Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper

Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Review 1 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Byakku

Fits in lovely in it's new home

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My current rear brake system had decided to give up the ghost, so needed replacing.
Picked this up as it a decent price. It's a nice black colour to fit in with the rest of the bike, which makes a nice change. It came with instructions on how to configure it for first use, and how to adjust the brakes so you've got some stopping ability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kevzep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good replacement

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used these to replace my cheap stock brakes on my Trek 1.2. They feel solid in construction and are better in braking. I feel more confident on the bike and may swap my rear one for this model. A very reasonable price too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spidercrab
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Staff suggested the wrong brake but refunded OK

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Classic 105 brake. Staff suggested the wrong one when I should have got a long reach on but Evans did refuned without any issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrapster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Great stopping power

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought front and rear 105s to replace the stock brakes on a Fuji Sportif 1.3. The front fitted fine, but I've had to return the rear and order an R650 as it has a longer drop than the 105. The front brake is great, an instantly apparent difference in braking, inspiring much more confidence on quick descents and just during general riding.
From what I can see the R650s are similar in performance, so am looking forward to fitting one on the rear.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flowjoe100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent caliper!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great upgrade for my trek 1.5, far far superior to the stock brakes that came with the bike. Not quite as good as the ultegra model I have put on the rear wheel but that is to be expected I suppose.
I nice feeling and reliable caliper, give it some consideration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CaptainChaos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano 105 Range - Can't go wrong

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these to go with some new 105 5700 series shifters. Was using the new shifters for a while with standard 5600 brakes but felt that the braking was not as good with the 5700 shifters and 5600 brakes as the older 5600 shifters and 5600 brake combination.
Shimano apparently state that the 5700 shifters have a different pull ratio and you need the newer model brakes, whilst other users report no issues. I feel that the braking is better now have a matched pair, but this may be only because I have some shiny new parts!
More generally. You can't fault Shimano quality, the price from Evans (special offer) was very competitive and free and fast delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Works, good price

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The usual what to expect from Shimano, good quality for good price, no surprises here.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dinijoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent brake

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've bought this calipper to change the original, quite bad one to a proper, but a bit pricy one. What can I say? It was really easy to install and then to set up to my needs.
Excellent braking power and pad included is working great in heavy rain on steep slopes too. I can absolutely recommend this brake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoolAir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Shimano Superiority

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Top quality brakes as expected from Shimano. I ride road bikes and single speeds and always go for Shimano products for good value, reliable quality. I tend to use the 105 on my single speeds. They look fantastic, easy to fit, adjust and spell out "look at me - top quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigTam
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Now my bike stops

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought the front and rear Shimano brake callipers as the final pieces in my quest to upgrade the stock items on my Felt Z85.
As a bonus to now having the full 105 groupset on my bike, I now have brakes that do the business, my stock brakes on my Felt were pretty poor, I was recently up the Black Mountains, in the Brecon Beacons, it was a pretty wet day and on the decent, the Felt own brand brakes were pretty poor, in fact quite scary, they just didnt perform in the rain.
Did a similar ride in the Pennines, same weather, Shimano brakes were spot on, in fact the performance was superb, felt safe and confident on the steep decents, of all the Shimano 105 components that I have bought for my upgrade, these have been the most impressive and they look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hheads
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Excellent upgrage

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
These were easy to fit, as I am no mechanic, and improved breaking considerably (my Trek Pilot 2.1 bike came with Tektro brakes).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
odessouky
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Excellent brakes!!

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My SCOTT CR1 Comp was equipped with a pair of "Shimano BR-R560, Super SLR Dual pivot" brakes.
I was very happy with the bike, apart from the brakes, which I thought were poor.
Due to an administrative error when buying my bike, the guys at Evans were kind enough to offer a free upgrade to these new 105 brakes.
Wow...what a difference. Most of the review sites would say that the difference is only the weight as you go higher up the spec, but I definitely felt a big difference in braking control and efficiency, and my bike had done only 100miles on the BR-R560, so the brakes were not old and worn yet by any means.
A VERY VERY worthy upgrade...especially that I got them free, but I think they are fully worth the extra £70.
Recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KentishtownAndy
from North London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
An excellent brake calliper, light weight and very responsive. However, a touch overpriced but ultimately well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BuddhaTEO
from Sydney, Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Brakes

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Exactly what you'd expect from Shimano, great quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano 105 5700 Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
huggy
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I traded up from the default callipers provided with the bike (Tektro). I used these with Aztec pads, and they are a world apart from the previous kit - definitely worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.