Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer

Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer

The patent pending sensor unit combines the speed and cadence sensors into one sleek, reliable piece that mounts on the chainstay. The FlexTight bracket fits virtually all stems and handlebars. Half a million times faster than other wireless systems. Step up your cyclocomputer performance. Step up your personal performance.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ScottyBlue76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great Product

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great Product although takes abit to get used to settings, Think a bit expensive for what it is tho as there is others that work just aswell for less
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philj904
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent piece of kit

Posted03 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have this set up on my TT bike which is currently on my turbo and it is brilliant. It has everything you need from a bike computer, speed, distance and most importantly, cadence. It is easy to read, sits nicely on the stem and unlike other computers that fit on TT bikes you can have it facing the correct way.
If you're going to invest a computer for under £100 then buy this as you won't be dissapointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Serve me well

Posted11 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product, have all the function that I need. Single sensor is great without having to find place for 2 sensor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeGeek
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great computer but needed replacing

Posted10 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love this computer, it's got a load of simple-to-use basic features and more advanced features too. Unfortunately I managed to loose the cadence magnet (attached to the crank by a cable tie) and I'm struggling to find anyone who stocks replacements - looks like I'll have to order it online or replace it with a generic magnet.
After I had this for around 6 months the sensor unit snapped off (not quite sure how) so I took it into Evans and they replaced it with a new one. I really enjoy the information I get from this computer - particularly the cadence alarm. I aim to ride around 115 rpm so I've got alarms set up to beep at me any time I go above 118 or below 112. I've got used to the double-beep telling me I'm going too fast and the single beep telling me I'm going too slow.
AFAIK The theory of cadence measuring is that your cadence (speed of your peddles turning) should be constant regardless of your speed therefore if your cadence is too fast then you need to change to a harder gear to maintain the same speed at your intended cadence and if your cadence is too slow then you need to change to an easier gear. Once I got into this mindset I found I was using my full range of gears much more effectively and it's made a massive difference to my cycling. Now if I want to speed up I don't peddle faster, I move to a harder gear and keep my cadence the same, therefore working slightly harder, before I would peddle faster to go faster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cannonball
from Bucks
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good

Posted17 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, reliable, easy to set up
Cons: Expensive
Having set up lots of computers in the past, I found this very easy to fit, only problem I found was that having short cranks and fluted chainstays, locating the cadence sensor was fidly.
The computer works brilliantly no problems with operating the buttons at speed and it sits nicely on my stem.
Recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cranoss
from Canberra Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye VC wireless

Posted01 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
What can I say but this computer does everything that the blurb trying to sell it says, so I'm happy.
Easy to program, nice slim style which looks good on the stem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arthur5011
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Stuff

Posted14 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great Stuff indeed, i can monitor my candence and speed at the same time. however, the setting is quite complicated and tricky to me..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kkzfish
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good one

Posted23 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It is really a good computer and easy to use. It gives you speed and candance and the wireless means that it takes only 10 minutes to fully set up. But the sensor is not really tied by using the provied nylon ties and need to be adjust sometimes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shamrock1404
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

goood,but...

Posted22 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
i find it hard to use the buttons and it isn't steady on its base...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spenz
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Functional but not great

Posted06 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Good product if you are considering a mid level computer and not a full fledged Garmin. Display is small and may be hard to read when riding in a peloton. Buttons are too stiff and small, also hard to press when you are riding. Product no longer made in Japan. Otherwise very functional and the cadence meter is good for training with audible alarms which can be pre-set.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye VC Wireless Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Troll
from Jnb, South Africa
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent Buy!!

Posted27 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and easy to use. Download the quick start from the Cateye site to help with setting up the head unit. Neat and compact design and I really liked that the speed and cadence sensors are integrated into 1 unit that mounts on the on the chainstay and that the head unit mounts on either the bars or stem. Only slight drawback is that you cannot view distance covered and time elapse on 1 screen but not a huge issue.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.