Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal

Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal

For 2011 Shimano has split the XTR range into two very distinct but still complementary ranges labelled 'Trail' and 'Race'. The best part though is that the XTR trail is the yin to the XTR Race's yang, and together mountain biking's first family of components offers a broad matrix of fully interchangeable options to tube your ride.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Expensive and require regular maintenance

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, easy to service
Cons: Expensive, need regular servicing
Got these on a price-match deal but they can be an expensive purchase otherwise. Beautifully smooth and pretty light. Work well in 90+ of conditions but stick clay or chalky mud is always a problem. They do start to wobble on the spindle after 6 months of use but it's easy enough to service them, if a little fiddly due to the tiny ball bearings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdc2506
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Best pair of SPD pedals I've ridden to date

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, wider than m520 and a better platform
Cons: Expensive
Prior to buying a pair of XTR M980 pedals; I rode with a pair of M520 pedal's on one bike and and a pair of A520 pedals on my other bike.
Of the two SPD pedals; I preferred the convenience of the M520's double sided cleat and decided to replace the A520's.
I chose a pair of XTR M980 pedals to replace the A520's and they have proven to be worth the money.
The XTR M980 pedals are expensive in comparison to the M520 and A520; but you get what you pay for and the XTR M980 pedals have been one of the best upgrades I've made.
In comparison to the M520; the XTR M980 pedal has a slightly lower profile and are slightly wider too; which makes for a better platform when clipped in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Best spd pedals!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Have used the lower end SPD pedals from Shimano in the past and decided to go for the higher end this time on my new carbon road bike. Very smooth clipping in and out, overall feels like a higher quality pedal so justifies the price for me. Small price to pay compared to the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluecloud
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

If you like SPD this is light and works

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
If you like SPD this is light and works well. After putting on bike one they had to go onto bike 2 as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tonypa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to step into and get out of.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've previously used 'Look' type pedals and the plastic cleats over time, wear and become more difficult to step out of. These pedals are not just beautiful but release quickly and easily. They are lightweight although a bit expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
r2dj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty Slick

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These are noticeably lighter and thinner than my old XT's and the clipping in action is fantastically smooth. So smooth in fact, that i've had to double check that i'm actually engaged on a few occasions.
My only gripe is that the paintwork on the spindle side of both pedals wore of after only one ride leaving metal scuffs. I would have expected the paint on pedals this expensive to last longer than 3 hours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goldenboy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: quite pricey
fantastic pedals! i was sceptical about the difference between these and the cheaper xt version but im glad i paid the extra. amazingly stiff and so light i was amazed the first time i took them out of the box. ive had a few of shimanos pedals and im really impressed so far but have only had them for about a month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XTR Race M980 SPD XC Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ming
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Who would have thought a pedal could be tactile?

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: different cleat position from other shimano spd
Very easy to clip in, holds well yet releases consistently.
Be aware that the cleat position needs to be changed on the shoe - the M980 clips are moved back 1.5mm, so the cleat has to be moved. This means if you have different pedals on two bikes you need matching shoes!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.