Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double

Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Review 1 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rikando
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Should have upgraded long time ago

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent shifting and the hoods are nice. Bit on the heavy side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
leslie
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a stunning bit of kit

Posted20 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
realy nice easy to change gears and works well with the brake lever
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevcrag1404
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

great response

Posted12 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
got the 105 groupset to replace my old sora groupset and what a differance they make its made my old bike feel like a brand new one .
also great advice from the evans team as to cassette sizes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Bought as replacement, but also provides upgrade

Posted01 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these because after 6 years of hard use the left shifter broke.
Quite an expensive part to replace, but very pleased with the improvements over 5600.
Usual 105 high quality.
The cable routing under the bar tape gives a much cleaner look to the bike, transforms it really.
It may be my imagination and I didn't check the weight against the old ones, but the front of the bike feels lighter.
Ergos also improved (after a few rides to adjust).
Shifting a little cleaner, but may be just because they are new.
A couple of addtional comments:
1. The brakes felt a bit mushy so I upgraded these to 5700 as well and a big improvement, possibly slightly better than the 5600 combination (the old ones have now upgraded my kid's Langster so not wasted)
2. Despite some comments on forums, the 5600 front mech is fine.
3. They need the new PTFE coated cables because of the different routing. More expensive than the standard ones (although not a huge cost) and more difficult to find in shops so best to order some spares.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
huring
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish, simple controls

Posted27 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: not enough colours
Just started using the 105 shifters for my Planet-X Kaffenback, they look great, really goes with the theme. They were easy to install and easy to use. Great product for a good price. Only wish is that the hood would come in leather-brown to go with the handlebars better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superandynerd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Improved design

Posted05 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these as a replacement for the 105 levers originally fitted to my Audax bike. The previous left lever had lasted 4 years and the right 5 years with moderate use. I hope these last longer as they are not cheap. I used them on an 800 mile trip around Bavaria and they worked well, although my friend's right hand older style 105 STI lever failed after his gear cable snapped with 80 miles to go. On these new 5700 levers, the gear cables feed out close to the brake cables to be routed under the handlebar tape. This looks and feels better than the old style ones that had the gear cables sticking out of the side. It was nice to use STI levers again after a short spell with downtube levers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TBAR
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good mid level shifter

Posted01 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: less positive click
I purchased these to replace some Sora shifters. Used on an alloy Merida as a stationary trainer and wet weather bike They are more comfy than the Sora and more comfy than the 6600 Ultegra that I had on my last bike. The shifting is clean and precise but after having used these, Ultegra 6600 and SRAM Force, I like the Force best. More positive click and feel. If you are after a good value for money shifter, these fit the bill. Not the best but good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 105 5700 Shifters Double
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnnycash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Posted27 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
After the previous shimano sora shifters fell apart after 11 months, i was advised to upgrade to the shimano 105s. They are great and do the job. Hopefully they will last a bit longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.