Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal

Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal

The lowest stack height: The Zero cleat positions your foot closer to the top of the spindle for improved power transfer. Unbeatable cornering clearance: The thin pedal profile of the zero lets you power through corners where your rivals coast. Large, stable pedalling platform: The Zero pedal system provides the same solid connection as conventional single-sided pedals, but with Speedplay's unique, inverted design the cleat provides the platform once the cleat is engaged. Easy maintenance: A built-in grease port for easy bearing lubrication. True locking mechanism: The Zero's locking mechanism does not rely on spring tension for security, so entering and exiting Zero pedals is easy, but unintended release is virtually impossible
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 31Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Review 1 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidenhead

No nonsense clip less pedals for everyone

Posted27 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I have used Speed play pedals for many years and continue to come back to them as they are so great. Easy clip in action, great clearance when cornering, great float adjustability and all round comfort. Highly recommend them to riders of any ability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good.

Posted22 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
I'm going through the breaking in period and also getting used to the clip-in technique but so far so good.
I found clipping out of Shimano 6700 pedals a little jarring on my knees and these are much smoother.
Clipping in requires rotating the heel outward a few degrees before the cleat engages the pedal.
As a hangover from using Look and Shimano I keep scuffing my foot over the top of the pedal, rather than stomping down on it. I'll get used to it. At the moment though it's taking a few goes to clip in.
When I first got the pedals it was nearly impossible to clip in. I have since greased the cleats and metal bow ties on the pedal. I also used a flat edge to work the springs in in the cleats 20-30 times to expedite the breaking in. This and a few days of commuting seems to have worn them in and they're much easier to use.
I'm using the supplied adapter plates to mount the cleats on my Bont Vaypor+. I'm able to get a position that I just couldn't with Shimano. I'm hoping this new position will help alleviate some Achilles pain that came on earlier in the year.
I recommend you also get the cafe covers for any walking about in the cleats. They are delicate and slippery in the wet. Cleat covers are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Luxumbourg
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Love these pedals

Posted19 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The look of these pedals caught my attention initially, but once I tried them I knew they were right for me.
Although walking takes a bit of getting used to, compared to normal cleats, the benefits far outway this drawback. The feeling of total control throughout the pedal-stroke is unmatched - there is never any worry of a foot slipping out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great pedals, if quite different from other brands

Posted01 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Take a little getting used to. Engaging pedals is a little different and requires more definite pressure. However this improves quickly. Disengaging is much easier than other pedals e.g. Shimano.
Setting up is straightforward and adjustable float is a great feature, as is the double sided nature of the pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super pedal

Posted25 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, click in on both sides, big float
The best pedal i have tried.
positiv side: click in on both sides
big float
low weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Professional mechanics only!

Posted14 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, require professional installation
My previous pair of speedplay were installed for me by my local shop. Not realising the difficulties associated with these pedals, and as someone who confidently changes headsets, bottom brackets and replaces cassettes, I would expect to be able to install pedal cleats without too much hassle. Having followed instructions carefully, I cannot engage the left pedal at all. The shoes are stated by Speedplay as being compatible with the factory installed shims but I've just spent two hours making various adjustments to screw tightness and lubricating which is the only advice speedplay give, all to absolutely no avail. I have not once been successful in engaging my left shoe. Presumably since I've now noticeably worn the outside of the cleats due to numerous failed attempts to engage I won't even be able to get a refund on the pedals. It is possible that quality control is the problem so you might get lucky and buy a pair that work but given that forums are full of similar problems there does seem an above reasonable chance that you will be very very frustrated!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

these are a must

Posted29 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
came to road biking after many years off road and with bad hips. The flexibility provided by these pedals and cleats are excellent.....and they look cool!
I cannot comment on wear on the cleats as have only had them for a couple of months but definitely buy the coffee shop covers as they keep them both dirt, wear and clog free.
Don't buy the speedplay grease gun for £40 there are others available that do the job just as well for under half the price....dare i say try amazon if evans don't have an alternative!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and convenient

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I love these pedals. They are comfortable to use and give an excellent range of motion. They are hard to clip in at first and you need, and are meant to use dry lube on the cleats to help with this and to keep the parts in a good working order. Once you get used to using them you can clip in so easily you don't even need to look down. Just step on and go.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One word - EXCELLENT

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Light, low stack height, cleats you can take more than 2 steps in, loads of float adjustment :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Needed a second pair to put on my full-time trainer bike and Speedplay Zeros have been my pedal of choice for several years. Easy on the knees and highly adjustable.
These are the entry level, so heavier, but otherwise no different than the spiffy titanium ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Excellent road pedal

Posted08 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Lightweight pedal system with plenty of float.
Relatively easy to setup (especially if you follow the videos on the Speedplay website), the main difference to the feel for Look style systems is the amount of float; there's loads more - this can be dialled down if desired but my knees felt better with it.
Remember to lube the cleats on your shoes for easy clip-in action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Spot on

Posted02 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Took a little while to get used to putting my feet in flat. But after a couple of rides provided great pull and push with flex to ease on the Knees .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Some getting used to, but top kit!

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the money, you'd hope these would be top class... And of course they are. If you're used to, say, LOOK clip ins, these will take some getting used to as the clip in requires a bit more effort at first. But it's a really reassuring click and soon gets easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal blue

Posted05 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal best pedal for all kinds of riding, the celest color is a bit strange , would recoment black instead of any color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

The first few days are painful but then it's great

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these to replace my Shimano cleats.
I'm working in Italy so I immediately took my bike to Italy (using it for daily commute) and had no other option but to make the pedals work - had it not been for this I might have reverted back to Shimano during the first week but this was not an option.
I could not cleat my left leg for two days and for the first week it was difficult to get the cleating right.
Now, after 2 weeks, these pedals are great - I can cleat consistently and without looking down - they are far easier to cleat than Shimanos, it is possible to just stomp on the pedal and go.
- Power transfer is excellent,
- easy adjustment of everything
- stomp and go
- super light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Worth the extra

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I had reservations about these pedals the main reason was the costs and the fact they looked so small! However these are fantastic very easy to clip into and out of. would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent Product!

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
First time using these type of pedals and they're amazing!
It does take a while to get clipped in, they were really stiff to start and I needed to spend some time just clipping in and out but it's worth it. Feels like your feet are floating and it's really useful being able to limit the amount your foot moves side to side.
I wold definitely recommend this product to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best pedals on the market

Posted02 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Briliant pedals, everyone else will be clipping in as your off cycling, the beauty of these pedals is they are so easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top product, but a little difficult to assemble

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
excellent product however they are difficult to assemble, so i poped into my local evans store and they where very happy to help assemble them for my. They can be a little diffiecult to get on at first just make sure you apply lubrication before every ride. I use simple cheap silicon spray and that works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Speedplay Zero Chromoly Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Brilliant

Posted27 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Brilliant. Can't fault them. Lightweight and mega-reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>