Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather

MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Review 1 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brian0
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

do their job, look good

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good for what they are - they stop your feet from moving around on the pedals and look good too. Don't expect to gain any benefits on the up-stroke; for that you'll need toe clips with straps for that
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
7oakstourer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Provides a small but useful boost to pedal force

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: fitting may be tricky
I wanted to boost my pedal power for long distance touring on my Dawes hybrid, but did not want the hassle of special shoes and clipping in. I have found these allow me to pull upwards with a reasonable force, maybe giving me an extra 10% or so on uphill sections, and often avoiding too early a change down of gears. There is some play in the metal as you pull upwards, which is to be expected as there is no strap with these. However the metal is quite stiff and I soon got used to this. The advantage is you can spin the pedal easily to either use or not use the clip. The only negative was that the locating holes did not line up with my pedals, so I had to resort to filing an oval hole in order to make them fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made toe clip.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these half clips to use on a commuter bike, when wearing business shoes. I'm very impressed; they are great. well made, comfortable, the leather protects my shoes and they aid pedaling in much the same way as conventional full toe clips do. A great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dotC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really enjoying these

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Someone recommended toe clips on my first road bike. I had a look around and liked the idea of half clips with protective leather.
I have been riding with them for a couple of weeks now and they are great! Slipping into them on take off can take a little getting used to, because the weight of the clip turns the pedal perpendicular to the ground, but you learn to flip the pedal within your first ride.
They really seem to have improved my peddling efficiency and make the pedal feel secure on my feet, whilst not restricting me if I need to take my foot out and touch the ground.
I was worried about sizing, but they fit my size 12 feet very comfortably.
The leather provides a little extra grip, looks cool on my vintage bike and does a good job of protecting my shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tdesve
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Vintage style guaranteed

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I should say that the look of my Schindelhauer Siegfried greatly improved with the MKS Half Toe... It fits perfectly with the Vintage style of my single speed bike. Installation is strait-forward and goes well with brooks saddle !
I really like the comfort it gives when ridding in Madrid where you often have to ride up and down in the small streets of the center.
In addition, delivery as been perfect !
Ride safely !
Thierry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zoarium
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good stuff

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Definitely help with the pedaling. More efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cathbikes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and use. Suits a wide range of shoes.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable and easy to use with off road running shoes and fashion shoes so handy if like me you cycle to get somewhere rather than as an end in itself. They don't mark smart shoes or pinch your feet. Quite pricey so I hope they last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TorontoMark
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works as expected, looks great

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
have been looking for these in the local LBS's and online in NA and had trouble finding them. finally decided to just go ahead and buy from UK.
these are great and functional pedals for a rider who's looking to get the security and familiarity of being clipped in while still being able to use leather formal shoes. i use these on my commuter and are perfect for days when i'm wearing work shoes that i don't want to get scuffed.
keeps the look of the bike clean and classy.
they're a little too expensive for what you get but unlike other bicycle parts, it's not a pile of cash that'll break you. perhaps could have made my own but i couldn't wait and didn't have the time so it has been worth it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarceloJM2
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Product ok but

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought a black, but they send me a brown one :(
Evans Cycles must correct the description of product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MKS Half Toe Clip Deep Section - with Leather
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Snowdonia
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A successful venture

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, makes for more efficient pedalling
When I added a Brompton to my cycle 'stable' earlier this year, it was all I hoped for save the inability to fit and benefit from conventional toe-clips and straps. After sixty years of cycling you don't realise how such things are taken for granted until their use is denied and your feet start to slip off the pedals. My purchase of a pair of MKS Half Toe Clips was made with this sole purpose in mind - to rectify this problem and at the same time retain the obvious benefit of the folding left pedal. There appeared to be insufficient space for the pedal to fold with a full size clip and strap, but I guessed that the more compact MKS clip might work. It does. The only difficulty arose from the fact that the Brompton pedal hinge leaves no room for a bolt head or retaining nut on the inside, but this was resolved by drilling two holes and countersinking them on the inside. Bolts with countersunk heads could them be used with nuts securing them on the outside. A friend dealt with the same problem by drilling holes and then tapping them to take the bolts; then filing off the excess bolt on the inside when the clip was mounted. Either way, the pedal folds with these excellent toe clips fitted, whilst the obvious advantage of being able to push forward as well as downward when pedalling is beyond description. I can only say to other Brompton owners - give them a try.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Silver27
Marsworth
 
Please wait while more information about Silver27 is loaded.
Additional information about Silver27 could not be loaded.
innovative
Posted March 8, 2011
I think that's an excellent review from the Old School! I had thought of designing shorter form clips as it's difficult to get one's toes in the longer ones while on the move - so pleased (but slightly annoyed from a failed Dragons' Den candidate perspective) that they have been invented and, on the evidence of this convincing review, are fit for purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)