Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal

Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal

For 2011 Shimano has split the XTR range into two very distinct but still complementary ranges labelled 'Trail' and 'Race'. The best part though is that the XTR trail is the yin to the XTR Race's yang, and together mountain biking's first family of components offers a broad matrix of fully interchangeable options to tune your ride.
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 25(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Superb pedals

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my new 2013 Trek Elite carbon MTB. After plenty of research and debate with friends I chose these. They are light and look great. When you need that bit of extra confidence to put your foot down you can do knowing the pedal will support you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ink81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
another top piece of kit from shimano. the best pedals i've ever bought work well in the mud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt1308
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good lightweight pedal

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to use, lightweight pedals, they look and feel to be hard wearing but time will tell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrankieRS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome pedal set, very happy.

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
You can see as soon as you open the box why these are highly rated. Great build quality and function well. They look the part too which is a bonus. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TravellingFrank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Lightweight, great performing product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Put these on my new Hardtail BMC, and they are a good looking product; clicking in-and-out mid-ride was efficient, as a result I felt that my pedalling and comfort from a safety point of view was maximised, and low weight kept the total grammage to a minimum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnny1572
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great pedal that gives extra support when cycling. Cant fault it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robe123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great SPD's

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Love these pedals much better than my previous unbranded clip less peddles. Easy to adjust with good float and smooth ride. Excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark633
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

No problems discovered

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After one month's frequent use I have found that I like using the product and I have not had any problems of any description.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crazyneo
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
just installed them on my Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert Evo Carbon 2013 Mountain Bike. I have just purchased from you and they are perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
g4ogami
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

click in and go

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Previously used the a heavy MTB style SPD pedal because I wanted the benefits of a sturdy base when wearing shoes with no cleats and all the joy SPDs bring to the party. Well new bike bmnew pedals and straight away you can feel the difference between a chunkier pedal and this. Its still sturdy but now I have a lighter slimmer pedal. Have noticed disengaging seems easier but that might be because I have the setting so low.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mac040
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality pedals

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Quality, lightweight pedal usual shimano quality, good price from evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
peter666
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super pedal the first 2 months

PostedAugust 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Great pedal but poor quality. The first pair only lasted 6 months, the platform fell off the axle,( I only ride xc/trail no DH). Got them exchange on the warranty. The next pair have developed a lot of play in the bearings after only 3 months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
b115ter
from uk
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

EASY PEASY

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, bling, blong
Cons: no cons
best clip in system ever. set them to minimum torque for lightning fast bailout with no unclipping during normal riding. nice platform for riding unclipped. also good platform for restarting on hills with instant clip in. well done shimano.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diddyfunk
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant Product & at a brilliant price

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
You cannot beat XTR quality and these do not disappoint!
Brilliant peadal that takes a battering and still lives on.
Treat yourself to a great Trail pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daveyboy
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent Pedal platform

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Upgraded from SP520, use for trails, wider platform helps to transmit the power on the climbs
Worth the money at the sale price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michaeljohn
from South Africa
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

what a great purchase!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great pedals , very ease to click in and out of and they look great as an added bonus..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davecanada
from canada
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

so pimp and functionable

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pedals are so pimp yet are so functionable. I had the older xt on my blur and I just put these on. They for for almost 300 bucks here and got them from evans for under 115 bucks!
Just rode around the basement a few times and they are nice and clean. Clipping in and out is so simple and they are nice and light. The extra cage is nice, not as wide as a dx pedals but you still feel it under the foot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MisterD

Does what it says on the tin

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Give increased platform area and alot easier to clip in. Would recommend these.
Light weight (compared to similar products).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilRe
from Chilterns
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pricey, but the best you can get...

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have recently started doing some XC events and needed total confidence that my feet are securely attached to the pedals, these are the ultimate for me...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano XTR Trail M985 SPD Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slimjim666
from Gosport
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fear gone

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having just had a total knee replacement I was worried that I wouldn't be able to twist my foot out easily. I found these very easy to release on demand. They have not accidentally released either.
They are also easy to step into and the large area also support the foot more than smaller SPD paddles. Because the paddle is much larger you can start peddling without having to be locked on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>