Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

Overall rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(260 reviews) 260
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 260 reviews
5 Stars
164
4 Stars
88
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
255 out of 260Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Neat and easy to use

Posted23 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, ease of installation
This is an excellent item. It's realy easy to set up and install. I was a little worried about fitting on suspention forks, but was assured that it would be fine, and sure enough - no problem. All in all about 10mins work and we were away.
The display is very clear and it has all the info most of us need - Current speed - Average speed - Maximum speed - Trip duration - Trip distance - Total milage (or Kms!) and a clock, all on one button. There are also pace arrows comparing your current speed to you average. These are compulsive viewing!
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from East Kilbride
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

First Cateye Purchase

Posted16 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is the first time I have used a cateye cycle computer and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to install, literally under 10 minutes.It looks superb on my new road bike (bought from Evans) and it is very easy to operate and understand,virtually idiot proof. I have used several other types of cycle computers over many years of cycling and found this one by far the easiest to install and consider it great value for the money involved.
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great product great price easy to use and easy to fit to bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to install- packed with features

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
This product took me all of 5mins to install, it is being used on a old vintage bike I have that I use to get to and from work, the display unit is on the large side but it has all the features you could need similar to its more expensive brothers such as the strada. Easy to use, one button operation allows maximum focus on the road ahead, would be suitable for both road and MTB riders
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product at a great price

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a computer to give me the basic data of my ride (total time, max speed, average speed & distance) but didn't want to go into big money. On the face of it this Cateye computer ticked all the boxes and when it arrived it did not disappoint. I had it installed on the bike within @ 10 minutes. On the road the displays are easy to read and a tap on the key changes the information displayed. I know that there are more advanced computers out there for the serious cyclists but if,like me, you just want to see how far you have gone or how fast this could be the very computer you are looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal cheap and cheerful odometer

Posted15 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great value for money for a cordless computer.
Good screen size - overall very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent accurate computer with good features

Posted12 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
top notch computer for price, has all the basic functions you need including pacer arrow. Very accurate compared to gps on phone, I set mine up by measuring my wheel accurately. Really impressed, great piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value straightforward product

Posted06 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Took five minutes to fit on my carbon forks and fat bar tube. Simple metrics; keeps me happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clear display

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The Velo Wireless is relativey large but this means the display is really easy to read on the move - which is rather important!
Its easy to fit having no wires to bother about and the qulaity is typical Cat Eye - ie top notch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to install and use, great features.

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
I bought this computer in effort to try and pace myself better on longer rides. it works well showing current speed at the top, and then a variety of other readings at the bottom - Avg/Max speed, distance, clock, and stopwatch.
It was really easy to install, and no wires so looks nice and tidy on the bike. I'd recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent

Posted31 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to fit and use
Very easy to fit to the bike and to set up. I'm not technically minded but managed it very quickly. Nice big display and all the standard features you'd expect - current speed along with either time, distance, av speed etc etc. When I upgrade my other (wired) bike computers I think it will be to this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good value and easy to fit. It is nice and easy to use aswell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good value for money

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to use, good display
Cons: no backlight, not easy to fit on front forks with shocks
This model is fairly basic but it does what it does very well. The display is large and clear, and the operation is simple. Downsides, no backlight and not easy to fit to shock forks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted14 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
This computer was easy to install and has all the basic functions you need on a bike computer. I tested it on a 25 mile ride and compared the distance recorded with the route distance on Google Map. The error was less that 0.5%, which is excellent and far more accurate than the odometer on my car! I used it in the rain yesterday and it worked perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful

Posted04 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit with rubber bands, basic parameters measured, single button control
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very very dissapointed

Posted09 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: vital information missing from description
First of all let me say that I haven't used the computer, This is because after reading the instruction i've found that this cannot be fitted to the rear wheel of a bike for 2 reasons.
Firstly the sensor will be too far from the computer and secondly the computer would be on such an angle that the only people who could read it would be oncoming traffic.
This information is not in the products information page on the website, and it is not on the products box. The first time you know all this is after you've unpacked it.
This lack of apparently vital information is woefully inadequate.
So if you intend to use your bike on a turbo trainer or can't attach the sensor to the front forks because of the distance to the spokes ( the sensor has to be within 5mm of the spoke magnet ) then i would sugest that you look elsewhere.
It has been pointed out that this information is available is you trawl through the 49 customers questions and answers.
Having to do that to find vital information is also woefully inadequate.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent, does what it should.Nice Clear display and easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ensure you set it up first time!

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good computer, which is easy enough to install. Problem is, if you need to change the time, wheel size or anything else you must first fully reset the unit - losing all data stored up to that point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product does everything I want such as

Posted16 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It's easy to use does distance, time,speed and total distance ridden collectively
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and clear and simple to use

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy set up
No silly features that you don't need, just a good clear dual display showing current speed with a choice of other things you want to know like distance covered. The best cycle computer I have used by some margin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>