I expected.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, mixes well, sachets good for late ride refills
Cons: expensive per unit
Very easy to use especially for endurance rides when you'll need to refill bottles. I had expected it to be thicker with the protein content but pleasantly surprised with how thin it was once mixed. Only comment would be to have a selection of flavours to prevent monotony
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nishwick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes better than it looks.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Rode around Coed-Y-Brenin and had some of this, seems to do the job as I felt ready to ride again after we finished. Not superb at being a thirst quencher - and make sure you let it mix for about an hour before you need to drink it. It's good, very different from Hi 5 or Lucozade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrMM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great taste

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This was the first time I had used this product and was very pleased with the results. Firstly the taste is good. I have even made it with hot water for a winter ride and it was still fine. Now on my second box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nwales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect energy and taste

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm pretty new to cycling but this is now on my essential list. Great taste, easy mix in and cycle bottle and most important fantastic energy benefits.
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TFBCycleteam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

easy on the stomach and effective

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy on stomach, taste, effectiveness
I have tried several different carb based drinks with some degree of scepticism, but after several on 80mile plus road rides i have settled in these at half the strength (twice the dilution) and have found them to be effective energy wise with only modest after taste on the lips with no real stomach aches etc over a three day ride they continued to offer me no real side effects, especially compared to those on gels and protein drinks.
Certainly the citrus flavours are most palatable / drinkable as many of the other flavours are just that - flavours that to be honest i would rather not have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Howard60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Improves stamina and recovery

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good taste
I bought this because I was running out of energy on 40+ mile rides and it does the trick.
I bought the citrus flavour and it tastes really nice.
It's easy to mix in my Camelbak Podium bottle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gelv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic nutrition /energy product

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I recently completed a 210 London to Paris bike trip and found the High Energy 5 product a painless way of refuelling whilst on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sparky42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I recently cycled from London to Paris and these got me through the 210+ files in 24 hours.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DTR1
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding product, reduces soreness and fatigue

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, handy packaging
I recently did a 180km ride and 4000m of climbing including a HC category climb and used this product for the first time. At the end of the ride I felt good and the next day I didn't have any soreness. I have since done shorter rides without this to pull up sore the next day.. I have just order more of this as it is gold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justlikecycling
from Bangor north wales in view of Snowdon
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

just what you need

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I always use High 5 when on a long or short ride, they give you what is required , that little extra boost.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jmcd138
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
the very berry flavour was easy to drink and easy to carry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brodie
from North East
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

High 5 energy source 4:1

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm female, in my late 50's and have only been into long distance cycling for a year. Having just used this product I found it of great benefit in keeping my energy levels on an even keel. It has eliminated the need to snack to keep up my stamina.
I last used it recently on a 35mile cycle ride with some savage hills,where we had unexpected strong winds,even having to pedal down hill. I managed to keep up with the the group and get home without feeling 'wiped out' as I can feel sometimes when conditions are bad.
I would certainly use it on any long cycle ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheese
from South West UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pleasantly surprised

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good taste
I generally take anergy gels and a hydrating drink separately because energy drinks are often too sweet, one of these in an 800ml bottle is just right, not too sweet and a pleasant flavour. I also think the muscle recovery advertised seems to be true. Easily carried for longer trips
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikkyb
from Swindon
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good stuff

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great product for energy and hydration during ride. Mixes easily in the bottle, easy to drink, tastes ok too. Definitely feel more energised than before when I was drinking standard 'sport drinks'.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yaya
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best energy drink?

PostedJune 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, tastes good
I've tried many different drinks and have finally settled on the 4:1 High5 "Summer Fruit". It tastes good and doesn't make your tummy go funny
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveJ
from Bracknell
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best rehydrating drink

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
These sachets make it ideal for taking with you to make up fresh on site.Not too strong a flavour but can be over-diluted and still leaves some flavour. I use for during and after ride for rehydration.
The product retail price is high but Evans were about the cheapest and a quick delivery
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>