Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal

Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal

The lowest stack height: The Zero cleat positions your foot closer to the top of the spindle for improved power transfer. Unbeatable cornering clearance: The thin pedal profile of the zero lets you power through corners where your rivals coast. Large, stable pedalling platform: The Zero pedal system provides the same solid connection as conventional single-sided pedals, but with Speedplay's unique, inverted design the cleat provides the platform once the cleat is engaged. Easy maintenance: A built-in grease port for easy bearing lubrication. True locking mechanism: The Zero's locking mechanism does not rely on spring tension for security, so entering and exiting Zero pedals is easy, but unintended release is virtually impossible
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Review 1 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soupie
from Kuwait
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Versatile

Posted21 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
very easy to put on and easy to clip shoes in and out with a bit of rotating motion. Quite light as well
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilk0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Best Pedals I've Used

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, east to use
Cons: Expensive
I was going to buy some Shimano 105 clipless pedals but my friend convinced me to spend the extra cash and go for these.
I've only ever used Shimano SPD pedals before and all I can say is that these are so much better!
The double sided entry makes clipping in each and every time a breeze. No worrying about the pedal being upside down, just put your foot down and you're in.
Unlike the Shimano pedals there is no way to adjust the ease of unclipping from the pedals but I've found it to be fairly easy most of the time so it's not too much of an issue.
The metal cletes are a little tricky to walk in but at leas they don't get destroyed like the plastic Shimano ones do after a few short walks.
Overall, these are by far the best clipless pedals I've used and would recommend them to anyone either looking to go clipless for the first time or experienced clipless users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesonofmagyar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant platform for pedalling

Posted13 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, good platform
Cons: Expensive, needs getting used to
Makes a massive difference in pedalling power. Well made and well finished. A bit fiddly to set up and difficult to learn to "stamp" into the clip but makes a great deal of difference to feel when pedalling. Brilliant platform.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bazthebike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best road pedal on the market!

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: nothing
Now got two pairs of zeros. Take a little time to set cleats right for your knees and use them for short rides at first if you are new to them.
Once sorted they will become indispensable.
I have ridden about 3,000 miles on my first set, sometimes doing 100+ miles at a time. Engagement is easy and they are very secure, with plenty of float. The large cleat spreads the pedal force so they remain comfortable on long rides.
I've had other pedals over the years. Nothing else performs like these in terms of ease of use and comfort.
If you're looking for new pedals, nothing beats speedplay!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heckler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Speedplay pedal - the best

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not fit and forget - but what pedal system is?
used to use the old X1 and x2 speedplays and the achilies heel (for me anyway) was the adaptor to 4 bolt and I have to admit this played on my mind a bit when making the decision to go back to Speedplay although there are a lot more "dedicated" 4 bolt speedplay shoes out there now and as I'm looking at buying new shoes, well the new adaptors are ace, only 3 mm extra stack and they have clip on wedges to adapt to the shape of your shoe - brilliant!! super smooth pedals, easy engagement/disengagement, not really fussed on "float" restriction as I love as much "float" as possible, my only slight gripe (nurd engineer talking here) is the little grub srews are a devel to adjust I have replaced them with stainless steel allen head grub screws, just push a bit of wax from a candle into the allen screw hole when you've adjusted them to your liking then they won't get filled up with crud and when (if ever) you need to adjust them just dig out the candle wax! they are not fit and forget pedals, you do have to grease them, and keep the cleats clean/lubed with "dry lube" but in mho they are the best of the best and I've tried pretty much every pedal system available - buy them you won't be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sertgrt
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great system

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Much the same as other reviews really. Solid and easy to clip in and out, and easy float adjustment make it a winner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saffer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great, once you get used to it.

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These pedals are great, bringing real "stomp and go" to Road bikes with excellent power transfer, massive configurability and they're light! What more can you ask for?
The only downside is that there is a definite learning curve, they can be very frustrating for the first couple of weeks. My first day I couldn't clip in at all but it does get easier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HarryofEssex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Easy peasy to get in and out

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, cleating in is a doddle
Cons: Expensive, they dont like mud at all.
I would fully agree with ckboon's extensive review on the virtues and cons of these pedals. Overall I love them, but I have another con. I have used these for 4-5 years and like ckboon used to use Look Keos. On 3 occassians I have had the problem of accidently standing in mud, getting on the bike and just could not get out of them. If you get grit/mud in the cleats behind the circllip , the circlip cant expand and you might not get out of them and find yourself either getting out on the other foot or finding a convenient lamp post to stop against.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brumbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just like Ronseal

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, best connection
Cons: they make me want to keep buying more bikes
Just like Ronseal. I own 5 bikes every one bar my folding Tern has them. The Tern has Deore XTR pedals.
Speed plays do exactly what they say they will.
They're dead easy to get in and out of. The temptation is to make it hard. It's just a question of stamp down and you're in.
Once you're in you'll notice the feeling of never being so well connected to a bike ever.
If all else fails, they will start many a conversation.
Just order them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LtBanzai
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to engage
Cons: Expensive
- easy to engage and disengage, any angle, don't have to flip the pedal.
- tighly fit to cleat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fatmancycling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Expensive but worth it

Posted14 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I got these as I have knee problems since getting them I've done over 1000 miles including a 121 mile ride and my knees are better than ever.
Only problem is getting into them since I used ultregra pedals for the last 2 years but getting the hang of it now not speedplays fault just old habits die hard.
15 degrees float was a bit much but very easily adjusted with a screwdriver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cjsmifff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent

Posted17 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Been using spds on my road bike, replaced them with these speedplay pedals, love them! Lighter just as easy to clip into and knee friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spud1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent pedals, easy to fit and set up of cleats. Plenty of float if you like that sort of thing, although I have tightened mine up to reduce the float
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best! But ...

Posted15 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, highly adjustable
Cons: Expensive, initially tricky to engage
Bike fit:
The reason I switched to Speedplay Zeros was due to bike fit. Campy has a very narrow Q-factor and it caused discomfort in my hips and the outer edges of my feet were 'cramping'. Moved the Look Keo cleats as close as possible towards the pedals and the shoes away from the pedals didn't help. So my bike fitter @ Loue Bicycles suggested I try SpeedPlay Zeros.
From a bike fit perspective, the level of adjustments offered by Speedplay (at a cost) are second to none (fore-aft, spindle length, etc.). By using the 59mm spindle & fore-aft extender plates, I am able to find a comfortable fit. My hips are no longer complaining and after giving more float to my right foot during a ride my feet are not complaining. And because of the longer spindle and float adjustments, my heels are not hitting the chain stays anymore! My feet has to take some time to adjust to the new stance, so too my sub-conscious has to adjust to the new setup (like new way to clip in). These pedals need patience & time to adjust to get the right fit & feel.
Usage:
I have been using my Zeros on commuting and regular Sunday rides. Comparing to the Look Keo 2 Max pedals, these Speedplay Zero pedals have a very different feel. Clipping in is very different too. With the Look Keos, when you get on, you need to clip in first then push off. Then you clip in the other foot. With SpeedPlays, you just need to step on (don't have to be clipped in but it's better) and push off. As long as the pedal body is within the cleat it will clip in once you start pedalling. Due to habit, I still look down to clip the other foot in. But it's not really needed. As long as my sub-conscious guides my foot to the pedal, I just step on.
My pedalling seems to have improved. It's smoother and heels are dropping down a bit more.
The dual-sided entry helps a lot. Especially when you try to push off at a traffic junction. With the Look Keos, the pedals have to hang vertically before you can clip in. Also, it's hard to pedal when the shoe is resting on the underside of the Look Keos (very slippery). With the Speedplays, I just need to ensure the pedal is within the cleat and start riding. It wouldn't slip out even if it's not clipped in. Push down on the down stroke and it should clip in.
When you are using Speedplays, the Keep On Kovers cleat covers are a must. These are a real time saver and cleats saver as the covers are always there. No need to take them off & put them on! No more looking for cleat covers! You can get off the bike and start walking.
I am so happy with these pedals that I have to get another pair for the other bike :(
Lastly, before you get a pair of Speedplay, make sure your shoes are compatible. Otherwise, you need to get different snap shims or a new pair of shoes.
For all the good things about Speedplay Zeros, there are always the downsides/cons:
1) Parts are expansive.
2) Need regular maintenance.
3) Need to dry-lube the cleats.
4) Cleat covers are a must.
5) Not all shoes are compatible. Need to check with Speedplay before buying.
6) Need patience to dial in for the perfect fit.
7) My bike looks strange with these lollipop pedals. Not so traditional .
8) I have to get another pair for the other bike!
Pros:
1) High level of adjustments (added cost).
2) Different spindle length (available separately).
3) You can set +/-15deg of float.
4) You can adjust the float on the fly.
5) Able to get the achieve perfect fit.
6) Smoother pedalling.
7) Dual-sided entry.
BTW, I have used these pedals before switching over to Speedplay Zeros:
1) Pedals with toe clips & leather straps
2) Look Keo Easy
3) Look Keo 2 Max
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pedro1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Speedplay Zero Pedals

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Shimano & Look systems are both fine, however Speedplay pedals wear better, are more secure & easy to disengage from, & offer double sided entry, which is a major bonus if your struggling through heavy city traffic, clipping & unclipping every 100 meters.
Perfect for both racing & casual riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ArsenalJohnno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant!!

Posted26 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I recently purchased my first track bike which of course is a fixed wheel. Having never ridden a fixie before I needed a pedal that would allow me to engage and disengage very quickly whilst zipping around town. The speedplay zero pedals worked a treat.
This item requires some assembling but don't be deterred they are very easy to assemble even for those who aren't very mechanically minded. I only have one small quibble, unlike my previous pedals these require frequent maintenance to ensure they keep running well. Which isn't a big problem at all just a regular clean and a few drops of dry oil to ensure everything keeps running as faultless as the day you took them out of the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lzshf3
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy first clipless pedals

Posted26 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Thought I'd get some clipless pedals and these work a treat. Takes a while to get it dialed in but worth while spending the time doing so. The cleats are quite difficult to engage at first (it could just be me not being used to clipless) but once you break them in after a few weeks, it's easy as pie.
Works on both 3 and 2 pin shoes and all screws and shims are provided to allow compatibility with most shoes (I've got a pair of Sidi).
The adjustable float is handy for me as a beginner and a very easy to adjust my riding to accommodate these.
I recommend these and bought the cleat covers as well. Evans delivery was quick and efficient as always too. The pedals themselves look like they'll last a fair while and the cleats seem equally well made although I have heard that they don't last that long but so far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andyb56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Pain to setup - But once done amazing!

Posted26 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I've been using Shimano SPD's for just under a year knowing that I was going to upgrade them soon. I was swaying between two pedals Campagnolo (which you can't get at Evans) and the Speedplay Zero pedal to fit to my Eddy Merckx EMX-1. In the end I ended up going for the Speedplay Zero, hearing just how good they were for getting in and out of and for the amount of float that you could get. All of it is true, this morning I did my first ride on them in less than a mile I hated them came back and tweaked them again, once that was done, I did an hour of riding on a 2k circuit, which has a lot of stop/start on it, knowing full well that I was going to have to get in and out of the pedal a lot, all I can say is that comparatively to the Shimano pedal I have been using for a year now it is way easier, an absolute dream to get in and out of.
It would be nice if Evans offered a shoe which was already set up for Speedplay's, like the Sidi shoes, for example, then you wouldn't have to fit the extra plate, still I have to say I love my Specialized shoes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRosa
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great pedal for experienced cyclists.

Posted12 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not for beginners
I like Speedplay pedals (having moved from Time) and bought these for my wife as her first set of clipless pedals.
I like them because they are double sided, easy to clip into and fully adjustable for the amount of float, position, etc.
Unfortunately, my wife is a beginner, lighter than me and found clipping in & out to be just too difficult for her despite various adjustments. We swapped her to the Shimano SPD-SLs that came with the bike and all is well.
In hindsight, we should maybe have gone for a pair of the 'Light Action' Speedplays instead?
These are great pedals but maybe best suited to experienced clipless pedal users only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sport
from Merseyside
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Zero's

Posted04 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The systmen is based around a cleat that is a circlip that clamps around the pedal & is incredibly ingenious !
You get PLENTY of rotational movement which can be adjusted down to none.
Getting in them: If your Look/Time user used to a front lip with which you've got to effectively push forward/down, CEPT with these ITS: push down-then-twist out though you dont have twist-out all the time.
I've had mine now for around 8 months & still have trouble a bit of trouble on the entry @ times... Once you get the sideways placement of the cleat sorted (this is great BTW & a big selling point) - the other Rotational movement is just MASSIVE so much in fact you'll be hitting the cranks and twisting the ankle when its away from the cranks arm..(adjustment ESSENTIAL)
The movement has not got any feeling behind it; no spring to move you back to a centre position. Can be disconcerting 1stly yet it really is the real deal.
Setting them up is not that hard really; you've a base plate which has snap on plates to 'form' to the sole of your shoe - this is then screwed to the sole then; the yellow/bronze cleat screws to this - screw the 8x screws to '2 turns' (you'll feel the little bumps)
Its a professional pedal + the ability to 'exact' your position with your foot to pedal that makes the SOO popular - movement or not! ;)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>