Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser

Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser

Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Review 1 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pantony
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best in the business

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This finish line is the best in the business. Where most degreasers take off the surface this one penetrates deep but without drying the metal. I used this to clean between a chains links. My chain had been stiff solid and did not shift. This product makes an old chain as good as new.
Wipes off easy and is ready to got with a clean finish and no grunge. Definitely the best out there by a long way and a rinse free product is definitely a plus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
irishjaffa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Really great piece of kit. Have no idea why I didn't use it before. Could be expensive to keep using, but after witnessing what it can do, I'll keep using.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tobylerone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb - one use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to use
My bike was heavily gunked up having neglected to clean it for the last 3 or 4 months. There was a disgusted black layer over all parts of the drivetrain. This managed to blast through all that to reveal shining cassettes and chainsets within seconds.
A few things though:
I had to use the entire can because of the level of dirt. I was hoping there'd be some left to use in another 3 months time. Having adjusted my expectations, I won't be as disappointed next time. Still worth it to save hours of cleaning a dissected cassette in the sink and the wrath of my wife.
The crud stuck to the small wheels in the derailleur still needed to be worked off with a screwdriver, but hey I should have realised that to begin with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WellyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It certainly is fast

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Works very fast and is very efficient. It does create a bit of a mess and doesn't evaporate off as quickly as implied. But I must say it does clean a cassette very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pjm1967
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Ace cleaner

PostedMay 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, money saver
I used to be lazy and oil but not clean my chain and sprockets. Then at a bike service I had to pay for a new cassette and chain for a bike only six months old. Lesson learned.
So I bought this product and it blasts a way all dirt and grime efficiently and dries quickly so can relube and be on your way in no time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DL48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
This is a fantastic product for your cassette and gear mechanism, keeps it scrupulously clean, which will help extend the life of your cassette and chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chirg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good on cassettes, better products for chains

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: powerful
Cons: too powerful
Not very useful to clean the whole drivetrain. It will take a whole can to clean everything.
It is a lot better to use it just for the cassette where it works superbly. Definitely the fastest and easiest method.
A traditional chain cleaning machine/degreaser works better on a chain.
I would also worry about spraying it near pivot point/bearings as it could clean away more than you want it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orangepeel
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Speed isnt the word..

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This stuff is so volatile it will melt your hand...seriously it blows everything off your chain and cogs so fast..but make sure you have some polythene sheeting under the bike or use someone elses drive because it will kill the grass/run muck all over the concrete and the only thing clean will be your bike...
You will need the whole can to do the whole drivechain....it comes out of the can so fast..but for a once a year deep clean its the business...would have been 5 stars except for the clear up/dead grass...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom

Very expensive

PostedAugust 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cleans off the dirt
Cons: Expensive, a very messy product to use
It does a good job of cleaning off the dirt from the chain and gears, but all mess ends up on the bike. So then you have to clean the bike. I used up the whole canister in one go! So, overall not the best product to use for cleaning off grease and dirt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FFC4ME
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good but messy

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this product on the recommendation from a member of Evans staff. It comes out at quite a rate blasting away grease and dirt, my only complaint would be the amount of mess it made. I would recommend putting down paper before use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

expensive but very effective!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This really cuts through and washes away all the grease and grime on your chain and gears, but use sparingly - a can soon gets used up and it is expensive to replace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Roadroller
from Cambridge
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It certainly works .. but...

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: does what it says on the can!
Cons: Expensive
This certainly works .. it will strip the dirt off anything and blasts very effectively. Trouble is that it blasts incredibly strongly so the muck goes everywhere unless you are very careful - you have to clean it off the rest of the bike!
You will get a clean bike but you will also get through the can fast!
It also has the unfortnate effect of killing grass (don't know what else too!) so be careful if you are cleaning your bike in the garden! I had to reseed the grass too when I used it! It is pretty savage!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CycleRob

Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The product does exactly what it says. It is a very quick and easy degreaser, and I would recommend it.
There are however a few draw backs. It doesn't last very long at all depending on how often you degrease your oily equipment. It only lasted me for 2 sessions. So although the product is very good, I would personally chose a fluid in the future rather that an aerosol .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blitz66
from Bournemouth
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Instant degreaser

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
really powers off grease, the high pressure can and the nozzle on the end just blast it off, and no need to rinse.
I also like the fact it works on disc brakes, although these did need a very thorough rinse afterwards with clean water and a little bedding in to get back up to full power.
Only downside is for a proper clean, it's only really good for one bike per spray can, maybe two if you're very frugal.
might work well as a finishing spray after a slower acting degreaser's been rinsed off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pigmeister
from Staffordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a degreaser...

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I have used a couple of cans of this and found it to be excellent, removing grease and other grime with ease. Highly recommended - would give 5 stars if it were a little cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Finish Line Speed Clean Degreaser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dicko
from Darlington
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Speed Clean

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great degreaser
Cons: Expensive
Finish Line Speed Clean does exactly what is says on the can, in seconds it cleans away old lube and grease with no need for drying down, it just evaporates, leaving clean components ready for a fresh coat of lube. Tip use sparingly as it doesn't go far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.