Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal

Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal

The lowest stack height: The Zero cleat positions your foot closer to the top of the spindle for improved power transfer. Unbeatable cornering clearance: The thin pedal profile of the zero lets you power through corners where your rivals coast. Large, stable pedalling platform: The Zero pedal system provides the same solid connection as conventional single-sided pedals, but with Speedplay's unique, inverted design the cleat provides the platform once the cleat is engaged. Easy maintenance: A built-in grease port for easy bearing lubrication. True locking mechanism: The Zero's locking mechanism does not rely on spring tension for security, so entering and exiting Zero pedals is easy, but unintended release is virtually impossible
Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Review 1 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noje
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Worth the extra

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I had reservations about these pedals the main reason was the costs and the fact they looked so small! However these are fantastic very easy to clip into and out of. would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThreeCs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
First time using these type of pedals and they're amazing!
It does take a while to get clipped in, they were really stiff to start and I needed to spend some time just clipping in and out but it's worth it. Feels like your feet are floating and it's really useful being able to limit the amount your foot moves side to side.
I wold definitely recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powlo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best pedals on the market

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Briliant pedals, everyone else will be clipping in as your off cycling, the beauty of these pedals is they are so easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peteacher7075
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top product, but a little difficult to assemble

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
excellent product however they are difficult to assemble, so i poped into my local evans store and they where very happy to help assemble them for my. They can be a little diffiecult to get on at first just make sure you apply lubrication before every ride. I use simple cheap silicon spray and that works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suds3223
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Brilliant

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Brilliant. Can't fault them. Lightweight and mega-reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bernard4385
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Different

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Really like these pedals as unlike all the other makes there isnt a right way or wrong way to click into them. I like the feed back to you feet as well with only the slight problem of unclipping in a hurry that sometimes catches you out. Good product
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sunburn
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Speedplays are AWESOME! Other than the cleat wear.

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, double sided entry, float adjustability
Cons: Expensive, cleat wear is a concern, limited heel-in float adjustability due to spindle
Double sided entry!
No more fumbling to get clip in, YES!
Traffic junctions are no longer death traps that it was when I was on a single-sided entry system.
But then, there are the cleats...
My cleats are only a few rides old, and they are starting to show some wear from my frequent foot down at traffic junctions and very minimal walking (abt 30m per ride).
I am most concerned about the 4 Philips screws' head rather then the 'bruising' on metal plate itself.
I am going to try applying a layer of Shoe Goo on the surface of the cleats and see how it goes. If that fails, I may have to get a pair of "KEEP ON CLEAT COVERS For Speedplay", these are special cleat covers that you attach and ride with them as well.
So far, walking on slightly sandy paths has not caused any clipping in/out issues.
I should mention that these are REALLY hard to clip in when they are new. And I do mean really hard as in 'almost impossibly hard'. I was getting frustrated getting them to clip in (I weigh 72kg), and wondered if I had made a right choice to switch from SPD-SL.
But keep on it, I spent a whole hour in the carpark JUST clipping and unclipping to break them in. Now, they are effortless and a breeze to clip in.
Clipping out though, still requires a conscious heel-out effort, even with my heel out float set to almost zero, I have no accidental releases so far. But then again, I am just a recreational weekend rider.
I wished the pedal spindle length that came with these pedals was a bit longer. The Q factor is too small for me to setup more heel-in float which I prefer (I have minor duck feet), setting a bigger heel-in float will knock my foot against the crank arms, chain stays and chains. But I can live with a few degree less then my preference.
To sum it up, Speedplay system has the ease of clipping in (comparable to MTB SPD stomp-and-go system) and a large cleat-pedal contact surface for power transfer and comfort. It has a large heel-out and limited heel-in (due to spindle length) float adjustments. They may be expensive, but they are certainly worth getting.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mchua9999
from Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dual sided road pedals

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: high maintenance
I bought this after doing a lot of research on the internet. It costs significantly less than the stainless steel version and the weight penalty is negligible, I spent the difference on better shoes. I found it easy to clip into and out of after less than a 100 miles. The fact that you don't have to look down while you clip in because it's dual sided is a huge bonus for anyone who are new to clipless pedals. The high degree float is also nice, you can customize this pedal to a higher degree than any other pedal system out there.
The only downside is that you have to lube the cleat with a dry teflon based lube every other ride or it becomes hard to clip into. The pedals also need to be lubed every 500 miles, so this necessitates the purchase of a grease gun as well. It's also pretty hard to walk around in, but I guess this is true for all road bike cleat systems.
Overall I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve100
from Australia

Great pedals

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Tricky to install cleats, but once set up have been absolutely loving these pedals. They give my foot the greatest freedom to find their natural position without hurting my knee. And when I felt that one side had too much float it was extremely easy to adjust.
Now just waiting to see how long the cleats last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fisty
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I have used Speedplay for a few years now and am still loving the features they offer over Look, Time, Shimano etc...lower stack height, dual sided entry, better cornering clearance and adjustable float. I have converted many of my mates to Speedplay...if you can ride a slightly smaller platform pedal without hot-spotting you will love these!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve7
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product and easy to use

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is my first speedplays. Initailly difficult to engage due to tightness of cleat and different entry style. However, applying a bit of dry lube and once you get used to them they are easy to engage. The bonus is that you can engage on either side of the pedal.
Whilst pedal area is small (lollipop style) no issues as it provides a stable contact/platform and power transfer through pedal stroke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RatsB
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals!

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having finally decided that I needed something more roadie worthy than my egg-beaters, I decided to go for Speedplay's as I'd heard they were extremely easy to adjust the float. They are, and after an hour spent at the local track practising clipping in and out, I felt ready to hit the roads. I've yet to have a 'clipless moment' with 'em and no signs yet of any knee problems. Expensive, yes, but stable, easy to set-up and adjust and easy to get into and out of. The only grumble is that they don't come with the cleat covers which are an essential purchase IMO.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puckoon
from west yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedal system

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Speedplay Zero pedal system is a very flexable and secure system. But the clip in the cleat is very stiff for the first few weeks so it requires alot of pressure on the pedal to snap in and your not sure if the shoe is in the right location on the pedal, making it a slow and trick clip in.
Now after four weeks of use the clip in has become easier and the routine of locating the pedal has become second nature now making it a fast and easy system. I would recommend the cleat covers to reduce the wear on the cleats as they are more expensive than other systems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KingKobra
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best pedals yet

PostedMay 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've been through a few of the available pedals over the last couple of years, SPD on my mountain bike are perfect, SPD on road bike ok, but not ideal, so changed to single sided Keo's. Didn't like those (used to double sided entry), so tried the Speedplay Zeros. Initial outlay is expensive, but the pedals are completely serviceable, and the cleats should last longer than the plastic cleats of other makes. Cleats are included.
Double sided entry works a treat, although entry is a little stiff for the first few attempts, but this soon loosens up. Cleats need a spot of dry lube every two or three rides to keep them supple, and check the bolts every now and then.
Very happy with pedals so far, and so are my knees.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bg1970
from Basingstoke
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These are my first clip less peddles so can not compare them with others. Decided on them after reading good reviews and have not been disappointed. Watched a demo on youtube for fitting the cleats. Had problems clipping in and out at first the harder I tried the more impossible it seemed to get. I found a little WD 40 helped (even though I know it's against the law to use WD 40 on a bike). After 2 months daily commute I have no complaints they are a quality peddle system and I now clip in and out of them effortlessly.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfbiker
from Sydney Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Speedplay Zero

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Just replaced my old pedals with the Speedplays. So easy to install, fabulous feel when riding. Glad I made the move.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.