Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.868 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(266 reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
10
1 Star
28
218 out of 266Would you recommend this product to a friend?82%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
114 Questions | 206 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

Posted07 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent product for winter bike

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was always skeptical of putting mudguards on my road bike, worrying it would spoil the look. But tired of dirty kit after every ride, i decided to try these. These are extremely light weight and very effective. I stay clean and dry on my winter rides. The only downside is the installation instructions were not great so had to spend some time on the internet watching instruction videos!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does the job. just.

Posted20 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I can see these mudguards as a winter season addition only and not really lasting another winter, so they do the job, but for how long?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Fiddly to put on but worth it

Posted20 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: poor instructions
Took quite a while to put on and instructions poor but I am now a convert to mudguards during winter. They do sometimes rub against the wheel as well. With no mudguards feet get wet even when its not raining if there is water on the road and that makes the feet feel colder in winter, but not with these fully fitted. It now annoys me if I am riding behind someone who doesn't have mudguards on wet roads :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great guards - take your time when fitting them

Posted16 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: a bit fiddly to attach
I had read these were fiddly to put on, but I price matched to Halfords and had a go. I have them on my Felt Z85 with 25c tyres, and it looked impossible that they were going to fit without rubbing...However, they have gone on ok - I had to cut down the rear to fit the frame where the chainstays meet the bottom bracket, but it cut easily with a Stanley knife. If you buy these, take your time, read and follow the instructions and do it properly as another reviewer advised. They have small felt brushes/pads that you attach to help keep them from rubbing - seems to work well. Now they are on, they work great and provide full protection for me and the brakes/ front mech where other designs don't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, simple to fix and remove

Posted15 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really pleased with these mudguards. They aren't really noticeable at first glance because they fit tightly to the tyre.
Online video instructions on how to fit them are excellent - did mine in about 15 mins, referring to my iPad as I went through stage by stage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rub a little but do a job

Posted04 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
A little fiddly to get set up for the first time and once one they aren't quite sturdy enough not to move and rub slightly.
They do self-correct somewhat so the rubbing is generally minimal and better than riding without mudguards - for you and those behind!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Worst mudguards i've ever owned

Posted15 December 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
go together quite simply, each guard slots together and is then attached with simple plastic bolts.
unfortunately, regardless of how I positioned it on my Felt there was always wheel rub on the rear wheel. The front piece of the guard on the front wheel would never centre meaning it was basically pointless.
I could've lived with these issues...... I cut down the rear guard to stop the rubbing (which meant that i effectively lost all the protection it offered the chainset, but as i regularly clean my bike after a rainsoaked ride, it wouldn't mean the end of the world, and the spray from the front guard wasn't unbearable....
However, on only my second ride to work with them on a jolt from a small bump in the road caused a section of the rear guard to break free completely and was lost forever on a busy road.
So to sum up, they don't fit properly causing them to rub your wheels and they're easily broken as the joining sections are very weak.
I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product and Does what it is meant to

Posted14 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Was unsure at first as to whether the product would be strong enough to do the job. However, was very surprised that after fitting the mudguards how strong they were and therefore up to the job.
Fitting was easy and would recommend the use of the video from the product website or youtube as this gives more detail than the fitting sheet provided.
Product looks good on the bike and provides the cover you need in these wet and windy months.
If you are looking for a set of mudguards that can be used again and again, then look no further.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Nice looking, light, good protection

Posted09 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, not straightforward to install
Pros:
-They look great
-They are light, streamlined and aerodynamic (as far as mudguards can be, obviously)
-Once you understand how to fit them on your bike, the installation is simple enough and you will have some room for adjustment and tuning. At least that was my case – my road bike has plenty of clearance (it’s a proper roadbike but it has room for up to 700x32 tyres I think)
-The asymmetrical rear mudguard provides extra protection for the front gear mech
-Two spare pieces provided in case the standard pieces are too long
-They are long, covering a good portion of the tyre – great protection
Cons:
-The instructions are not good enough. I think it’s a must to watch the tutorial video in their webpage to understand how to fit these things
-Cable ties are used to hold them in place. You will need to cut and replace them if you intend to take the mudguards off (and use new cable ties –not provided- to fit them again)
-Some protective pieces are just stickers and some other thick rubber bands. I don’t think they will last long, but I didn’t accumulate enough distance to properly judge this point
-At their normal price they are a bit too expensive
-Depending on your frame size, you may need to cut (saw) part of the read mudguard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:London Bridge

Light weight winter protection

Posted07 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
They are overpriced at Evans, but if you get them to price match to Wiggle or Halfords, they are good value.
While Crud 2 offer good protection, there are better on the market, but they will be a lot heavier. These were a really good balance between weight and protection for me, and they managed to fit over my 28mm winter tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very suitable for road bike

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
easily fitted having had same before
the last lot did not seem to last more than 2 seasons
snug fit to wheels so very reduced road splash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Does exactly what is required.

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Easy to fit and great at keeping water and dirt off the important parts when the roads are wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product but buy it in store...

Posted30 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Product wise this is great and a must for winter riding.
One warning;
I ordered this online and one piece was broken. Evans kindly sent a replacement without charge, but that was also broken. I had to go into the shop to confirm my next set wasn't damaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Still undecided

Posted26 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Poor quality
I've tried the SKS race blades and now these and I still don't know which I prefer. The race blades snapped after a month.
These feel like they're very low quality and very flimsy with very little clearance, but then again they have to be because road bikes have very little clearance for these add ons.
Even with the guards set up perfectly it's inevitable that there's going to be noise and some rubbing against the tyre.
I've used them for a few weeks now and they haven't broken yet and they have kept me dry, so they're doing what they're supposed to. Not sure they'll last more than one season though...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Elegant design but fragile plastic

Posted25 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Cons: fragile material
Clearly lots of thought has gone into the design of these mudguards. Unboxed you'll initially be bewildered by how many parts there are but you should soon be able to work out that each mudguard (front and back) consists of three sections: nose, mid-section and tail, plus struts to connect to your bikes forks. I actually enjoyed the meticulous process of putting them together, with help from the video the manufacturer has put up on youtube. The finished effect is light but sturdy, sleek-looking mudguards that don't rub.
Trouble is they're too delicate for a ruffian like me. After a snack stop I lifted the front wheel as I steered my bike back onto the road and the rear mudguard snapped instantly. Then later when I was tired after 80 miles on a windy day I couldn't be bothered to fit my bike rack so I popped the front wheel off and put the bike in the car, forgetting the mudguard and giving it a good old bend. Luckily I've bent the front mudguard back into shape and I've been able to sort of fix the back one with glue. Not sure I'd buy them again though, I'd only recommend them to the fastidious rider - better people than me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Fiddly to fit but works well

Posted24 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The summary says it all. Works well but not the easiest to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>