Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit

Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Review 1 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwarf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Usual Clarks quality and good range of colours. All parts included to change cables.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
soup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Everything required supplied.

Posted10 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: ''plastic' end caps.
These are VERY easy to fit. This set lost a star as the little end caps to the cables didn't seem to hold on crimping (I assume they are plastic coated 'metal') and I ended up super gluing them on (this should not only keep the cap on but should stop the ends of the strands which make up the wires unraveling). These cables seem strong enough (time will tell), and as brake set-ups are adjustable (to allow for Block wear) can't see stretch being a problem..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian0568
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Does what's expected

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The kit contains everything needed including end caps to stop the cables fraying and they work fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HankC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's hard to get excited about brake cables......

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This cable set seems pretty responsive to me. Time will tell though i suppose. I'm sorry that this review is a bit vague. I'm not sure what a brake cable would need to do to get 5 stars. Maybe last forever and never stretch?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alsothings
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

does what it says on the tin

Posted27 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used this cable kit with a early 90 road bike and similar vintage shimano half 105/half 600 groupset (down tube shifters). A few weeks later everything is doing nicely. Noappreciable difference from the Shimano branded stuff except the lower price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Topshiner

Tough

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality stainless steel cables that come with all the little bits you need to make it look professional.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harjman
from East Berkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and Attractive

Posted28 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, accessories
I liked the colour options as I was looking for red cable covers. The cables were easy to fit and appear to be good quality. They come with a good selection of end covers available too, so I could finish off the fit with the end cap colour suitable for my bike; nice little touch.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gowergold
from epsom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted17 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
So far these cables have been good. The only gripe I have is the metal ferrules. They don't fit snuggly and securely on the outer cable. Apart from that they have been fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.