Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Food & Drink or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g

High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g

EnergySource 4:1 is an all in one sports drink, which is recommended for use both before and after exercise. It contains 4 parts carbohydrate to 1 part whey protein isolate and also vital electrolytes. The 4:1 is many Pro athletes first choice energy drink for multiple purposes such as, multi-day endurance events, hard training purposes and before and after a race. The ingredients within the 4:1 help sustain performance during prolonged exercise and also help maintain hydration by enhancing the absorption of water. The Whey protein part is a high quality source of protein and contributes to the maintenance and growth of muscle mass. This can result in stronger more resilient muscles in the correct consumption and exercise.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
30 out of 30(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Review 1 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good source of energy

Posted29 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says on the box. 4 parts carbohydrate to 1 part protein so you get a good source of energy and recovery protein in the say drink. Great tasting and easy to mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fettler2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works for me

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Purchased following free sample. I take it towards the end of a long ride eg Audax hilly event and find it gives a short term boost and also eases the recovery on the following day. Bit expensive in sachet form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwhit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the best

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Really good no problems with cramp when using these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BazzaJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good stuff!

Posted25 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy on the stomach
Palatable and easy on the stomach and seems to work really well on endurance events and for recovery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catfish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Palatable and seems to contain the right stuff

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tastes okay
This worked well during an endurance event, it tastes okay and doesn't leave an indelible stains on your water bottle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vonster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good performance
I find that High 5's 4:1 really helps to get me through longer rides, whether training or sportives. Tastes great and does what it says on the tin really. works well in combo with High 5 isogel plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reset
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Works!

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste, dissolvability
Cons: Expensive
I use this during a ride and for recover carb-loading when food isn't readily available.
The Strawberry flavour tastes like Refresher sweets (which s a good thing) the Citric flavour is pretty mellow in taste (which is also good on a long ride)
A good 1 minute shake and it's all dissolved - none of that gunk build-up you can get with some of these things
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tommedic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Training Fuel

Posted28 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great fuel, especially for multi-day events as your body is getting protein in before the end of the day and does seem to diminish DOMS. Also tastes great. If in a hot climate do wash the bottle out soon after use otherwise the whey residue goes off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good taste

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I am sure it works. Many products make me feel sick. This appears neutral and I've bought about 3 boxes since
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Brilliant product easy to use.

Posted19 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
I have now been using this product for the three last years and it has not let me down. It is easy to mix easy on the stomach and taste buds.
In my view a 5star product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrStav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than I expected.

Posted29 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, mixes well, sachets good for late ride refills
Cons: expensive per unit
Very easy to use especially for endurance rides when you'll need to refill bottles. I had expected it to be thicker with the protein content but pleasantly surprised with how thin it was once mixed. Only comment would be to have a selection of flavours to prevent monotony
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nishwick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes better than it looks.

Posted07 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Rode around Coed-Y-Brenin and had some of this, seems to do the job as I felt ready to ride again after we finished. Not superb at being a thirst quencher - and make sure you let it mix for about an hour before you need to drink it. It's good, very different from Hi 5 or Lucozade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrMM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great taste

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This was the first time I had used this product and was very pleased with the results. Firstly the taste is good. I have even made it with hot water for a winter ride and it was still fine. Now on my second box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nwales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect energy and taste

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm pretty new to cycling but this is now on my essential list. Great taste, easy mix in and cycle bottle and most important fantastic energy benefits.
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TFBCycleteam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

easy on the stomach and effective

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy on stomach, taste, effectiveness
I have tried several different carb based drinks with some degree of scepticism, but after several on 80mile plus road rides i have settled in these at half the strength (twice the dilution) and have found them to be effective energy wise with only modest after taste on the lips with no real stomach aches etc over a three day ride they continued to offer me no real side effects, especially compared to those on gels and protein drinks.
Certainly the citrus flavours are most palatable / drinkable as many of the other flavours are just that - flavours that to be honest i would rather not have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Howard60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Improves stamina and recovery

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good taste
I bought this because I was running out of energy on 40+ mile rides and it does the trick.
I bought the citrus flavour and it tastes really nice.
It's easy to mix in my Camelbak Podium bottle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gelv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic nutrition /energy product

Posted30 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I recently completed a 210 London to Paris bike trip and found the High Energy 5 product a painless way of refuelling whilst on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sparky42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I recently cycled from London to Paris and these got me through the 210+ files in 24 hours.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DTR1
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding product, reduces soreness and fatigue

Posted03 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, handy packaging
I recently did a 180km ride and 4000m of climbing including a HC category climb and used this product for the first time. At the end of the ride I felt good and the next day I didn't have any soreness. I have since done shorter rides without this to pull up sore the next day.. I have just order more of this as it is gold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for High 5 Energy Source 4:1 Super Carbs 600g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justlikecycling
from Bangor north wales in view of Snowdon
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

just what you need

Posted26 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I always use High 5 when on a long or short ride, they give you what is required , that little extra boost.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>