Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers

Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers

Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Review 1 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iainr7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Must have Cleat Covers

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Simple easy to use must have covers for awesome cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
plafitracer
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Got Speedplay

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
If you have Speedplay, you'll want these puppies - as a bit of walking is always needes - saves the cleats, and are less slippery...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rlll1288
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential for Protecting Speedplay Cleats

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I don;t do much walking in cycling shoes but do have to negotiate some stairs and slippery surfaces to get to the changing rooms at the office. Not only do these stop me from worrying about slipping and sliding they also provide great cover for when they are not in use I.e. after rides. As Speedplay cleats need lubing regularly these covers help give more protection to grime and dirt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hinderider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
You cant use speedplays without these in your pocket. It makes you walk very heel down but no worse than using a look or shimano cleat. Lots of grip. Not very heavy so always carry them with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
benno78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Essential Protection

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, robust
Cons: none
Keeps speedplay cleats from getting damaged when walking around and small enough to store in pocket when on your bike - great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peteacher7075
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple product that works

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Ideal for protecting your cleats and ensuing the last longer. Go on and off very easy. Fits in rear jacket or shirt pockets so you can use then if you stop at a local cafe or shops
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WillTrac

Great way of keeping Spd cleans clean

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Work a treat in keeping Spd cleats clean; easy to clip over the cleat and carry in a jersey pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bulldogsprinter
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential for speedplay

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great products, saves your cleats from excess wear and tear, makes walking with speedplay cleats safe. I use them for training and even racing (doesn't take much room in your pocket).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Clip savers

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Speedplay cleats aren't cheap to replace so these covers are a much needed piece of kit as far as I'm concerned. I don't tend to do much walking in my cleats but when I do I make sure I have the covers on. Stop you from slipping over and also protect the cleat. When riding they easily fit into jersey pocket and are lightweight so you won't notice them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeremzzzzzz
Country:Mauritius
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

protect

PostedApril 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
does what it is suppose to do it protect very well your cleats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sunburn
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You will need these!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, falls out easily due to inherent cleat design
Yes, these are necessary to pro-long the life of your speedplay cleats.
And they really make it easier for you to walk on because the rubber has more traction.
Be careful these 'detaches' from your cleats quite easily.
I was walking across a grass patch, at the end of the path, I hear the distinctive Speedplay cleat on concrete "crunching" noise. I turned around to find one of the covers laying in the middle of the grass patch.
The covers have a minimal "catch" that will hold on to the Speedplay cleats, unlike the SPD-SL kool covers which has a bigger front "hook".
But I guess that is due to the inherent design of the Speedplay cleats, which are compact in design and have almost flushed edges.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRosa
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

These are a 'must have' if you ride Speedplay.

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Not much you can say about these other than they will save your cleats while walking around on concrete and will also save your ego/butt should you attempt to walk on the slippy tiles commonly found in cafes.
They do what they're supposed to and fit in your back pocket.
Just remember to take them off again before you try to ride away from the cafe......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mchua9999
from Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cleat covers

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
These covers are great for protecting your speedplay zero cleats from dirt and grime which can make clipping in more difficult. They also provide better traction for when you have to walk around in your cycling shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steve7
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Coffee covers are a must to ensure you don't destroy the base plate of the speedplay cleat which is metal. They fit the cleat perfectly and when you walk around are quite comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yankiebiker
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Essential when commuting!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these for the short walk from bike to the building I work in. It has saved me a fortune as they really do protect the cleates!! They clip on easily and really do a great job.
There is only one con and that is they can be a bit of a pain to get off but this is overshadowed by all the pros.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RatsB
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Necessary purchase for Speedplay Owners

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, necessary
Cons: Expensive
These really should come as standard with the pedals and are expensive for what they are, but are pretty important if you want to stop you v v expensive speedplay cleats from getting crud in them, or wearing prematuturely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crzycyclst
from Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Save Your Cleats for that Fateful Day

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I haven't had to use these yet, but they remain in my saddle bag for the day that I have to walk more than 50m.
If have to use them, it means I'm not cycling enough or something went horribly wrong.
Fitted them to test around the house and they work great. All Speedplay users should have one of these just in case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JChong
from Orpington
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cleat Covers Save Cleats

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
A must have for Speedplay users. The covers protect the cleats and your floors while giving added traction to prevemts slips. Just be careful not to tear your finger nails as covers are difficult to remove from cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnnaM
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A must have for Speedplay users

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These really do the trick, easy to fit and light weight. I ruined a previous set of Speedplay cleats far more quickly than I needed to, these cleat covers should make my new ones last much longer. Easy to walk on too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Six13
from Glasgow
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Highly Recommended

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, makes absolute sense
These cleat covers are an absolutely fantastic idea. The Speedplay Zero pedal system is the best set-up I've ever used.... and I've used pedals from Shimano, Look and Time over the years.
The one downside, if it can be called that, is that with the release and engagement mechanism being in the cleat and not in the pedal like other systems, you're going to trash the cleat if you walk around in your shoes.
I carry these covers with me whenever I'm on the bike and as soon as I get off I slip the covers on to protect the cleat. With cleats costing about £36 you really will get used to using them when you come in and out of the house and more especially in and out of the cafe....as the description suggests.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.