Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP

Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP

Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Review 1 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebeautydoctor
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Very pleased

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Works with the topeak rack which it clips in to. Great idea as it moves with the bike instead of wobbling and unbalancing the bike. These are also used by the police. I use it to commute to the station. Can get all my day clothes in one side of the pannier flaps (which fold down and then away when not using them) and my shoes and trainers in the other flap. In the middle everything else fits in with plenty of room. I have 2 krytonite locks and a cable in there and my phone purse etc. Weekend it's used to carry food and drinks and works well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OlderCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Generally a good product

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The bag seems of good quality, likely to last. It is easy to secure it on to the rack, and then to easily remove it and carry it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PMallett
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well constructed and plenty of room

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This will be my first time using the Topeak MTX trunk bag. A weeks touring from Bordeaux to Mount Pelier without a car to look after the luggage. So travelling light on a road bike ( Cube ). I bought the MTX as so many people recommended it. I can see why, its well made, has just enough room for a change of cycling gear, 2 sets of clothes ( light ) and a pair of trainers as well as toileteries. I'm really looking forward to using it as intended. Delivered quickly too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baz100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Bag

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is a top quality bag, a bit pricey but worth every penny when considered against buying two separate pannier bags. It is a well designed and well made, also looks good on my Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack. I bought this bag after reading the reviews and I am not disappointed. I highly recommend this bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EngSing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very well designed and practical

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this a few weeks ago for my commute to work, as I started to find carrying a backpack uncomfortable. I chose this over other panniers as it doesn't alter the centre of gravity too much on the bike, and it's very easy to separate your various belongings.
It easily fits a folder, change of clothes, purse, lunch, water etc. Although I'm glad I got this (the bigger) version as it also accomodates anything extra you want to bring home.
I did find it difficult to work out which pannier rack you needed though. I used the Topeak website to find the compatible ones, and then found them on the evans website. I bought the Super Tourist Tubular Rack (w/o Spring) which was easy to fit and is a nice adaptation to my mountain bike.
Only cons, it does occasionally get a bit stuck on the rack, but the satisfaction of not having to strap everything down, and the knowledge that it's not going to fall off, is well worth the occasional slight inconvenience.
It seems expensive, but since the alternative for me was buying two waterproof panniers (c.£40 each) I think it's good value. It's also kept my belongings dry during a 30min cycle through torrential rain.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LondonCyclist20
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I received my initial recommendation from two local patrolling cycle mounted Policemen. You can tell that a lot of thought went into the design of this trunk bag. The two expanding side panniers and expanding main compartment offer a very flexible package indeed. The Topeak trunk bag integration with the Topeak bike rack is excellent and does make it feel like part of the bike when moving. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrispod
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bags of Room! (sorry)

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Have bought this in preparation for the C2C. Also bought the Large Topeak Rack and Frame. All are well built and fit perfectly. Top box is large enough for general clothing and tools etc, and each side will take boots and more. Optional waterproof cover would have been a nice addition for the price. Not that it lets water in that I've noticed. I did try the next size down initially, but it wouldn't take boots/shoes in the sides. So go for the biggest one. Extra weight on the back of the bike takes a little getting used to. Mine is a full suspension bike and there was no mention of compatibility, so i took the chance and all works fine.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
barnal

Excellent

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Expensive but a great product. Highly flexible with plenty space.
Has to be used with compatible rack, but seems to be a good quick-release system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rjkau
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the topeak range is always good value

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i have used the Topeak range of racks and bags for commuting for quite a few years, i have passed my original equipment on to family members. they are still going strong
I have purchased this bag this time as the top expands as well as the drop down panniers.
My mistake last time was not getting the expanding top and i cursed myself for years because of it, the extra amount you can stuff in the top means you don't have to use the pannier section if you don't need it
Love the look and the ease of getting it on and off the bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upstairspete
from Belfast
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Used this on a 10 day tour. I was travelling light but it held my lightweight sleeping bag, tent, cooking equipment and 2 changes of clothes.
I gave it a good bit of abuse including trying to force to much into it and the zips, seams and bungees held up very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Japanized

Nice bag

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bag -- works just as advertised. Needs a suitable rear rack, of course...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balkari
from Huddersfield
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect with Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought a Pannier Rack and compatible Panniers from Halfords for my Felt QX 100 Hybrid bike and struggled to get the Panniers’ to fit with the rack and ended up returning both items. After spending a lot of time on the Internet, reading lots of product reviews, watching video clips etc., I decided to buy the Topeak Super Tourist DX F/Disc Rack and the Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP because they were the same brand and were designed for each other and had lots of good reviews.
The Rack came with clear instructions and I found it fairly easy to fit onto my bike. It’s a solid fit and it’s quite rugged. The trunk bag just slides on and clicks into place. You can also see the look at the video for this product on the Topeak official website at: http://www.topeak.com/pages/343/news/detail/44?WYSESSID=oai4vmnv4sqjlbl2r09u6kbf76
I have not had the opportunity to use the side panniers as yet but I think they will be ok as the bottom of the side panniers hook onto the side of the rack.
All in all, I am very happy with these two products and would highly recommend them. The only problem I found is that when the trunk bag as attached, I did found it bit tricky mounting the saddle as it was slightly taller than the my seat ( but that’s just the way I have configured my bike so it suits my riding).
Do shop around and compare prices. I chose Evans because I get free delivery, full refund if i’m not happy and they also do a price match.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hcss
from Mountain biker (only weekends) - Portugal

Excellent quality - small capacity

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, capacity
This is a very well built product - its Topeak right? Looks nice and has good materials. Also the MTX system is a must.
The only con I can think of is its capacity. If you are one of those that like taking your furniture with you, forget it.
I like going for big rides during several days and, with this trunk, I have to choose what to take very carefully, because no way I can take everything I'd like to. Although thats probably good, because, that way, I won’t take lots of stuff I probably wouldn’t use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bogglecycle
from Devon
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Trunk Bag

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great trunk bag with lots of expansion and quick track fitting...
http://www.twitter.com/bogglecycle
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CollyCol
from Bulkington, Warwickshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedMay 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Used with the MTX rack, a superb combination.
Lightweight, stylish and versatile. Easily clips into the rack and holds tons of stuff.
The expanding main compartment is great together with a movable divider to stop things shaking about. The panniers are a doddle to deploy and retract.
Very pleased.....and it looks the nuts!
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
popsie
from Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

versatile and compact

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This bag lives up to its promise. A versatile main compartment which can extend to put in those extra items you always seem to pack. The panniers are extremely easy to unpack to use when required, and look great even when not in use. The build quality is superb, I love the click-on track system it is safe and fast to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak MTX Trunk Bag DXP
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CarlosCM
from Botucatu, BRASIL
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not so Big as the picture looks like

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: main compartiment smaller than i imagine
Great material, the MTX quick release works as good as it says. But, be carrefull about the twenty liters capacity. This trunk bag only shows it´s capacity when the side pannierss are in use. The main compartiment it´s pretty small, and as I bought it troghout the site, I had never had my eyes on it, in the real world. The first impression was: Is this the biggest trunk bag from TOPEAK? But when I set the side panniers it worked just fine. Very light, great material
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.