Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel

Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel

Hard wearing chrome-moly steel sprocket with chrome plate finish.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 11Would you recommend this product to a friend?82%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Review 1 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Money well spent

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had my track bike converted to freewheel some two weeks ago, and I am glad I did it. Riding a fixed wheel is plenty of fun in the right environment, but also it can be a complete pain in dense traffic or when going down a long steep decent. Now I ride a more agreeable single-speed machine and this is a less tiring experience.
I booked my appointment at the Spitalfields shop, left my bike there before work and by mid morning had a text confirming it was ready. The freewheel was mounted on the opposite side to the fixed cog my bike originally came with, so now I have a flip-flop wheel. The gearing is identical to the fixed gear, making it as comfortable and effortless as the bike origally was. To my great satisfaction the mechanism is inaudible in a traffic, so aural experience is equal to riding a fixie.
There were some occasional slips on two or three occasions under a heavy acceleration - I am guessing the fitting had to bed in, after all it is mourned on thread side of the hub - but no problems to report. With a £30 price tag I am more than happy with the result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chadders1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent singlespeed freewheel!

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is definitely one of the best quality freewheels available. It's well sealed & has great bearings. Highly durable & highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fmstephe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good quality single speed freewheel sprocket

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This sprocket is an excellent gear ratio on my Specialized Langster. It has held up well with daily use and handles heavy acceleration without complaint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jarv1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Evans service was amazing, product just ok.

Posted07 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
The service I received from Evans was great, really really great, however the actual product is just ok.
It works but it's really noisy and I can feel it grinding as I pedal, it feels like a cheap product when it's at the higher end of the price scale for a similar product.
My advice get something cheaper because it feel like I'm paying for the name on this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jwn1617
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well as you would expect

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit runs well on my commute to work
Makes life easier when going done hills
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jojo09
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Good freewheel

Posted07 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this put on my single speed fixie as I am taking part in a charity bike ride. It will be unsafe to ride with single speed to a hill and come down , this freewheel is perfect I could feel the difference. It's making a lilttle noise in the beginning but once it's get used its fine. I will recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tysz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Easy to install, quiet

Posted19 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Quiet on the road, easy to screw on - no need to do it tight though as it tightens as you pedal. Use grease on cogs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jay87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

No problems so far

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is my first time riding a single-speed, wasn't overly keen on going fixed wheel so I purchased a freewheel instead. I've done in excess of 250 miles and so far I have no complaints about the freewheel. All is in working order, let's hope it stays that way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wils
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality....but at a price

Posted05 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Simple product that's difficult to get wrong. I am required to add more text, but...I can't; this is a cog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Cool bit of kit

Posted18 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Made my Genesis flyer feel like new again, recommended and fitted during service at Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Single-Speed Freewheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energizer
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Silent Freewheel

Posted06 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, wobbly
I like this freewheel cause very silent, I almost can't hear any sound and looks great.
The quality of the teeth is good.
The cons is the freewheel wobbly and the bearing is no good.
I only ride approx 200km not sure about durability yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.