Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups

SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups

GXP is different - and better. Other systems rely on side-loaded bearings to eliminate play, causing bearing wear. GXP captures the left-side bearing between the spindle and left crank arm and allows the drive-side bearing to float axially on the spindle. There's no need to side-load bearings during adjustment. No excess wear and much simpler installation. Just tighten to the proper specifications and you're ready to roll, worry-free. GXP's two bicycle-specific cartridge bearings and eight seals ensure a smooth, long lasting ride. SRAM's new gutter seal system takes a two stage approach in directing contaminates away from the bearings providing longer bearing life. GXP's new gutter seal design also reduces friction, 35% less drag than the current GXP bottom bracket, improving rider feel and performance.
Overall rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?88%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Review 1 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Looks good but poor sealing

Posted16 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Looks good fitting and removal very easy but seals had failed on the one I replaced and the bearings were destroyed after only a few months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useless

Posted29 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
New bearings only did about 400 miles and were as rough and clicking as the old ones. Had to buy a different set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent BB alternative to £150 ceramic equivalent

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: fugacious
Does the job, but do not expect it to last for moee than 1000K!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Tough piece of kit

Posted13 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Evans identified the issue, offered to do the job there and then and it was done in 20 minutes. Great service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Iceland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Time will tell

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks like að great product but time will tell if that is true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Philippines
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good product from SRAM. Will recommended to other cyclists
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted30 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great Bottom Bracket enabling smooth riding, a quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted15 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to replace older version of same item. Easy to fit on my titanium frame, then easy to install the cranks into to product once fitted. No creaking or other problems once fitted.
Excellent price too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

perfect value

Posted15 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
this bb is the same technology as the red gxp but without the ceramic. it is easy to fit and still very smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Straightforward update of previous bottom bracket.

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitting the bottom bracket is straightforward. Two washers are included; but for a 68mm bottom bracket shell (frame) just one washer is needed, and that is on the non-drive side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The product is functional

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Now that the Bottom bracket has been fitted i can notice the difference in the smooth opertaion of the part
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Low cost alternative to GXP BlackBox Ceramic BB

Posted19 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: unclear installation instructions
I needed a BB for a GXP crankset and got this rather than spend 6x more for the ceramic BB. Was not disappointed. Only complaint is the instructions provided are not clear. I ended up using the provided spacers when mounting on my road bike. The spacers are meant for mountain bikes but nothing in the manual indicated this. I ended up scratching my crank arm because of this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Perfect

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
not to expensive fits perfect on my chinarocket. Looks good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what is supposed to

Posted03 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
That's what I say: how good can be a part like a BB? So good that you don't remember it exists. That's how I feel about my GXP Team BB. It works. Low maintenance until now (500km+).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Sydney, Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable Functional Great Value

Posted04 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great light weight bottom bracket. Is susceptible to dirt and grit getting past the seals, but at the price it is cheaper enough to replace.
Runs very smoothly and very reliable.
Great value for this level of quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from Teesside
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good all round product for the mid-level rider at a very affordable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket Cups
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from North West
Age:45-54
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Unsung component

Posted11 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Essentially a consumable item on a cyclocross bike, I expect to replace this once or twice a season. You pays your money and takes your chance, opting for an expensive bottom bracket in the hope that it lasts three or four times as long, or opt for the cheap and cheerful route as I have done. Difficult to rhapsodise about such an item, but this is smooth and appears relatively well sealed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.