Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump

Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump

Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Review 1 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pump specifically for mountain bikes!

Posted10 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Most track pumps have pressure gauges with a range of up to 200psi, my SKS Rennkompressor for example. This is impractical for a mountain bike or cyclocross tyre that you with to inflate to 30psi or so - less if you're running tubeless as I am. Also, dial type (bourdon tube) pressure gauges tend to be most accurate in the middle third of their range. The range on this pump is a very useful 70psi or so - ideal!
It's a sturdy pump, able to stand up on its own reliably thanks to the larger base... unlike my aforementioned SKS which falls over if you so much as glance at it. The large volume does mean that it inflate VERY quickly so easier to over inflate and then tickle the air release button to bring down to your preferred pressure.
Great price from Evans with free carriage, delivered very promptly even in the weeks preceding Christmas. Packaging 100% recyclable, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Powerful!

Posted07 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well made, very good quality components and a really easy to read psi dial. 5 or 6 pumps and your MTB tyre is upto 40/45 psi. Absolutely spot on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Massive airflow, handle could be improved

Posted24 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: uncomortable handle
The Joe Blow Mountain has a large barrel, which enables it to pump large amount of air on each push.
It's a great pump for large tires (It fills my continental Race King 26X2.25 tubeless to 25-30 PSI in about 20 strokes), it has an accurate gauge, unlike some cheap pumps out there, and its base is very solid. It really excels when one tries to mount a tubeless (or tubeless ready) tyre, since it can seal tyres in situations when many other pumps just don't pump fast enough.
The gauge, while big, is located at the base of the pump, so it could be hard to read for short-sighted people (But I never had a problem despite my glasses).
I have the pump for a year now, and it's good as new. It seems durable, and probably would last for ages.
On the negative side, some don't like Topeak dual valve. I found it easy to use, but some disagree with me.
The only downside keeping the pump from getting a full five-star rating is its handle: the stiff rubber isn't all that comfortable, and I actually prefer to use it with cycling gloves, otherwise - especially when pumping several tyres in a row - it could be quite uncomfortable for prolonged use. But other than that niggle, it's an excellent pump and well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

String, sturdy and high capacity

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: gauge marker could be better
Great product, inflates mountain bike tyres quickly and easily. Really solidly built and works on Presta and Schrader valves. There is a pointer on the gauge to set the required pressure mark you require but this moves a bit to easily easily and really needs some form if resistance to ensure it stays where placed without moving, but only slight disappointment so far. Really pleased with purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Superb quality and usefulness

Posted05 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, 75psi range is perfect for mtb'ers
I bought this after checking out Google and found that Evans in Crawley had one. I love it. It pumps up really quickly. But the best bit I think is the pressure gauge range only 75 psi perfect for mountain bikers and very accurate. Then extras include different pump valves capablities. James, Horsham
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality piece of kit

Posted02 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
Very well made, large chamber capacity for speedy tyre inflation (which could be why it needs a bit of force to pump?). recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:Male

Easy tubeless inflation with this

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Decided on tubeless,gorilla tape,stans,valve and this pump.Went up onto rim no probs with this and inflated in 7/8 blasts.Buy it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, efficient
The product is solid and well made and pumps tyres up effortlessly. It's something I wish I had brough years ago as there are 6 bikes in the family, and before, it took a long time pumping all the tryres up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak Mountain Pump

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my first upright pump and am very pleased with the double valve set up, ease of use and with the large air cylinder it very quick to inflate larger tyres
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Pump - works with Tubeless!

Posted06 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, effective
Purchased this as I wanted to go tubeless using Stan's on my non tubeless rims and tyres and was having no joy whatsoever with my two existing track pumps.
Had even tried an air compressor which did't work (probably poor technique on my part!) and then tried the Joe Blow Mountain pump and low and behold it worked straight away!! As soon as I started pumping I could feel the tyre moving and after just a few strokes it was up!!
One full stroke gave me around 5psi in my Schwalbe 26" 2.3 tyres, so with just 8 strokes it was up at 40psi!!!
Because the dial only goes to 75psi, it's very easy to read as opposed to the two other track pumps that I have which both go up to around 150psi meaning that its a lot easier to get your pressure spot on from the outset. Even if you don't, that doesn't matter because it comes with an air release button which means you can dial in your pressure exactly how you want it.
For the price, this is a very good piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good quality, great value pump

Posted01 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, quick inflation, pressure release/adjust button on head
Cons: locking lever is narrow
A good quality pump that on the whole is hard to fault given it's cost. It pushes a big volume of air resulting in fast tyre inflation, which is great - inflating tyres is not the most exciting of jobs. I very much liked the pressure release/adjust button on the head that allows you to quickly fine tune the pressure to the desired level. Very handy.
A couple of minor gipes: (1) The locking lever is a tad too narrow and is quite stiff; (2) The pressure meter is located on the base so it's not the easiest to read, although there's a rotating bezel with a target indicator that compensates for this shortcoming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted20 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great, fast to inflate. Really happy with it and like having a gauge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Joe Blow Mountain Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Brazil
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pump for the extra air volume

Posted06 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: large pump capacity
Cons: more morte force is needed to pump
So far so good . I received the pump this week so not a long expirence with it, but it delivers what it promises. An extra air volume but not a high end pressure. Very good for the large mountain bike tires. But there is no free lunch as people say, you need and extra effort to pump it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.