Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit

Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit

Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Review 1 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JimB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Seems like standard fair quality bike cable.

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
A convenient package, but second to going into a local shop and buying the cable you need (inner and outer) neatly cut with the right tool to the correct length for the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwarf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Everything needed to change over cables. Good value and choice of colours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krazymario
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

Posted25 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
For the money you cant go wrong - good length outer housing, wasn't too bad to cut down to size, came with a pack of 6 ends too, more than enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrcatmint
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money!

Posted01 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, price
Was easy to assemble and cut cables. Good replacement for old cables.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goshi
Country:Bulgaria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Regular change of cable and housing is recommended for smooth gear operation. THis kit has everything you need and reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ankaradan
Country:Turkey
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

gear cables

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
these are an economic replacement for old sticking cables
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faruk23
Country:Bosnia and Herzegovina
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great product.

Posted02 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got the Red, was a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews, but was proven wrong, the colour is absolutely spot on and nice and garish against my black frame. Was extremely easy to cut and run the cable through, overall very impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fetep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent item-easy to use and good quality

Posted30 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This product is lightweight ,durable and strong. It comes with good quality outer cabling and strong cable ends for neatness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guigsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality replacement gear cable kit

Posted04 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, loads left spare
I'm getting back into mountain biking and have recovered by old Kona from storage. Both gear shifts (Shimano) were totally jammed solid when I first tried it, but a thorough soaking of all moving parts in WD40 freed it up a little. I was still having serious issues shifting to the smaller cogs, the dérailleurs just weren't springing back. I decided that a complete strip-down and re-build would be a good idea, so I ordered a new set of cables and outers.
It turns out that the shifters were fine. The front and rear dérailleurs had loads of caked in and dried up grease, but their operation was still reasonably smooth (and now they are sparkly clean again). The issue was my old cables had pretty much rusted solid into the outers. Moving them was seriously hard work...
When fitting the new cable set, I ended up cutting the outers with a hack-saw with a metal cutting blade. The outers have steel strands in them, making it fiddly as they catch the blade, but each cut took a couple of minutes to get something reasonably clean. Total time for re-fit and deep clean was about 2 hours, but my gear shifts are now as good as new.
After I had finished I had about 1.5m of outer left (I have bare cables along the top tube) and I'd cut off about 1m off the the cable to the rear dérailleur and even more off the front. I'd used all 10 of the outer terminating 'nubs' (or whatever they are called) and used both the cable crimps. A more than generous amount for a complete overhaul. Going to buy the brake cable kit next...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Topshiner

Just right

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality cables in stainless steel. They come with all the little bits you need like cable ends and sleve ends. And there is plenty of outer cable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lowrider
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
good value cables that do the job. The choice of cable outers are also a bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best cable ever!!

Posted09 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
ive tried a few cables now (shimano, goodridge etc) but these are the best by far. the last set i did 3000miles of riding through mud and rain the lot and they were still pretty much perfect except a bit of rust near the top so i decided to replace them. they never seem to start to stick and are pretty smooth and for the price are superb value, the only thing is they do stretch for the first 20miles or so of use so you do need a bit of adjustment untill theyve stretched
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Autotronix
from Dublin. Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good cable. Lots of lenght. Will buy goods here again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clarks S/S Universal Front and Rear Gear Cable Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gowergold
from epsom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted17 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
All good so far. Only gripe (as with the brake cables) is the metal ferrules do not fit securely or snug and are prone to falling off while you are fitting the outer. Plastic ones are better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.