Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"

Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"

Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Review 1 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pablo303
Country:Poland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sleek and stylish

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have bought these for my Trek District bike, mostly because they look nice and stylish and fit perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A4rider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best mudguards I've found

Posted07 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These are excellent, solid and sturdy mudguards. Was hard to find any full length guards to fit my Genesis Day One Alfine 8 because of the disc brakes but these fit perfectly. The front guards arms can easily attach to the mounts for the front pannier rack. I have the 45mm guards for 700x28c Marathon Schwalbes and no water and muck escapes. They look great too. Quality. Will be buying a 26" set for my Surly LHT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cadiremar
Country:Sweden
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
In short, it is a pair of stylish mudguards that protects adequately against spray in wet and slushy conditions. It doesn't have as much protection against side spray as more curved guards, but as I wanted these for a commuter they work just fine.
On the negative side they are rather expensive and can be pretty fragile if some care is not taken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owen86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smart and functional

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These crud catchers do their job and look good at the same time. Easy to fit and adjust.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
countthis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and well made. rear guard is noisy tho.

Posted16 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I like these mudguards - they've done a fine job of keeping me dry over the past few weeks, added next to no weight to my bike and they look pretty good. There are two gripes, all centred around the rear guard: 1. the support from the end of the mudguard is pretty much horizontal, so it doesn't do much to stop the guard bouncing up and down. when this happens it bumps against the tyre in a noisy fashion, which gets to me as i'm riding, it's nice to feel pretty silent when riding, and these mean i'm not whenever the surface is uneven.. 2. where the rear support connect to the seatpost it relies on clamping to stop it moving and has no end support. This enables you to adjust the distance from the tyre but also means that if the back wheel is knocked, the support slides forward and pulls the mudguard against the tyre. it's easy enough to readjust, i'd just rather i didn't have to..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jayseeyou

Great looking minimalist mud guards

Posted15 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these mud guards for my single speed commuter and I have been very happy with them so far. I wanted mud guards that didn't stand out or ruin the look of the bike. These have done the job, I bought the narrowest guard and it fits well with my all weather road tyres.
The only problem I found is that I managed to bend the front guard within the first week and it now seems to want to stay bent.
The fitting was a little tricky as the mounting wires were a little long for my frame. I could cut them but it just about fits without any modification.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mudguards

Posted10 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted a set of mud guards that were minimalist but kept me dry. These were great there're nice and light and fit well on my Felt QX. They look great too. May be a little more expensive than some plastic ones but worth the extra money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Agniechat17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good price

Posted07 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It makes a great accessory to a bike making it look really cool.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pabloo
Country:Slovakia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very good looking mudguards. Bought them to fit on Cannondale Quick CX Ultra and had to drill hole into front mudguard for headshock valve and into read one to fix to frame.
I'd prefer to come in whole black version not black/chrome so I sprayed some chrome parts with black paint. Bought 10cm wider version than the width of tyre and it seems to work great. I'm thinking about using some dampening between mudguards and bike frame now to reduce vibration noise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PeterOZ
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product but needs better screws

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Good product but the fixing screws for the front guard were too short so had to buy a longer one from the hardware store. Also the Phillips head screws on one of the arms started to strip but that may be because of screwdriver technique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dim55
Country:Lithuania
Age:35-44

Posted22 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
bought for Cube SL Cross, fits well, but took some time to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zyggy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

slick look but awkward fix

Posted23 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: scratch easily, wires need to be hacksawed shorter
Bought these mudguards as I wanted something that looked low profile and slick.
Only downsides are they scratch easily showing the silver aluminium under the black finish and they are a little fiddly to fix as the wires are about an inch or so too long and need a hacksaw to trim.
But they do their job fine and look superior to most mudguards of this type...just try not to scratch them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nomorenoise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

mud gaurds - but light

Posted15 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These mud gaurds fit fine on my Specialized Sirrus elite. They are light and they are mud gaurds what more can I say they seem to work fine.
Mine came missing the bolts pack but Evans sent another pack straight away - thanks to the guys at Evans - great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AllanR
from Cumbria
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Mixed bag

Posted02 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, hassle
It's a mixed bag really with these. Do I like them now they are on the bike? yep...very much so. They look by far the best mudguards I've ever seen (and that's coming from someone who tends to hate the look of the things).
The bad? well getting them on the bike. I ride a Genesis Croix de Fer, thus a cyclocross with discs. The first issue I hit was with the front disc caliper. After a good time trying to twist the stay around it, it wasn't going to have any of it so ended up taking the Dremel to it and chopping off one of the stays. Not the best solution for keeping it in one place, but with over tightening the mounting bolt on the top of the forks, and bending the right stay to counter the loss it seems nicely rigid still. Need to be a little weary with it in case I knock it, but most of the time its fine. Next problem was the rear stays which were far too long and kept catching on the frame. A visit to the Dremel again and problem solved. But it was quiet annoying so much extra work was involved. The plastic mounts on the rear stays also needed a little work with a knife to shave down so as not to catch on the frame and go in at a dodgy angle.
Over all, a lot of hassle to get on. But look utterly fantastic when on. So as said, a mixed bag, but they do make for very fun tinkering session for an hour or so.
And nice one Evans on the price match I got on them. First class as always :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spargonaut
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted15 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A well made product with a dark satin finish that doesn't stand out if you want a more discreet look. These mudguards were easy to fit, although the front and rear stays had to be put on the reverse to what was written in the instructions. It comes with an allen key but needed a spanner to fit the front mudguard on my bike. They look and feel sturdy with little movement or noise. I got the 45mm wide ones which were perfect for the 35mm tyres on my bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whizzer
from Hertfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Slim sexy looking muddies!

Posted14 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I chose these as I specifically didn't want ugly chunky mudguards impairing the elegant lines of my bike! But, aside from the beauty aspect I also needed then to be strong and not snap with the slightest provocation.
These fit the bill perfectly. Not only are they nice looking but they are strong and work brilliantly. They come with a massive amount of components to enable them to fit to your bike easily and a so slim when on you harldy notice them.
However...one niggle...the matt black paint scratches fairly easily. Fine if you like that weather beaten look!
Overall brilliant, very pleased indeed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miquel
from Barcelona
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect complement for my Cube Hooper bike

Posted26 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
You can think that commuting in Barcelona (good weather usually), mudguards are not needed, but if you need to reach the office with no stains on the shirt, and you need good quality and light weight mudguards, Curana could be a great solution!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2frogs
from Sydney, Australai
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good product

Posted27 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
A good product. Solid aluminium construction. Can be bent to fit around derailleurs etc.
Buy a mudguard size that is about 10mm greater than your bike's tyre size. The mudguard size, like tyre sizing, is the width of the product. So I bought a size 35 mudguard for a 32C tyre; as a result the mudguard doesn't really have enough coverage on the sides of the tyres.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RookieRoadie
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, but worth it

Posted19 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: plastic fixing at the rear
I had been searching long and hard for a set of mudguards to escape the dreaded stripe. However most that I came across were much too wide for the narrow clearances of my road bike, or would have spoilt the look somewhat. These fit the bill perfectly as stylish, functional way to stay dry on your bike. The only downside I have found is that the plastic fitting on the rear one (as opposed to metal tag riveted on the front one) meant that it was a bit tricky to tighten the brake assembly enough to stop it slipping without crushing the clip. The rear guard does occasionally rattle a bit when going over hard bumps (only one rear stay), but I suppose that's the price of a minimalist look. Overall a great, good quality product with only a couple of niggles to prevent it getting five stars.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Curana C-LITE Mudguards 28"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
olik
from wiltshire
Age:25-34
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nearly awesome

Posted16 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a product with some real potential, but a generic product like this is never going to fit everything.
Best looking mudguards by far, super stylish and super light. However, they wouldn't fit over or under the Mini V on the front of my Pompino, which meant I had to cut them short and reshape them.
The second problem I had was that the mudguard stay was so heavy it caused the mudguard to move a lot over bumps. I only got the 30mm wide guards which probably aren't as stiff as the wider ones, but a 4mm stainless rod stay is massive overkill for the guard and was the cause of the problem. To solve it I've bought some carbon fibre rod with a 6mm OD and a 4mm ID. I plan to chop the centres of the straight sections of the stays, leaving 20mm on each end to bond in a section of the CF tube, reducing the weight considerably and hopefully reducing the bounce.
I'll end up with some very functional, light weight and stylish mudguards, but at a price and quite an amount of hassle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>