Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.891 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(230 reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 230 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
10
1 Star
24
187 out of 230(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
102 Questions | 193 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

Posted07 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fastboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great mudguard set

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have these on my road bike and commuting bike and find them light and easy to fit. With some boiling water, they can also be moulded to fit wider tyres, ie 28s and 32s. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Asho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

effective and light

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
A bit if a faff to fit but on-line videos available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SoulPatch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Troublesome

Posted11 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
When I first fitted these I was very happy. They went on easily enough and have good coverage. Unfortunately over the last couple of months I have come to hate them with a passion. I have done just over a thousand miles with them on and being so light and flimsy they now constantly rattle and scrape on the tyres when the road gets uneven. In my opinion the plastic screws are not up to the job.
These are alright if you are a weekend rider that needs a light and quick mudguard. If you are a commuter or put in more miles at the weekend you might want to look for something else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bobzie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keep your bike and clothes clean,and fellow riders

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I looked at a lot of mudguards and a lot of reviews before deciding on these. These guards work really well, and keep riders behind from getting wet and dirty. They are easy to fit, especially after viewing the instruction video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
niceonetidy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Mudguard set

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I fitted the mudguards to my bike using the clearly defined instructions. The mudguards are adjustable on slotted ends, and this allows good centring.
Very pleased,
Colin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BrommyT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Check before you buy

Posted28 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mud guard claim to fit "race bikes" but fail to fit my Madone 2.3 due to clearance between the brake caliper and my tires. Resorting to mountain bike style seatpost mud guard now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twids
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look good but tricky to fit

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've shied away from mudguards for the last 35 or so years but took the plunge when I saw these. Fiddly to fit - watch YouTube videos first. Look good once on (as far as mudguards can).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bec664
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Mudguard for Carbon frame Bicycle

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
If you have a very narrow carbon frame with 23 or 25mm tyre then this is the best mudguard you can fit onto your bicycle. Before you purchase this product make sure you are willing to spend some time to fit this onto your bicycle, you can search from Youtube the whole process to install. After that is worth the money and you will be clean and no more sparing while riding in the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AustinRacer99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great product!!!

Posted24 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not enough spare parts
Takes about one hour to install but work well whilst retaining the look of your roadie.. well kinda. But remember to buy some heli tape or somthing to stick onto your frame to protect it from the plastic mounts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ollie260
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

DO NOT BUY!!!

Posted16 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Really poor quality, don't waste your time!
Rubbsih
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mknudsen
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and functional

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: installation, clearance
Nice set of mudguards. Fitting them requires a bit of patience, but once on they look great and work as intended. Slight rubbing, but nothing I can't live with considering the light weight and sleek look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EddieC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A temporary solution, a good buy

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The Crud's do what they're supposed to. My bike has disc brakes which actually allows for more clearance when fitted, a fault when fitted below a normal brake caliper. My mates have this type but with limited clearance and the first sign of mud on the road they block up. Fine for wet, clean roads. Perfect for solo use with no spray on clothes at all. A very small amount comes onto my overshoes if it's poring down. When following a Crud fitted bike one still gets dirty but I suspect that's the case with all temporary mudguards. Sometimes make a very annoying noise if rubbing on the wheel. A relatively cheap fix and all in all a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rycycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Fiddly, but worth it!

Posted13 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Assembling these, then fixing them onto my bike, took longer than I'd expected, but very pleased with the end result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vale46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Really Great :-)

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent. Keeps me and the bike clean, wish I bought one last year, definitely recommend :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Idiot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

soft, flexible but do the job

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: manufactured to a budget but so it everything
The are for a bike with no mudguard fixing locations. The stays are secured with a rubber ring which may or may not last the winter, but once broken (probably when they are removed in the spring) can be replaced with reusable cable ties. The are not very sturdy and can rub the tyre, but they do seem to do the job and are quickly fitted and removed. Worth the £20 asking price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian50

Tricky and Fiddly to fit

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great product and if you have to have mudguards on your pride and joy these will fit the bill. There is a "how to" clip on "you tube" which is useful when fitting these, as they are very fiddly and somewhat frustrating to mount. Once on, they look good and do a pretty decent job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>