Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set

Traditional mudguard construction dictates a sturdy design, with bolted fixing at the brake bridges, and or rigid plastic utilised in the main arc. This principle has remained unchanged for a century or more. The Crud Roadracer concept turns orthodox road mudguard design on its head, Crud designers reasoned that if you could 'float' the mudguard off the rim, then you could do away with a lot of the traditional fixings. The Crud Roadracer mudguard (180 grams for the pair) just hovers in place so there is nothing to rattle or rub. The brushed instantly dampen any road vibration, settling the mudguard into it's neutral central position. In extensive tests Crud have failed to wear the pile against the rim, and the friction involved is so light as to be immeasurable.
Overall rating:
3.894 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(180 reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 180 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Star
19
145 out of 180(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
89 Questions | 167 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SouthDownsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your patience will be rewarded

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely product! Get a set of these, set aside a good half hour or more when you unpack them, relax and you'll soon have a perfectly set-up pair of mudguards that don't interfere with your tyres at all and keep your back and mech absolutely clean. Marvellous!
Some hints to make the fitting process less stressful:
1 - Don't rush the job. It's not as fiddly as it looks - you just have to be patient, and the parts will go on in the right order;
2 - Look at the picture on the box - it'll tell you as much about the way the parts go together as the rest of the instructions combined;
3 - Do pay attention to the helpful LEFT and RIGHT marks printed on the parts;
4 - Notice that there are two lengths of bolt in the kit - always use the short type where you can;
5 - Put the parts together, then fit them loosely to the frame with the wheels off;
6 - With the wheels in, get the position roughly right by moving the ends of the stays;
7 - Notice that a few mm of play is built into the connection between mudguards and stays - use these for fine-tuning. You really should end up with no friction;
8 - Only fit the little brush-like things at the end, when you can line them up properly; and
9 - Go out and ride without spraying your friends.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mudguards that does as it says on the tin

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can switch to other bikes easily, excellent protection
I have these fitted to three different bikes in our household of varying sizes. You may need to trim the rear guard for small frames but other than that they protect the front mech, stop you getting wet and keep anyone getting a tow from getting a soaking. Easy to fit, easy to tune to your bikes size and pefrom well. The plastic nuts allows the mudgaurd ends to pop off without jamming in your wheel if you have an unfortunate incident and clip the guards. Spares available from manufacturers if you lose any bits and they stow away to re-fit the following winter. Well worth the money and work better than others I have tried.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit on Trek Madone, recommended!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good video tutorials on manufacturers webpage
It fits perfectly on 2013 Trek Madone 4.7. Highly recommended product! Really extends your season even with bicycle that is not supposed to have mudguards!
Video tutorials on CRUD webpage are really helpful for smooth installation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillyW
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than MK1 model.

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The MK1 was very good but Crud have improved on the weaknesses of the original and made it even better. It's simple to fit easy to remove when it's not required. And it's even more robust than the previous model. Full marks and well worth the money.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mick14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Lightweight, sleek looking, protect the Bike well.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: instructions are vague
An excellent piece of kit, requires a little bit of patience to set them up but once done they do the job brilliantly with some built in features such as extra protection for the front mech etc.. They are light and fit snugly (can be adjusted to suit). Only real complaint would be the lack of clear instructions, I was able to work it out using the included instructions which were vague and using the picture on the box. (fitted to a Pinarello Rokh)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
alpsss
Country:United Kingdom

Wobbly and bit noisy

PostedApril 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
It could be the bike but itook me about 2 weeks to get the front mud guard in a position where it doesn't rub against the wheel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WilliamTheWonka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Perfect

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Was recommended these by Evans in Reading. Great, light mudguards for commuting on a road bike/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coolerrex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Utter rubbish

PostedApril 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, not fit for purpose
My fault should have been more thorough when deciding on these mudguards, my kids have toys with better quality materials than this utter can't use the word I wanted, gone in the cupboard never to be used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rider12345
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not durable, fiddly to fit

PostedMarch 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Brought these as I have had good experiences with Crud MTB mudguards in the past.
Although light, these mudguards are not very durable, two sections of mine have snapped off in 4 months of riding, meaning they no longer effectively protect me from surface spray... They are also very fiddly to fit in the first place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Inie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Fits with less than 4mm clearance

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, fits tight space
The website suggests the clearance required is 4mm. I had marginally less than that on my Trek Madone but took a chance on these mudguards.
Even with the tight clearance I am running 25c Continental GT 4 season tyres with no problem. Periodically there will be some slight rubbing, but it soon clears. To expect complete silence from clip on mudguards would be unrealistic.
It was a bit of a fiddle to set up, patience is required but was worth it. You really need to watch the youtube videos prior to fitting but I was pleasantly surprised, they fit fine even though they looked like they wouldn't!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MikkoFIN
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very hard to install

PostedMarch 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I found it disappointing that the product was very hard to install properly, so that the friction with the tire was minimal. Also the guidance for installing could be better, and all bolts & nuts could be of better quality.
In the end when I got it properly in place it looked nice and works fine .Also it is very light weight and the price was not too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AthleteBlood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great for a small frame bike, fiddly though

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, keeps your back/bum dry
I bought these for my Felt F85 Tiagra which has a very small frame. These mud guards fit almost perfectly and do a great job of keeping the dirt off the bike and more importantly, the back of my shorts/trousers. Another good point is that they are quite discreet on my black bike so you can hardly tell that they are there.
Only thing is that there is very little space between the wheel and the guard so whenever any dirt gets on the tyre you can hear it churning around between the tyre and the guard for a bit afterwards.
Overall it does exactly what I wanted it to and I would recommend to anyone that doesn't like turning up for work with water up their back and dirt on their backside...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Buza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

“Clever product, didn’t fit”

PostedMarch 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I knew it was always going to be a long shot that they would fit my 2002 Giant Aluxx SL frame as I hardly had any clearance between the frame and the wheels. Coupled with the fact I had just fitted new winter 28c tyres, when these mudguards arrived I could see straight away no amount of cutting, trimming etc. would able me to fit them to the bike. I was impressed at the design of them though. I returned them to Evans Birmingham for a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ryan87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great mudgaurds!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These look great, little tricky to install but work well and really do a great job of keeping grit and grim off your bike and gears etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MGeo
Country:Bulgaria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They simply do the job and look nice

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good protection
I couldn't be happier with this purchase. I must admit these are the first "full" mudguards I am using, but yeah- it well worth the wait. They are now mounted on my daily commute, fixed gear, 25mm tires. It does not matter I have no brakes- I easily installed them, following the short manual enclosed. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alwayscycling
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Nice and light, fiddly to install

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I originally considered buying SKS race blades but the Cruds are cheaper and I think lighter. They work well but were tricky to fit, however the Crud website tutorial was helpful. These mudguards are good if the bike doesn't have much clearance space. Can be tricky to get the front one not to catch the tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EssexBiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Easy Fit and good Protection

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Found these easy to fit after following the Crud Video online
Work well no more spray all up my back when riding in the wet also feet don't get as mucky either.
Would recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
requiem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I returned these as they were clearly incredibly flimsy, backing up the numerous stories I have subsequently read of these snapping off do to toe overlap etc. They are also incredibly fiddly to set up, and overall, while the idea is fantastic, I just felt that this product is not of a standard which justifies the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nooge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Does the job but not without flaws

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tricky to get fit perfect, can get deflected easily
I got this set of guards for my giant tcr advanced. There's very little clearance for mudguards so these were one of the only options.
There are useful installation vids on the crud website which I recommend you use as the instructions aren't as clear as they could be.
They're very light and do the job well but the tolerances are so tight that there's a small amount of wheel rub which doesn't affect speed much but can deflect out of place if it taps your foot (happens in a trackstand occasionally).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Road Racer MK2 Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And1
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light weight , durable , sturdy considering it's plastic, and the black does not diminish from the natural aesthetics of the bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>