Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool

Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool

Includes: Allen wrenches, spoke wrenches, chain tool, chain hook, tire levers, screw drivers and torx bit. Weight: 167g.
Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
130 out of 136Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb little tool

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I was in need of a multi tool for the bike and after a good search this was the clear winner in terms of features, quality and price - it could be fractionally lighter but I'm nit picking.
If you're in need of a multi tool with all the basics and you're not a weight freak or looking for one of these super packed 30+ tool multi tool do-dars then this product is for you.
(It probably deserves 5 stars really but as I have yet to give all the tools a thorough workout I've had to give it 4 stars.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from india
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Finish !

Posted24 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product !
This is one compact product and good pricing. The finish is really nice, the picture does not do it justice. All the necessary tools are there. Even a spoke adjuster is seem equally good.
As usual on time shipping by Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Portsmouth
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A tight bundle of tools

Posted26 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent little purchase that earned its keep within the first week. The build is great with a robust feel that can handle a lot of torque. Yes there are allen bundles a whole lot cheaper out there but don't dismiss quality. Go with an old adage of 'You pay for what you get' and with this you get quality, practicality and just the right amount of tools for the average cyclist. A great buy...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MacGyver

Posted19 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
If MacGyver required a bicycle multi-tool thing he'd have one of these little bad boys. It has everything you could need or want in a roadside multi-tool. All it's missing is a puncture repair kit..... .. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

robust and handy size

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
very good value for the price, this covers most of my needs on the road with a pair of tyre levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Versatile but a little heavy

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I can see why this won awards,
Clearly a versatile, robust, and well made item.
However undoubtedly a little heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful tool to have on the road

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, functional
Cons: Heavy
It is difficult to get too excited about a basic tool like this which by its nature is there to cope with roadside emergencies. I bought this one to replace an identical item that was stolen. It is quite bulky but the many tools included mean that it is correspondingly useful. I managed to break one of the tyre levers on the previous one so carry dedicated tyre levers as well but otherwise it is the only tool I take on the road apart from a small pump.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality is good but not the easiest to use.

Posted16 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Appears to be fairly good quality, not the lightest but it's got all the bits you might need hopefully! I only bought it for the chain splitter which I've not yet used so I can't comment on that. Some of the Allen key bits are quite short and with the stubby fat body are not the easiest to use in confined areas. Certainly not as easy to use as the free Evans multi tool that came with my bike! Time will tell but I'm not blown away by it I'm afraid. Seems fairly average.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

does what it says

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
a cracking little compact tool. Does everything you really need on the road or trail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak multitool

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
handy tool to carry on rides as never know when needed.lightweight enough to carry in ruck sack.Have not used yet but seems well made and strong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Robust, reliable tool - but test the chain breaker

Posted03 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, robust
Cons: weak allen key on the tyre lever
I've had this tool for a while and it has served me well - all the tools you need in a compact easy to carry form. On a maintenance course recently I tried out the chain breaker on a piece of test chain. Now, you need an allen key to operate the screw of the chain breaker but the allen keys on this tool are fixed to the same mounts as the chain breaker so cannot be used. They thought of this though and put a small allen key on the removable tyre lever just for that purpose. Clever thinking - until you come to use it in earnest!. You need to apply a fair bit of force to push the pin out of a chain and the plastic tyre lever is insufficient for this job - I found the plastic just rotated around the allen head and didn't operate the breaker. I'm glad I discovered this in a warm classroom and not out on a cold trail. Its still a great tool, but just make sure you take a separate metal allen key sized for that chain tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Only thing I would add is a case

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great multitool - as expected from Topeak. Solidly built and all the important tools for in-ride repairs included. Bought to replace another Topeak multi tool that got lost. My only wish is that this came with a small neoprene case like the one it replaced, but that does not detract from the tool which is what I am reviewing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Just everything you need

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is great for basic maintenance, having the levers and they way they can be doubled up as an attachable wrench for chain work is great.
Also nearly got this at Halfords, but checked online and it was cheaper, so I called the local Evans store. It was cheaper, and found out it cost the same price in store,so I went there to get it.
Plus I got to save money from money left over from a previously used online voucher!
Saved me a tenner in total :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought one of these to consolidate three tools in my emergency pack into one
Very well made, solid strong tools. The allen keys selection is great and covers most everything and the chain tool (though I haven't used it yet) appears very strong.
Used it this morning when I had a flat, the tyre levers are a little small but did the job well and got me back on the road which prompted this review!
Definitely worth a look!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

well made, reasonable weight &has the tools needed

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, relatively compact
Cons: torx screw is an attachment
My Lezyne tool was more compact but rattled to pieces in my bag and I could not get it to fit correctly again. This is a well designed and built multi tool that should get you out of 90% of trail issues. Only real complaint is that my groupset uses torx screws and this has a separate attachment (included) it works well but is a faff to get out and could be lost on a cold muddy day mountain biking.
Chain breaker tool uses tyre lever to wind. Not used levers yet but they look stiff and good quality which is a bonus as they can snap on tight fitting tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Very good multi-tool, helps with a lot of low level maintenance on the bike and small enough to fit in a saddle bag. Only con i would say is the weight as it is quite heavy compared to other multi-tools
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

great little tool with all the basics

Posted04 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no case
I bought this for a bike trip in Africa and it had everything i needed from a chain breaker to all the useful allen keys you need and a tyre lever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Well made, compact, slightly heavier than expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Russia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very nice and useful piece. As well quality of metal is very high
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Hexus II Multi-Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Just right

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant multi tool. It has just enough tools that you need when you are on the go. I got it because it also has a nice chain tool which is the only other addition to a multi tool that I wanted and it's still small enough to fit into your saddle bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>