Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.891 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(221 reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 221 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
9
1 Star
23
180 out of 221(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
100 Questions | 185 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

Posted07 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ollie260
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

DO NOT BUY!!!

Posted16 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Really poor quality, don't waste your time!
Rubbsih
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mknudsen
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and functional

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: installation, clearance
Nice set of mudguards. Fitting them requires a bit of patience, but once on they look great and work as intended. Slight rubbing, but nothing I can't live with considering the light weight and sleek look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EddieC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A temporary solution, a good buy

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The Crud's do what they're supposed to. My bike has disc brakes which actually allows for more clearance when fitted, a fault when fitted below a normal brake caliper. My mates have this type but with limited clearance and the first sign of mud on the road they block up. Fine for wet, clean roads. Perfect for solo use with no spray on clothes at all. A very small amount comes onto my overshoes if it's poring down. When following a Crud fitted bike one still gets dirty but I suspect that's the case with all temporary mudguards. Sometimes make a very annoying noise if rubbing on the wheel. A relatively cheap fix and all in all a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rycycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Fiddly, but worth it!

Posted13 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Assembling these, then fixing them onto my bike, took longer than I'd expected, but very pleased with the end result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vale46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Really Great :-)

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent. Keeps me and the bike clean, wish I bought one last year, definitely recommend :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Idiot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

soft, flexible but do the job

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: manufactured to a budget but so it everything
The are for a bike with no mudguard fixing locations. The stays are secured with a rubber ring which may or may not last the winter, but once broken (probably when they are removed in the spring) can be replaced with reusable cable ties. The are not very sturdy and can rub the tyre, but they do seem to do the job and are quickly fitted and removed. Worth the £20 asking price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian50

Tricky and Fiddly to fit

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great product and if you have to have mudguards on your pride and joy these will fit the bill. There is a "how to" clip on "you tube" which is useful when fitting these, as they are very fiddly and somewhat frustrating to mount. Once on, they look good and do a pretty decent job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StayPuft
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Really good mudguards

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I finally bit the bullet and bought a pair of these mudguards, after reading lots of forums to find out what would be best for my Giant Defy 1. I found a good video on YouTube that explained how to fit them which was really helpful. Fitting took a bit over an hour but they are perfect and there's no noise from them while riding. I was thinking of upgrading to 25c tyres but I don't think they would fit with these mudguards as they're very close fitting so do think about this when deciding whether to get these mudguards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Easy to fit

Posted02 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Good, basic mudguard with plenty of flexibility in guard length. Fitted easily and securely, although a bit fiddly to do the first one. Fitted my Specialized Roubaix with the wonky Zertz inserts in the frame. Been a blessing riding in the rain. Light as a feather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hudy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best looking mudguards for the road bike

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
If you generally don't like the bulky look of the regular mudguards this is something for you. Yes, those mudguards will still mess with the clean look of your fine tuned speed machine, but to a minimal degree. And during the winter they will save you from cleaning your bike and yourself after a rainy day. You can choose different lenght of the mudguards between better look - more cover. Installing them is a bit of a headache, but you don't need engineering degree to do it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gopawi
Country:United Kingdom

Good mudguards for racer

Posted30 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Reasonably easy to install. Some instances of tyre rubbing guard on cornering, but given their price, you can't go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philbrazil

Quick and easy to use

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Very good and easy to put together and place on your bike. As it comes in parts, it can seem flimsy but is relatively sturdy, the company does replacement parts if anything breaks, so it's not like a normal mudguard where a whole set needs to be repurchased (I did the research :D).
Only downside is they only give you as many cable ties as you need to fix originally, but more would be useful for removing and replacing / if the installation goes wrong. However, cable ties are relatively cheap so more a hassle than anything else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fluffbelina
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Too flimsy and not enough clearance

Posted24 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Try as I might I couldn't get sufficient clearance under the brakes on my Felt Z85 which lead to constant rubbing noises.
I thought the product itself felt a bit flimsy and have now opted for SKS Raceblades which offer less protection but are more robust and very quick to get on and off.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nathan1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

simple to put together

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
First mud guards I've purchased for my road bike. Simple to put together and they do exactly what is needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CanuckInDublin
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One more iteration and these would be great.

Posted18 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a little too snug for low clearance brakes and 25c, no clean/replaceable break point designed in
As other users have mentioned, these are a bit fiddly to set up. Performance-wise they're great. Very sleak. In summary, these would be great on your high performance road bike, not so much the road bike you use for commuting. And now my crit...
While not particularly a comment on their quality, I managed the break the rear mud guard after three days. I simply flipped the bicycle up on its hind wheel to wheely it indoors and snap, off went the back 1/3 of the rear mud guard. This isn't an unusual thing for a cyclist in an apartment to do, so my primary complaint here is with the designer: they should have designed with this action in mind and what would happen if the user did exactly as I did. Simply designed in a clean and removeable/replaceable break-away point. Now I have a bicycle with mud guards and I still get a muddy streak up my back.
These fenders fit *very* snuggly to the wheel/tire. I'm riding an entry level Giant Defy 4 with generic brakes on it and there is very little clearance between the stock 25c Giant tire and the brakes. As this is my commuter, I was hoping to put on more robust city-minded tires, but the fit is so snug I doubt that it's worth it given I would have go down a size in tire. How snug is snug? I can hear little bits of grit, pieces of leaves etc squeaking as they get rolled between mud guard and tire. Despite my best efforts ti get them to stand off they couldn't be any closer without rubbing all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
benno78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

zero spray in wet - but fiddely to fit

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fitting/removing
These cover well giving practically no spray to rider and others in group even when very wet and they fit bikes with tight clearance. downsides - found them very difficult to fit and take off {have to dismantle in peices fit/remove} - instructions are poor aswell. i also found they rubbed on the back wheel - this maybe due to tight very clearance on my bike though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>