Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel

SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel

Overall rating:
3.15 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
14 out of 20(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Review 1 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fergington

Great Price, does what it says.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
There is no evidence of this being a SRAM product, it is completely unbranded.
Although it is a 16t freewheel and it costs less than a fiver... unbeatable value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Woody2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Complete waste of money

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Bought this as a replacement for a previous one my son had fitted to his bike which only lasted about a month before the pawls failed and all drive was lost. This new one lasted about 2 weeks before becoming a cross between a freewheel and occasional fixed wheel! If I still had the receipt I would have returned it for a refund and bought something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor Quality

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
I had my freewheel on for 3 weeks before it stopped working and I had to pay my local bike shop to remove it as you cannot remove it with a 4 peg BMX freewheel remover. It's not suitable for commuting but would be okay for a kids bike. Evans Cycles please stock some other single speed freewheels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Muqtadir26
Country:Brunei Darussalam
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Bought it to change my fixie to a freewheel. Does the job but a bit heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GavL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Cheap and not very cheerful

PostedJune 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this freewheel for my new 2013 Langster, lovely bike but the freewheel has failed to engage twice in the first two days of use and left me stuck in the middle of the road with no forward momentum.
This one is going in the bin having ordered a better quality replacement.
Hopefully with the increase in popularity on single speed bikes, Evans will offer a better range and better quality freewheels in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Manic66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great value

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Haven;t had this replacement long but should stand the test of time.
Great value replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
selectaG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works well; infinitely better than the one supplied as standard on my inexpensive single speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Milos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

So far so good

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Been only using it for a few weeks now - about 150 miles - but so far it's been fine. Cheap but look decent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AFAIK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and functional

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
This is a basic freewheel. Screws onto the hub easily and bearings appear ok. The only thing to note is that the colour isn't silver/chrome but more of a bronze colour. Not a deal breaker for me since it was being attached to a beater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freesprocket

Great product & good price!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Item was as expected, good price and fast delivery!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daddyfixit
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Freewheel

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the packet.
Used an a 16" childs bike after the "as new" freewheel fell apart! Cheaper to fit this yourself than drive to Halfords twice to get the bike repaired underwarranty.
Looks good for a functional bike, not high spec but I expect it will bed in well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flatcap
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and works

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for a cheap single speed conversion I have recently done on an old road bike. It looks cheap but does the job. I have been riding 10 miles a day on it for several weeks with no complaints so far. If I were after a freewheel for a good bike, I'd probably go for the Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CoasterKid11
from Chichester
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Price, Bad Lifetime

PostedDecember 19, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I brought this freewheel for £3.50 and after a month after fitting it, the bearings went again, eventually stalling and causing me to whack my knee onto the stem... also, whats with it going up?? when i brought the freewheel, it was £3.50 and now for £8??? best off getting a diamondback freewheel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Alibear
from East Sussex
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Pretty Poor

PostedNovember 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this as standard on my charge plug 2009. Now has a nice grinding noise, perhaps should have used some chain tensioners....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nocibomber
from Lincolnshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It's a freewheel.

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I purchased this to get a neighbours kids bike back on the road. The old one was a pain to remove but the new one was fitted in seconds and the bike up and running again. Another child on a bike.
And as usual from Evans, a great price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oxbikes

16 T freewheel

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not sram?
Bargain at the price (£3.50 delivered) but it doesn`t say SRAM anywhere on the freewheel!.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Daffyjones
from Hinckley, UK
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cheap But Cheerful

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
When i first got this part i could immediately see the quality wasn't the best. The bearing are a bit loose and doesn't seem very well built. HOWEVER! Been using it for about two months on my single speed racer and have had no problems with it. It's doesn't have a loud click either which is a bonus. Overall good value. But if you're looking for quality look elsewhere.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dave200
from Arbroath Angus Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Buy cheap buy twice.

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality
Had this product on my single speed road bike that i use to commute about 32mls a day. The component bearings failed within one week of fitting and i was stranded on the way home. Nice walk though!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sandyl
London
 
Please wait while more information about Sandyl is loaded.
Additional information about Sandyl could not be loaded.
Same thing happened to me
Posted June 27, 2011
I had the same thing happen to me.
I guess the miles at no more than 40 before it gave up the ghost
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RJJW
from bootle cumbria
Style:BMX
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

very good value

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
very good quality and well built. it is better than a dearer one i got.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SRAM Sprint 16T 1/8" Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
londonrider
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good quality at a good price

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this as my previous sprocket busted off and i needed an urgent replacement, delivered promptly and fitted it works very good considering the price, it has quite a solid feel to it also.
Recommeneded if you are on a tight budget or need one asap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.