Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(238 reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 238 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
10
1 Star
27
192 out of 238Would you recommend this product to a friend?81%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
102 Questions | 194 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

Posted07 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EvaE2
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Review after 3 years...

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
I have just bought a second set to replace a pair that lasted 3 years full time duty, and they could probably last a couple more years too but I was ready for a change.
They fit my 700 x 28 tyres... *just*... occasionally need a little nudge to keep them centered. As others have said if you can get a 4mm allen key comfortably between top of tyre and brakes/frame/forks, it fits... But the width of tyre does affect the gap at the Y-shape top of the strut, and 28 tyres have a hairs gap and if you're not careful to check time to time it can rub if you knock a strut off, and after 3 years there was some small wear where the tyre sometimes did that.
For the looks, weight, and simplicity... nothing better. I also like that its fairly forgiving plastic and won't do any major damage if for some reason it gets in the spokes (yet strong enough to do its normal job)
Would be nice to get a few more spare screws/nuts in the pack - as they get loose and disappear once in a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigRon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Fiddly to fit

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Fiddly to fit and adjust but the end result worth it.Not made any easier as the instructions were missing which meant constant referral to the iPad for a downloaded guide.First ride after fitting was 50 miles in the wet with no adjustments required at all - a great result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
apj4468
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Affordable and effective mudguards

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Having read multiple reviews I was nervous about fitting and how effective these would be. But as long as you watch the install videos and take your time, these are great. Fitted my Lapierre Sensium perfectly and settled down nicely after the first ride - hardly noticed they were there. Thoroughly recommended for a splash-free ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AdeofBrighton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Rubs constantly on the tires

Posted23 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This product was fixed to my new bike in the shop but when riding the mudguards clog up with dirt even on a dry day within about 10 miles, thereafter they are constantly rubbing on the tyres. The construction is very basic, fitted on with clips ties, and moves around so again rubbing on the tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SFrank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great

Posted15 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really like these mudguards. I had the originals and you can really tell the difference in the MK II's. They seen pretty strong and catch a lot of spray, I found my feet still got slightly wet but after looking up online it looks like this would happen with any mudguard. They are very easy to fit and adjust with no tools at all, look great and they are dead silent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cp10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A complete waste of time

Posted14 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Taking them out the of the box they feel very poor quality, very bendy plastic, even the screws are plastic.
The instructions are poorly thought out, use jargon which makes it more difficult to understand, and it's difficult to work out which bit of the bike/mudguard you're looking at in the pictures most of the time.
There were also additional instructions with some of the parts in the box, which weren't shown in the main set of instructions.
The plastic screws didn't hold the mudguard together firmly enough, and started popping off as soon as I'd re-fitted one of the wheels. Lastly, they supply pairs of little brushes that you need to stick to the mudguards to stop them rubbing against your wheels. Firstly, these are certainly necessary, the mudguards are so bendy I couldn't put them in a position where they weren't grating against the wheel. Secondly, don't know what stops grit and other rubbish getting stuck in these brushes, and defeating their purpose.
I spent well over an hour being driven mad trying to fit these mudguards today. I also needed to fit them for a group ride tomorrow, which I won't be able to go on now, so they've ruined that plan too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Harbax
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

I do not think this is a good product

Posted11 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: fragile
In summary, I think these mudguards are not sufficiently robust for purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cliveyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not for disc brakes

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: difficult to fit
The Crud Road Racer was second purchase in attempting to fit mudguards to my Fuji Sportif with disc brakes.
As previously experienced the mudguards are not designed for bicycles with disc brakes.
Sure I could have adapted the Crud's but if there was a problem would not be suitable to return them. Found the pads rubbed on both tyres rather than the wheel rims causing friction. Though the pads were placed as far as could be.
Have reverted to more traditional design guards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fastboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great mudguard set

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have these on my road bike and commuting bike and find them light and easy to fit. With some boiling water, they can also be moulded to fit wider tyres, ie 28s and 32s. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Asho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

effective and light

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
A bit if a faff to fit but on-line videos available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SoulPatch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Troublesome

Posted11 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
When I first fitted these I was very happy. They went on easily enough and have good coverage. Unfortunately over the last couple of months I have come to hate them with a passion. I have done just over a thousand miles with them on and being so light and flimsy they now constantly rattle and scrape on the tyres when the road gets uneven. In my opinion the plastic screws are not up to the job.
These are alright if you are a weekend rider that needs a light and quick mudguard. If you are a commuter or put in more miles at the weekend you might want to look for something else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bobzie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keep your bike and clothes clean,and fellow riders

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I looked at a lot of mudguards and a lot of reviews before deciding on these. These guards work really well, and keep riders behind from getting wet and dirty. They are easy to fit, especially after viewing the instruction video.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
niceonetidy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Mudguard set

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I fitted the mudguards to my bike using the clearly defined instructions. The mudguards are adjustable on slotted ends, and this allows good centring.
Very pleased,
Colin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BrommyT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Check before you buy

Posted28 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mud guard claim to fit "race bikes" but fail to fit my Madone 2.3 due to clearance between the brake caliper and my tires. Resorting to mountain bike style seatpost mud guard now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twids
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look good but tricky to fit

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've shied away from mudguards for the last 35 or so years but took the plunge when I saw these. Fiddly to fit - watch YouTube videos first. Look good once on (as far as mudguards can).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bec664
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Mudguard for Carbon frame Bicycle

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
If you have a very narrow carbon frame with 23 or 25mm tyre then this is the best mudguard you can fit onto your bicycle. Before you purchase this product make sure you are willing to spend some time to fit this onto your bicycle, you can search from Youtube the whole process to install. After that is worth the money and you will be clean and no more sparing while riding in the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>