Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals

Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals

Overall rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
145 out of 146(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Review 1 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philip67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

excellent value for money. Easy to use.

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these for my new road bike. This is the first time I have used SPD-SL pedals & found them really easy to adapt to. They provide a great platform & offer great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DH10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Slick and easy to use pedals

Posted01 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to use and look great. Good value for money, not the lightest but got these for touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neil63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent Pedals

Posted22 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The 105 pedals are a great price for excellent quality. Crisp engagement and confident feeling power transfer. The 105 is a great value for money group set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
guess24

Good. Worth the purchase

Posted21 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Does the job really well. Great power transfer. Well worth the purchase even for a newbie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigDave2735
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great Product

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased these over any others, as I have the 105 group set on my bike – I wanted it all to match. Worth the money and work extremely well with easy to adjust the tension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mcullus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Evans staff fitted the pedals to my bike which was helpful. Not more to say about pedals really... they work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JamesDN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great value and quality

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Price matched these with CRC and saved over £20! First time using SPD SL style and I love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firedaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

As you expect from a leading brand

Posted17 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These ar great pedals for a great price, I'm new to cleats and the tension adjustment is a great feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
hayleyk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

not what I was hoping for

Posted14 August 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
I've been cycling with spd's for years. I usually always get pedals that are 'double sided' in that I can clip my feet in on both sides. I was told these were weighted so would flip around to the right side, but this rarely happens. I end up slipping my foot off the pedal and have got lots of bruises and scratches up my calf as a result. They are really big, which is a hindrance more than anything, and I don't like them at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Artiaus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

value for money

Posted01 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Found this a good transition to avoid hot soles as i have moved from MTB cleats since my road journeys have lengthened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrapster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Great pedals

Posted01 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought to pair with Shimano R088 shoes. Good solid pedal, rotation much improved over stock pedals. Not the lightest but fine for my purposes. Pretty good looks too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Macintorsk
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

Posted14 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Not much to say really. They're what they're supposed to be I assume, I expected them to be flawless and that's what they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny2266
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good pair of pedals

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got these for my new road bike and they look good, the are well made and feel strong, they come with a pair of cleats which allows the foot to move a little on the pedal but still feel secure, nice and easy to clip into and to release. The only problem I found was that the screws were a bit too short to fit the cleats to my shoes but I just used my old screws which worked just fine, overall I'm very pleased with them and recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Corny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedal to foot interface.

Posted15 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is the first time I have used SPD SL pedals, previously I used SPD. The wider fitting gives a larger foot to pedal contact which should be good. Not too sure about the cleats as they are plastic while the SPD's are metal so might not stand up so well when the inevitable bike problems occur and it has to be pushed home. Just a word of warning, do NOT buy these in store as they are a lot more expensive, buy on line and save real money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charlesx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good

Posted11 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
good looking, fit well on my road bike. powerful pedal on all road condition
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bags11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Great product

Posted10 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
works as you would expect and is great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maltesers1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent first pedals

Posted04 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these as first pedals, easy to fit, do the job well, little heavy I would imagine for the more experienced riders but for me as a beginner they are fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish pedal, good value at the reduced price

Posted04 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These pedals have improved my riding performance and experience. Until now I'd only ridden with SPD pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BOBtheBIRO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted23 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Lightweight and easy to clip in and out of ideal as a first clipless pedal as they are so easy to use and adjust the release tension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony204
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design, comfortable

Posted21 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Amazing no nonsense road pedal. Well design, large contact area and very secure ten out of ten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>