Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette

Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hairyhands
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does the job

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I've had several of these now. Can't tell much difference over my ultegra bike and lasts well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coolerrex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

It's ok nothing special

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Got a very good price match from Evans can't complain, it's nothing special, prefer my Tiagra on my Cube than this, ratios are to my liking very clunky gear change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tripod16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Excellent Cassette

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was using a Tiagra cassette, but with this upgrade the shifting is far smoother and you can see the difference in quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stickyb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product , great price

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent service from Evans. Very good price for a excellent product. The cassette runs smoother than my old cassette and was easy to fit on my Fulcrun racing quattro wheel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stasi1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Makes hills seem so much smaller

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed this product quickly as my bike was going to be collected that evening for a complete drive upgrade.
Evans processed my online order in less than 24 hrs and I was able to collect the cassette from my local store in my lunch-break the next day.
I even got a pricematch and saved a few pounds so what's not to like?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrPercival
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent cassette

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this cassette to replace the worn out Ultegra on my commuting bike. Normal reliable Shimano build quality. It has worked fine for the first 100 miles. Maybe the shifting feels a little rougher than Ultegra, but maybe that's because I know it's 105.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liam4503
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Slick Shifting & Excellent Quality

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, smooth shifting
Bought the 11-28 for my new Felt F5. F5 was supplied with a Tiagra cassette with the rest of the drivetrain shimano 105. This cassette is noticeably slicker when shifting, the cassette is lighter and better made.
Evans price matched the cassette without question. Great product and great service from Evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Why pay more?

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to replace the old 105 cassette on my bike (after 15,000km and three chains, it was worn to the point that the new chain was slipping).
It weighs essentially the same as the Ultegra, so why pay more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multibonzodog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

105 nailed on shifting as always :)

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've used 105 10 spd cassettes for the last 8 years and love em, slightly heavier than ultegra? but what the heck. one small gripe, I'd be happier if they were supplied with more than one spacer, I need two, and keep reusing old ones along with the one supplied. outside of that, top marks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tron
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bang fro your buck!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I just swapped out a 10sp Tiagra (that came with my bike) for the 11-28 105.
Only slightly lighter but it looks and shifts better than the Tiagra (a solid cassette never the less!) Even the lockring looks more solid. Best bang fro your buck!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elvisrider21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good price for upgrade

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I upgraded from Tiagra- dithered a bit on what gearing but happy with the choice and Evans price matched the part
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Gear review

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Got my back gear changed during a service as old one was worn out. New one works really well, and is slightly different gearing, which means it's better for top speed on flats.
product works well, and does what it's supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hogsmill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Does the job, and very quickly fitted by Evans sta

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Does the job, and very quickly fitted by Evans staff at Brentford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris151
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Strong and lightweight

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This product is working well, and is lightweight and strong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EmptyBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good entry level 10 spd cassette

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
105 cassette gives a good compromise between quality and price and gives the 12-27 option for those big climbs.Shifting is as good as Ultegra with only a small weight penalty at almost half the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicky123

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The cassette is brilliant, I have used the same model on my bike since I bought it and wouldn't change as it works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wordbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cassette for spare turbo trainer wheel

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very competitive on price - the quality you would expect from 105 components.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DonnaT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the hills

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
I bought this cassette to give me that little extra help on the hills. It's match with a compact set of rings on my Chris Boardman. Excellent service from Evans as always and I got it for a bargain price. With this horrible weather not had chance to test it out fully yet but hopefully I will soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FondDeJante
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Online

Good budget choice for winter riding or commuting

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I fitted this on a winter bike which otherwise has an Ultegra groupset. The finish on this isn't as good as the Ultegra version, but once on the bike (and covered in grime) there's no noticeable difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bobsum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

A little extra help on the hills

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this 11-28t to replace the 12-25t set that came with my new bike - a little extra insurance for the really steep parts for a non-tour rider! Usual Shimano quality and excellent Evans service with price match. Tip - I used the 12t lockring and 16t from the original cassette to give a 12-28 cassette with a closer ratio mid range spread.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>