Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.894 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 208 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
78
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
8
1 Star
22
169 out of 208(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
100 Questions | 181 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nathan1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

simple to put together

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
First mud guards I've purchased for my road bike. Simple to put together and they do exactly what is needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CanuckInDublin
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One more iteration and these would be great.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a little too snug for low clearance brakes and 25c, no clean/replaceable break point designed in
As other users have mentioned, these are a bit fiddly to set up. Performance-wise they're great. Very sleak. In summary, these would be great on your high performance road bike, not so much the road bike you use for commuting. And now my crit...
While not particularly a comment on their quality, I managed the break the rear mud guard after three days. I simply flipped the bicycle up on its hind wheel to wheely it indoors and snap, off went the back 1/3 of the rear mud guard. This isn't an unusual thing for a cyclist in an apartment to do, so my primary complaint here is with the designer: they should have designed with this action in mind and what would happen if the user did exactly as I did. Simply designed in a clean and removeable/replaceable break-away point. Now I have a bicycle with mud guards and I still get a muddy streak up my back.
These fenders fit *very* snuggly to the wheel/tire. I'm riding an entry level Giant Defy 4 with generic brakes on it and there is very little clearance between the stock 25c Giant tire and the brakes. As this is my commuter, I was hoping to put on more robust city-minded tires, but the fit is so snug I doubt that it's worth it given I would have go down a size in tire. How snug is snug? I can hear little bits of grit, pieces of leaves etc squeaking as they get rolled between mud guard and tire. Despite my best efforts ti get them to stand off they couldn't be any closer without rubbing all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
benno78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

zero spray in wet - but fiddely to fit

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fitting/removing
These cover well giving practically no spray to rider and others in group even when very wet and they fit bikes with tight clearance. downsides - found them very difficult to fit and take off {have to dismantle in peices fit/remove} - instructions are poor aswell. i also found they rubbed on the back wheel - this maybe due to tight very clearance on my bike though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent guards

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought these to fit on my Cannondale CAAD9 and they fit perfectly. No rattle due to them being plastic and a range of fitments to adapt for most bikes. Would recommend watching Youtube videos to see how to fit before attempting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
carpert
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good all-round mudgaurds

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A good all round mudgaurd a little bit fiddley to fit but good in wet weather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ali111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

fiddly to fit, but very good guards

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: rattle on the road
Having no eyelets on my bike means a limited choice of guards for winter riding.
These Road Racer Mk2 came recommended from a couple of club members, which is why I went for them.
There's a good choice of end pieces which attach to the main part depending on the design of your bike.
The parts fit together very securely with the little screws and nuts.
They are however very fiddly and a second pair of hands makes things go better.
One note: look up on YouTube some tutorial videos as the instructions in the box are not great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StevenB
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Road Racer mk2 for a CX with Canti's

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, versatile
Cons: may not fit some bikes
After contacting Crud directly to check fitment for my winter bike (2013 Felt F75X with Canti brakes) I opted to buy these for their versatile abilities.
These are intended for my bike when I'm using it with road wheels on the road and not on my knobbly tyre wheel set up for CX use.
The rear mudguard fitted well and it is well worth sizing up/offering up the parts to your bike before you start fitting them for real.
You'll need some electrical tape on your frame/fork parts to help protect them again the possibility of the components rubbing.
If you own a Cyclocross fitted with canti brakes you may have some issues. My rear seat stays do have a bridge on them so using the bridge to help secure the rear mudguard was straight forward on a normal road bike your rear brake pivot bolt would be the anchor point.
The front mudguard although easy to mount to the fork was not easy to secure on the top part of the mudguard where the cable tie passes through it. It is ideally intended to secure to the brake pivot bolt which passes through the fork. If you have a cable mount at the bottom of your headset them you should be ok but I don't so the only I could secure the top part of the mudguard was to cable tie it to the straddle cable which means the mudguard moves slightly upwards when braking. However, the set up is secure and I have left some play in the cable tie to keep the front mudguard straight and centered over the front wheel.
Once fitted, they performed well. The extra length on the rear mudguard does protect your chain set and on moderately wet roads I had dry fee and legs and pretty dry chain stays too.
The ease at which you can remove/refit them makes them ideal for a winter/cx bike where you might be swapping wheels regularly for your ride that day.
I had the mk1's on my old Allez bike and they performed well although the front mudguard broke when it caught my toes on a turn so bear this in mind when turning (as you would with any bike/mudguard).
Worth the money too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
twaarrd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Long, lightweight guards for bikes with no mounts

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, long, good protection, range of options, easy to install
Cons: flexible at extremes, need time to install perfectly, not as much protection as full guards
I put these on pretty quickly when I realised my morning ride was going to be wet. They're fairly quick to put on and the instructions were quite straightforward to follow.
However, I need to spend some more time to get the best out of them and running smoothly and I think they will need some padding on the seat stays/forks to make them more secure and protect the frame. Although they are easily removable, there are a number of cable ties needed to secure them so swapping them on and off regularly may not be that easy in practice.
Out on the road, I didnt notice the weight penalty and run they ran quieter than I expected. They come with pads which are designed to rub gently against the brake rim. I thought these would make an annoying noise, but you hardly notice it above road & wind noise. Without them on at all, the mudguards rattle too much. I have these fitted to an old steel frame race bike and they fit around the 23mm tyres easily.
The front guard seems fairly stable on the bike although the lower end flap on the rear moves quite a bit when out riding but this does provide quite a bit of protection for you and your riding companions particualrly compared to other guards. Even though they do move, this isn't noticable and is only the very end (which is just a plastic attachment and isn't attached to the frame directly) which moves from side to side although where the guard is attached to the frame it is stable.
The length of the guard is one of the big plus points and they wrap all the way from the seat tube near the front mech (which is reasonably well protected) to quite low down at the back (when using the longest attachment).
There are several attachments so you can choose how long to create them - I've got into the habit of using shorter ones when it's dry (as they dont move around as much) and reserving the longer ones when we need more protection.
Overall, I'm quite happy with the protection these provide and although they will never beat full mudguards are a good option for bikes without mounts. You just need to take time when installing them to get the best from them.
Time will tell how robust they are
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Akinori
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great looking mudguard that does its job

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
It looks great and it does its job.
It feels a little on a fragile side and it can rattle on a bumpy road but over all, it's a good product.
Although some people complain about the installation of this product, I watched a Youtube for fitting advice and I had no problem installing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
globaljobber
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight fit but good

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I fitted a pair of these to my Roubaix. It was a bit of a fiddle getting them on, but they do the job just fine, keeping the mud and spray off the bike and me. The only issue was that riding over muddy roads, the mud can get clogged up under the front wheel mudguard under the brake area. Had to drop the wheel to quickly clear away the mud. Otherwise, would recommend for a road race bike as lightweight, tight fitting and looks ok.
Didn't need to cut or adjust them to fit my Roubaix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good guards

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit although a little flimsy.had slight trouble keeping the guards straight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mary62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Light, flexible mudguards

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
i really like these mudguards. I've bought three sets for three different bikes over the past few years and always been pleased. You need to take your time fitting them but they are light and do a good job of protecting you and your bike. I've even managed to cut a set down to fit a bike which had virtually no clearence for mudguards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TerminalSilver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

No more soggy trousers

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I didn't want mud guards, I don't like the way they look but I don't want wet feet either. Only been on two days and I am very impressed at how well they work and they don't look too bad. well worth the compromise. As for fitting, I asked the friendly staff at my local Evans to fit them when I went in to collect them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alien8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does a job with questionable robustness

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: a bit flimsy
Once you get your head around all the parts and little bits the guards are not too difficult to fit and adjust. The front guard is too short at the top and difficult to align central to the tyre. As it's quiet narrow this means you can get a bit of spray back on the headset/head-tube. The ends flap around a bit and we will have to see how they last the winter.
I've got them over 700 x 25c tyres. They are close to the tyre but don't rub.
They are meant to be a compromise for where you cannot fit regular guards and so in this respect are much better than nothing at all.
All-in-all I would rate them as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyV2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

slick, sleek and hardly noticeable

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
great set of mudguards that don't spoil the look of your racing bike. As has been said before, take your time and have patience when fitting them. Only reservations are the small screws and round bolts which don't fit on that securely, leaving you that awkward feeling that they may drop off. A touch of glue helps though. Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JohnJP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

wildly disappointing

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive, rubbed.
The assembly was a confusing and frustrating process, the plastic, barely thicker than a coke bottle and sadly lacking the same toughness, snapped while fitting. I have very tight clearance between my wheel and brake causing multiple parts of the mudguard to rub, but even if that wasnt the case, i still wouldn't recommend this product. The parts which sit on your stays are held in place with rubber bands. Rubber bands, which might i add were too loose, thus causing more movement and even more rubbing.
Very poor.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>