Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chainsets & Cranks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34

Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Review 1 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigTam
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best upgrade yet

Posted01 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this Shimano 105 chainset to replace the stock Vero on my Felt Z85, its like a new bike, so much more responsive and just feels smoother, well worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbcdre
It was bought:Online

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
excellent product and delivered quickly. easy to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mooree
Country:Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The quality is there, well made

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: needed left crank bolt
I was disappointed that I needed to buy a left crank bolt to fit it as the old crankset had a smaller thread size. Also somewhat surprised to find two left cranks in the box (MK-1 & ML-1), I couldn't discern any difference other than the part number.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rickg24
It was bought:Online

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Shimano Crankset does the job perfectly. Easy to fit and no major adjustments needed after replacing the original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Superb upgrade

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A good way to upgrade a basic chainset. Looks good and superb value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RFS105
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Upgrade

Posted11 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Replaced my FSA Gossamer with this. really easy to fit due to the clear and easy to follow instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crypto
It was bought:Bristol

Great Product & Service

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Shimano quality,instructions easy to follow and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badger15
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fine upgrade

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Upgraded from the non-105 chainset that came with the the bike - certainly seems lighter than its predecessor and slightly stiffer (or maybe that's just me being taken in by the marketing bumpf) - certainly looks better and that alone makes the bike go faster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gd83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Shimano as always!

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great price, well engineered, reliable and good quality as anyone would expect from Shimano 105. Can't fault it and will continue to buy Shimano products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hairyhands
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Smooooooth

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Sheared off the crank arm of my FSA crankset.
Replaced with this crankset and new ultegra bb. Runs lovely and smooth with none of the old creaks I used to get. Can't really tell any difference between this crankset and the ultegra crankset on my summer bike.
Overall very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gofbang
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Upgraded from Tiagra

Posted31 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Worthwhile upgrade due to lower weight. High quality component
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
m1cal

Great upgrade

Posted27 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought the 105 compact and press fit bottom bracket to replace my FSA Gossomer set up that came with my bike. Very pleased with the results and it runs smooth and quietly. Evans price match meant I got this at a bargain price to so it was worth more than every penny spent
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Colin3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted29 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I got the 165 as I found my knees were getting sore with the standard 172 cranks, I don't get sore knees now. Well worth the money as getting shorter cranks worked for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mavy2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent

Posted09 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this crankset to replace the stock FSA one on my Bianchi Nirone, I had already fitted the shifters and derailleurs and this crankset finished off the upgrade. The set is stiff and solid with good design and appearance, certainly a positive upgrade.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano 5700 105 Double Chainset 50/34
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrantheMan
from London
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Good Idea That Works

Posted22 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this to replace the FSA Gossamer 53/39 on my new Fuji Roubaix 1.0. Not only has it given me better gearing, it both looks good and has turned the entire drive-chain, including my pedals, into a Shimano 105 number. I'm very pleased with the outcome!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.