Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(200 reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 200 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
73
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
8
1 Star
22
161 out of 200(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
98 Questions | 179 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Akinori
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great looking mudguard that does its job

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
It looks great and it does its job.
It feels a little on a fragile side and it can rattle on a bumpy road but over all, it's a good product.
Although some people complain about the installation of this product, I watched a Youtube for fitting advice and I had no problem installing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
globaljobber
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight fit but good

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I fitted a pair of these to my Roubaix. It was a bit of a fiddle getting them on, but they do the job just fine, keeping the mud and spray off the bike and me. The only issue was that riding over muddy roads, the mud can get clogged up under the front wheel mudguard under the brake area. Had to drop the wheel to quickly clear away the mud. Otherwise, would recommend for a road race bike as lightweight, tight fitting and looks ok.
Didn't need to cut or adjust them to fit my Roubaix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good guards

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit although a little flimsy.had slight trouble keeping the guards straight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mary62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Light, flexible mudguards

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
i really like these mudguards. I've bought three sets for three different bikes over the past few years and always been pleased. You need to take your time fitting them but they are light and do a good job of protecting you and your bike. I've even managed to cut a set down to fit a bike which had virtually no clearence for mudguards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TerminalSilver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

No more soggy trousers

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I didn't want mud guards, I don't like the way they look but I don't want wet feet either. Only been on two days and I am very impressed at how well they work and they don't look too bad. well worth the compromise. As for fitting, I asked the friendly staff at my local Evans to fit them when I went in to collect them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alien8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does a job with questionable robustness

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: a bit flimsy
Once you get your head around all the parts and little bits the guards are not too difficult to fit and adjust. The front guard is too short at the top and difficult to align central to the tyre. As it's quiet narrow this means you can get a bit of spray back on the headset/head-tube. The ends flap around a bit and we will have to see how they last the winter.
I've got them over 700 x 25c tyres. They are close to the tyre but don't rub.
They are meant to be a compromise for where you cannot fit regular guards and so in this respect are much better than nothing at all.
All-in-all I would rate them as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyV2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

slick, sleek and hardly noticeable

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
great set of mudguards that don't spoil the look of your racing bike. As has been said before, take your time and have patience when fitting them. Only reservations are the small screws and round bolts which don't fit on that securely, leaving you that awkward feeling that they may drop off. A touch of glue helps though. Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JohnJP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

wildly disappointing

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive, rubbed.
The assembly was a confusing and frustrating process, the plastic, barely thicker than a coke bottle and sadly lacking the same toughness, snapped while fitting. I have very tight clearance between my wheel and brake causing multiple parts of the mudguard to rub, but even if that wasnt the case, i still wouldn't recommend this product. The parts which sit on your stays are held in place with rubber bands. Rubber bands, which might i add were too loose, thus causing more movement and even more rubbing.
Very poor.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bfdingo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

The only mudguards for tight clearances

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: care needed in fitting
Took a little bit of tweaking but finally got them on the bike without any rubbing or squeaking. Nicely made - just don't overtighten anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cooper19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seem to fit my Felt F85 2013 ed with ease

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The product seems to be quite lightweight, which might not necessarily be a good thing in some instances, however in this case, with the small clearences the lightweight nature of the product seems beneficial.
While a bit fiddly to fit, they work as desired and have long fenders, although some may wish for a bit more coverage that longer fenders would provide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrooveRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit if you follow the instructions. Great value for the money. I like all the different length attachments which are easy to swap around depending on the conditions. They have made my winter bike complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kisfibe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

excellent

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good mudguard. And very very lightweight. And like rubber, not broke if you hit something. Has a little brush in the sides to clear the wheel frame before the brakes.
I m very pleasant with this purchase. And the back mudgiard size is adjustable. Wonderful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brooks17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

The product is fine to keep the rider dry

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whilst the mud guard keep the rider dry as a member of a cycling club the mud guard was not long enough to prevent spraying other members of the group riding. This could be addressed by providing a longer tail piece which what I have had to retro fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Functional and lightweight

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
These do the trick nicely. They're so light you won't notice they're there. Coverage is decent and they fit nicely as long as you're patient.
Also, as they attach with bands and cable ties, they can come off easily for the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jb603

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product. This is lightweight, and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chewie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A waste of good plastic

PostedJuly 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: shiny black
Cons: flimsy, fiddly, liability
I bought this in a bit of a hurry over the counter and regretted it within moments of fitting it. Nice and shiny but not fit for purpose with it's rubber bands, fiddly small screws, and flimsy build. I simply wouldn't trust this not to be chewed up in my spokes after a few mins vibration on a rough road. Better to get the wet stripe up the back and spray those on your back wheel than risk it.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>