Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal

Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal

The lowest stack height: The Zero cleat positions your foot closer to the top of the spindle for improved power transfer. Unbeatable cornering clearance: The thin pedal profile of the zero lets you power through corners where your rivals coast. Large, stable pedalling platform: The Zero pedal system provides the same solid connection as conventional single-sided pedals, but with Speedplay's unique, inverted design the cleat provides the platform once the cleat is engaged. Easy maintenance: A built-in grease port for easy bearing lubrication. True locking mechanism: The Zero's locking mechanism does not rely on spring tension for security, so entering and exiting Zero pedals is easy, but unintended release is virtually impossible
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Review 1 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soupie
from Kuwait
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Versatile

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
very easy to put on and easy to clip shoes in and out with a bit of rotating motion. Quite light as well
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brumbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just like Ronseal

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, best connection
Cons: they make me want to keep buying more bikes
Just like Ronseal. I own 5 bikes every one bar my folding Tern has them. The Tern has Deore XTR pedals.
Speed plays do exactly what they say they will.
They're dead easy to get in and out of. The temptation is to make it hard. It's just a question of stamp down and you're in.
Once you're in you'll notice the feeling of never being so well connected to a bike ever.
If all else fails, they will start many a conversation.
Just order them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LtBanzai
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to engage
Cons: Expensive
- easy to engage and disengage, any angle, don't have to flip the pedal.
- tighly fit to cleat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fatmancycling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Expensive but worth it

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I got these as I have knee problems since getting them I've done over 1000 miles including a 121 mile ride and my knees are better than ever.
Only problem is getting into them since I used ultregra pedals for the last 2 years but getting the hang of it now not speedplays fault just old habits die hard.
15 degrees float was a bit much but very easily adjusted with a screwdriver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cjsmifff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Been using spds on my road bike, replaced them with these speedplay pedals, love them! Lighter just as easy to clip into and knee friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spud1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent pedals, easy to fit and set up of cleats. Plenty of float if you like that sort of thing, although I have tightened mine up to reduce the float
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best! But ...

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, highly adjustable
Cons: Expensive, initially tricky to engage
Bike fit:
The reason I switched to Speedplay Zeros was due to bike fit. Campy has a very narrow Q-factor and it caused discomfort in my hips and the outer edges of my feet were 'cramping'. Moved the Look Keo cleats as close as possible towards the pedals and the shoes away from the pedals didn't help. So my bike fitter @ Loue Bicycles suggested I try SpeedPlay Zeros.
From a bike fit perspective, the level of adjustments offered by Speedplay (at a cost) are second to none (fore-aft, spindle length, etc.). By using the 59mm spindle & fore-aft extender plates, I am able to find a comfortable fit. My hips are no longer complaining and after giving more float to my right foot during a ride my feet are not complaining. And because of the longer spindle and float adjustments, my heels are not hitting the chain stays anymore! My feet has to take some time to adjust to the new stance, so too my sub-conscious has to adjust to the new setup (like new way to clip in). These pedals need patience & time to adjust to get the right fit & feel.
Usage:
I have been using my Zeros on commuting and regular Sunday rides. Comparing to the Look Keo 2 Max pedals, these Speedplay Zero pedals have a very different feel. Clipping in is very different too. With the Look Keos, when you get on, you need to clip in first then push off. Then you clip in the other foot. With SpeedPlays, you just need to step on (don't have to be clipped in but it's better) and push off. As long as the pedal body is within the cleat it will clip in once you start pedalling. Due to habit, I still look down to clip the other foot in. But it's not really needed. As long as my sub-conscious guides my foot to the pedal, I just step on.
My pedalling seems to have improved. It's smoother and heels are dropping down a bit more.
The dual-sided entry helps a lot. Especially when you try to push off at a traffic junction. With the Look Keos, the pedals have to hang vertically before you can clip in. Also, it's hard to pedal when the shoe is resting on the underside of the Look Keos (very slippery). With the Speedplays, I just need to ensure the pedal is within the cleat and start riding. It wouldn't slip out even if it's not clipped in. Push down on the down stroke and it should clip in.
When you are using Speedplays, the Keep On Kovers cleat covers are a must. These are a real time saver and cleats saver as the covers are always there. No need to take them off & put them on! No more looking for cleat covers! You can get off the bike and start walking.
I am so happy with these pedals that I have to get another pair for the other bike :(
Lastly, before you get a pair of Speedplay, make sure your shoes are compatible. Otherwise, you need to get different snap shims or a new pair of shoes.
For all the good things about Speedplay Zeros, there are always the downsides/cons:
1) Parts are expansive.
2) Need regular maintenance.
3) Need to dry-lube the cleats.
4) Cleat covers are a must.
5) Not all shoes are compatible. Need to check with Speedplay before buying.
6) Need patience to dial in for the perfect fit.
7) My bike looks strange with these lollipop pedals. Not so traditional .
8) I have to get another pair for the other bike!
Pros:
1) High level of adjustments (added cost).
2) Different spindle length (available separately).
3) You can set +/-15deg of float.
4) You can adjust the float on the fly.
5) Able to get the achieve perfect fit.
6) Smoother pedalling.
7) Dual-sided entry.
BTW, I have used these pedals before switching over to Speedplay Zeros:
1) Pedals with toe clips & leather straps
2) Look Keo Easy
3) Look Keo 2 Max
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pedro1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Speedplay Zero Pedals

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Shimano & Look systems are both fine, however Speedplay pedals wear better, are more secure & easy to disengage from, & offer double sided entry, which is a major bonus if your struggling through heavy city traffic, clipping & unclipping every 100 meters.
Perfect for both racing & casual riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ArsenalJohnno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant!!

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I recently purchased my first track bike which of course is a fixed wheel. Having never ridden a fixie before I needed a pedal that would allow me to engage and disengage very quickly whilst zipping around town. The speedplay zero pedals worked a treat.
This item requires some assembling but don't be deterred they are very easy to assemble even for those who aren't very mechanically minded. I only have one small quibble, unlike my previous pedals these require frequent maintenance to ensure they keep running well. Which isn't a big problem at all just a regular clean and a few drops of dry oil to ensure everything keeps running as faultless as the day you took them out of the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lzshf3
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy first clipless pedals

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Thought I'd get some clipless pedals and these work a treat. Takes a while to get it dialed in but worth while spending the time doing so. The cleats are quite difficult to engage at first (it could just be me not being used to clipless) but once you break them in after a few weeks, it's easy as pie.
Works on both 3 and 2 pin shoes and all screws and shims are provided to allow compatibility with most shoes (I've got a pair of Sidi).
The adjustable float is handy for me as a beginner and a very easy to adjust my riding to accommodate these.
I recommend these and bought the cleat covers as well. Evans delivery was quick and efficient as always too. The pedals themselves look like they'll last a fair while and the cleats seem equally well made although I have heard that they don't last that long but so far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andyb56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Pain to setup - But once done amazing!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I've been using Shimano SPD's for just under a year knowing that I was going to upgrade them soon. I was swaying between two pedals Campagnolo (which you can't get at Evans) and the Speedplay Zero pedal to fit to my Eddy Merckx EMX-1. In the end I ended up going for the Speedplay Zero, hearing just how good they were for getting in and out of and for the amount of float that you could get. All of it is true, this morning I did my first ride on them in less than a mile I hated them came back and tweaked them again, once that was done, I did an hour of riding on a 2k circuit, which has a lot of stop/start on it, knowing full well that I was going to have to get in and out of the pedal a lot, all I can say is that comparatively to the Shimano pedal I have been using for a year now it is way easier, an absolute dream to get in and out of.
It would be nice if Evans offered a shoe which was already set up for Speedplay's, like the Sidi shoes, for example, then you wouldn't have to fit the extra plate, still I have to say I love my Specialized shoes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRosa
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great pedal for experienced cyclists.

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not for beginners
I like Speedplay pedals (having moved from Time) and bought these for my wife as her first set of clipless pedals.
I like them because they are double sided, easy to clip into and fully adjustable for the amount of float, position, etc.
Unfortunately, my wife is a beginner, lighter than me and found clipping in & out to be just too difficult for her despite various adjustments. We swapped her to the Shimano SPD-SLs that came with the bike and all is well.
In hindsight, we should maybe have gone for a pair of the 'Light Action' Speedplays instead?
These are great pedals but maybe best suited to experienced clipless pedal users only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sport
from Merseyside
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Zero's

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The systmen is based around a cleat that is a circlip that clamps around the pedal & is incredibly ingenious !
You get PLENTY of rotational movement which can be adjusted down to none.
Getting in them: If your Look/Time user used to a front lip with which you've got to effectively push forward/down, CEPT with these ITS: push down-then-twist out though you dont have twist-out all the time.
I've had mine now for around 8 months & still have trouble a bit of trouble on the entry @ times... Once you get the sideways placement of the cleat sorted (this is great BTW & a big selling point) - the other Rotational movement is just MASSIVE so much in fact you'll be hitting the cranks and twisting the ankle when its away from the cranks arm..(adjustment ESSENTIAL)
The movement has not got any feeling behind it; no spring to move you back to a centre position. Can be disconcerting 1stly yet it really is the real deal.
Setting them up is not that hard really; you've a base plate which has snap on plates to 'form' to the sole of your shoe - this is then screwed to the sole then; the yellow/bronze cleat screws to this - screw the 8x screws to '2 turns' (you'll feel the little bumps)
Its a professional pedal + the ability to 'exact' your position with your foot to pedal that makes the SOO popular - movement or not! ;)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BrightonTRI
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Disaster!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, very fickle to use, vulnerable to dirt ingress
I have just had my dream bike delivered and it was a custom build Trek Madone 5.5... Having done lots of research and read lots of reviews, I decided to try out the Speedplay Zero stainless pedal system.
To look at, these pedals are lovely, and light, which made me smile, but when I took the cleats out of the box, I very quickly realized that I may have made a mistake. The cleat system is precision made, but complex, and prone to mal-adjustment, vulnerable to dirt ingress and needs regular cleaning and lubrication, as well as expensive torque wrenches to make sure the mounting screws are at just the right tension!
I am an experienced Aircraft engineer, and I spent about 3 hours reading the instructions and carefully assembling the cleats. I followed the complicated instructions implicitly, and fitted them to my shoes.
Having just had my first test ride with the new pedal system, I can honestly say that these pedals are an absolute nightmare to get in to! Getting out is as easy as any other pedal system but I found at times, it was near impossible to clip in!
The cleats are perfectly adjusted and lubricated, but this didn't matter!
I spent about £135.00 on these and I really wish I hadn't!
Now I have to spend another £100 or so on a set of new Look Keo's which work perfectly on my old bike.
Trust me... save your money, and don't be tempted by the hype!
VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
identikit
London
 
Please wait while more information about identikit is loaded.
Additional information about identikit could not be loaded.
Posted October 19, 2011
Getting into brand new Speedplays can be an issue if you are a light rider, i.e. under 70kgs. Also the metal clip does 'wear-in' and becomes easier to clip into. Infact when I buy new cleats (once every 8 months, try that with any other system) I keep the old clip because it is worn in.
Having to put some dry lube onto the cleat every month is a minor irritation and you should be replacing the grease inside the pedals every few months, as with any other pedal system. Having 0-15 degrees of fully adjustable float, the lowest stack height and low weight is the payoff.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rupertbear
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great pedals

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good for knees
Cons: Expensive
I changed to these pedals as I was having some trouble with my knees when using SPD-SL pedals. Since changing the pain has gone. These are also great pedals in their own right. A pleasure to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveF
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: initially tricky to engage
Have been using zero pedals for a couple of weeks now. Overall a good pedal / cleat, especially the adjustable float. I did not experience the 'pedalling on ice' sensation that many other reviewers noted. The only problems i've experienced is locating & sometimes engaging the cleat to pedal, you need to regularly apply a dry lube to the cleat to prevent this.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Speedplay Zero Stainless Steel Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Museeuw
from Copenhagen, Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Perfect!

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Using Speedplay pedals is a pricy experience, however, I found it worth the money upgrading to Speedplay from the good old Look system. With regards to the cleats I have never had a more comfortable "grip" of the pedal. And then they just look nice :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.