Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set

Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set

Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Review 1 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chuckrock57
from hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

small but exceedingly bright

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, usb charging
Small, light, easy to attach.
Excellent to be seen by, especially when just charged.
Have helmet mount for front, useful to see close range.
Last ages on flashing mode and usb charge convenient and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclePete
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Small, bright, brilliant!!

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Once you experience just how much light these little beauties kick out, you start wondering why you'd ever need a huge old battery-chomping lump like a Smart Lux!?
And the USB charging is stylish, effortless and quick. I had my doubts about the velcro fastening straps, but the rubberized strip keeps the lights where you put them.
I can't really comment on their weather creds, guess I'll find out soon enough living in the UK...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doctor1964
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Lights

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Charge lasts for ages
Simlpy to fit to bike , a must
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
micgra
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good light set.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A nice light set for those of you that don't want to run out of batteries all the time. Velcro bands for attaching it to the handlebar and the saddle. Nice with the usb charging, only problem is that the usb is so small so it can be easily lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Damo6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Blinding little light set!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These lights are absolutely tiny, yet pack a big punch! I had read the review about not looking directly at them when switching them on.....seriously I was seeing stars for a couple of minutes afterwards. Great to charge at work and really bright for keeping me safe now the nights are drawing in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Blackburn Flea

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Just bought this set of USB rechargeable lights. I've not had time to use them yet! Althought they look great and have good illunination.
Price was good at Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim22
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
It was bought:Online

Very bright, could be tricky to attach

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very bright rechargable lights for being seen rather than seeing in the dark. Still on my first few charges, so they are not at maximum capacity yet.
Attach with velcro straps - and prefer to be attached to thicker tubes (thick handlebars, seat tube etc.) - so a little difficulty attaching to rear carrier or thin section handlebars, but can be improvised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Specialiser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light, unsure about fixing

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This really is a great product
The good
Very small and compact
Built in battery
Ultra bright
Great value
Looks great
The not so good
Velcro fixing - is a bit too long when wrapped round my handlebars and I'm loathe to cut it. Also not sure about the stability as even with a rubberised inner it does slip a little
USB charge adapter is separate and not built in - beware of losing it
Another thing, this is the second light I have and this has a different sequence and flashing pattern than the first! Was hoping for consistency so two front lights could be used at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Djka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product to be seen

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product to be seen in darker conditions. Don't expect this to light up your road at night but it does a brilliant job at making others aware of your presence on the road. Charging is quick and easy with a USB plug that I simply plot into my iPhone wall plug. Battery life is a good few hours worth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KennyB

Excellent purchase .

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I recently purchased this set of Blackburn Flea lights and have already put them to good use .
Great bit of kit and I can highly recommend them .
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andypar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

USB CHARGING SAVES BATTERIES

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: only one charger so can only charge one of the log
love the way these charge , very neat and fit great with the velcro straps.
These little lights are designed to get you seen and not for you to see safely in the dark, the flashing doubles the time they will work between charges.
Bought these when they were selling off so was happy with the price I paid and went to purchase another set but not there now at that price.
Service from Evans cycles great and would buy from again, thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BillyBoy2
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Tiny but mighty!!

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As other reviews have stated these are small and very light but very powerfull. They are to used to be seen rather than see.
Just be aware on the 1st charge can take awhile for the light to register its charging by flashing it was that dead. Now fully charged no probs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MonstaMash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Niffty wee lights

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Although these lights are very bright, they are for being seen, not for seeing. Love the USB charging, making it very easy to keep to keep topped up from my office desk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adam93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright small light

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
Very good little light, the rechargeable unit works very good even if the battery life is not all that big. Beware that this light is more to be seen rather than lighting paths on trails etc. Good value for money as well for the front and rear light set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Small, Light, Bright, Convenient to Attach

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, flexible mounting, good information, convenient recharging options
Cons: charge time, freqent recharging
Do quickly read the instructions, there's useful info on the charge indicator colours explained there. Usage is then totally obvious.
The only fiddly thing can be recharging on USB, you need to remove straps for light to stick to magnets and some PC USB ports are more awkward than others to dangle recharging light from.
As I ride frequently 2+ hours nonstop and tend to use the rechargeable fleas as my "steady" light, I need to recharge after most rides. So I now ordered the extra USB & solar charger set to recharge both at once. My most convenient charger (when PC is off) is a Garmin USB transformer, I haven't tried charging from things like TVs or radio's with USB on them.
The velcro straps make many mounting positions convenient, high on forks (above cable guide to avoid slipping), handlebar, posts, seat stays, saddle bags, clothing etc.
Having used these a month, I've bought 2 more sets (1 as gift, 1 as backup).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap, little and light.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, powerful
On first inspection of the Flea F&R lights, I thought no way are these going to suffice with my 9 mile road commute to work and back each day. They look far too small to pack any punch.
Anyway, gave them a charge and then fitted to the handlebars and seat post. Then switched them on... "POW!!!" these little black boxes pack a wallop for their size, I was taken back by the overall visibility of these "Flea's", I was glad I wasn't looking into them when switching on!
The front Flea has a nice lip over the top of the LED's so when riding you don't burn your retina's. The rear Flea is a nice affair, clear red plastic to aid side visibility.
Over the total of 18 miles to work and home(approx. 1.5hrs total) they just over one charge when on steady for the rear and max steady for the front, but thankfully they charge over USB.
The translucent button on the Flea's well designed, with a few coloured LED's, Green for 100%, orange for 50% and red when under 25% power levels. Simple solution to battery levels.
A small USB dongle easily fits on a key chain and has two pins, both of which are magnetic to help keep the lights on the pins when charging. Again another simple and effective solution.
I would only change one little tiny thing, make the red LED on the button flash when less than 5% power just to catch attention when riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SAndrews
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Useful little set of lights

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: only one usb recharger dongle
I use these lights for my commute to work each day. The lights fasten with velcro straps (included) or can be clipped onto handlebars/bags etc. Great brightness for what they are, and recharge easily using the magnetic usb dongle. The only downside that I can think is that it could be useful to have more than one dongle, such that the lights can be charged simultaneously. However, this is only a minor issue, and does not detract from my overall opinion of the lights
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David1987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grat for commuting

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are a great set of lights very powerful and small so they don't take up much room on the bike easy to attach to bike.
Great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonboy31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic product at a good price

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, tiny
These lights are brilliant value for money, they are easy to use, extremely small and bright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blackburn Flea Front and Rear USB Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BusterGonad
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Why wouldn't you??!!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Been using these for a couple of weeks now on my short commute to give me added visibility in the traffic.
They’re super light, easy to attach / detach and very bright for their size. So bright that I don’t like to use my rear light in flashing mode when it gets dark (I have it attached to my backpack and really think it’s too much for the poor buggers stuck behind me in their cars - they have it bad enough getting stuck in the peak hour gridlock ;D ).
The lights have had a bit of exposure to the odd shower and showing no signs of it being any problem.
I should point out that the battery life isn’t huge but this is of no concern as the units alert you when they’re getting low and that’s when you charge them with the USB charger thingy - great design and very easy to use.
Its just a matter of time before these little beauties will pay for themselves in saved battery costs - I can’t think of a reason why you wouldn’t have a set of these as a back-up light or just for a bit of extra presence on the road!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>