Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer

Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gefer
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent and easy to use cycle computer

Posted26 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I just bοught this one. Its great, easy to install, easy to use cycle computer. Its small but the screen is very clear and the digits big enough to read. Its also accurate enough my every day route is 9,85 Km and the cateye shows 9,98 Km.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
QMFU
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it is meant to do.

Posted15 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: a bit complicated to set up
This product work like well. it provides the functions i need as a recreational cyclist. However, it does have it cons. when the product was shipped to me, the display seems dim and the backlit seems to erase the display when pressed. But it was solved right after a battery change, so do take note. The setting of the product is a bit complicated, you really need to read the user manual carefully to fully understand how it is set. Overall this product is great and works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yiannisf
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not bad at all!

Posted10 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, comfortable screen
Cons: tricky setting procedure
Love the big screen, with all the indicators visible simultaneously.
Somehow a bit tricky to set it up and you must have it removed from its base to do so.
Mounts well on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nadav
Country:Israel
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuter cycling computer

Posted17 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to install and use, Large and clear display, All the data you need though carbon offset data is unnecessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markph0305
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but with flaws

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, lots of information
Cons: display hard to read
I bought this to replace a Cateye Strada, which worked well but it was a pain having to switch to a different screen to see the time.
For that this unit works very well, it has the standard readouts of the speed and distance or time. Then at the bottom it always has the current time, and handily the temperature, which is more useful than I'd expected as it's hard to judge temperature on a bike.
The unit does have a big problem however, I have it mounted on my stem which being a hybrid is angled up, which means I can't look directly at the unit, so the display becomes invisible in all but full daylight conditions. It's not viewable at all at night, even with the backlight on, which is one of the reasons I'd bought it. Other cateye products don't suffer this issue, so it's a big minus for me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Markph0305
 
Please wait while more information about Markph0305 is loaded.
Additional information about Markph0305 could not be loaded.
Posted 28 January 2013
After a while of owning this. I changed my tyres so needed to change the settings. I think of myself as quite competant with these things as I work in IT. But it literally took me 2 hours to figure out how to change it, even with the instructions, it's ridiculously complicated and you have to go through the entire setup process without pressing the wrong key or it'll kick you out and you have to start again. I was that frustrated with it I was considering throwing it away and buying something else!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlyingLizard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and use...

Posted11 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, good functions
Very easy to fit, clear easy to read displays with no fiddly buttons to bother with. Set-up is a bit of a pain as the buttons on the back are tiny but as you only need to do this once it's not really a problem. If it broke or got nicked I would buy another straight away. Great Cateye quality and the price I got it for was very good...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kopite64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great city computer

Posted02 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Been using this for only a couple days. But quite pleased so far. I would have given it 5 stars but I found it really complicated to programme out of the box. And the ETA impossible to set up, (any advice here would be most welcome). And I'm not a technophobe having fitted several others over the years. But I found it time consuming.
Otherwise I like it. The on-screen readouts are easy to use & read. The wheel sensor is really study, as is the handlebar mount.
All in all well worth spending that bit extra.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barney82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Cool i love it

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to use,easy to c and telling u everything what u need!
I love the temperature side :)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NickofromPerth
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feature packed computer

Posted07 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Whilst not the prettiest computer out there, it is full of features and the wireless sensor makes for a clean, easy installation. The temperature function is great!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CommuterRide44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but flawed design. Difficult to set up

Posted27 June 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very useful
Cons: bad settings buttons, sleep mode should be coma!
This 'Commuter-Computer' seems to be very good once programmed correctly however the programming in my oppion leaves a-lot to be desired. Firstly ~ there are just 2 small buttons (except a point-pressed 'AC'-All-Clear/Reset button) & these 2 buttons have to do a wealth of setting functions by either press or press & hold (for a given time) or press together or press & hold together (for a given time)! They are extremelly fiddley to push & if you turn the unit around to see what buttons you are pushing (as they are on the back) ~ you can't see the display digits you want to set! Once set however ~ the unit seems a little gem ~ it is 'clicked' into its bracket & operated soley by pressing the front lower edge so it rocks in its holder & you subsiquently 'scroll' through your menus this way for your data display. However, 'try as I might' ~ mine won't 'auto-start' when I ride so if I forget to turn it on at the beginning the ETA time will be wrong because my ETA milage will be nil & I may have all ready done several miles without realising, add to this the total mileage will never be true now too. I really don't like wireless & I would much prefer a 'cable-link' but this seems to be a 'dying-fashion' now except for the cheapest & most basic computers ~ a real shame. The display back-light is 'not-much' really ~ just a gentle glow for a few seconds & the 'night-mode' returns to 'standard-mode' after the unit enters 'sleep' more-like 'COMA' mode!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SiddoBrazil
Country:Brazil
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Cateye Commuter is very practical

Posted20 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I'm enjoing my Cateye Commuter. It's simple to attach and work very well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeremiah
from Liverpool
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Jeremiah

Posted26 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Took a while setting up and understanding features but does all it says it does.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rsole
from Melbourne, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typical Cateye Quality

Posted10 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As with most Cateye equipment I have owned this is a quality cycle computer with a Large Clear screen and easy to install and use. The setup is a bit convoluted and I have not yet managed to work out how to initialise the total distance. It allows am/pm with metric measurement, which my previous Enduro 8 did not allow, which was frustrating. The clock and backlight are also usefull and I enjoy the temperature control.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Caasper
from commuter at Madeira Island
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

commuter cycle computer

Posted26 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great cycle computer, bought it because of the fantastic features like day, week, month and year distance. Also a great feature is the ability to insert the total distance in case you reset your computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Discobiscuit
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit

Posted23 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Really like the ETA. Easy to use and display size is good. A liitle tricky to remove if you're parking up somewhere dodgy.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drwal44
from Liverpool
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and simple

Posted23 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
this is very good computer.
Very nice night light,
temperature is very useful thing.
Works perfectly
Recommended
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terri
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted13 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my son, he was trilled with it. Now he is ready to go off with his new girlfreind.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronaldo

Posted09 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality as you would expect from Cateye products, A bit plain looking but very easy to read. Time will tell how strong it is as I ride off road quite a bit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nigel451
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty good effort

Posted08 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, night mode
Cons: Expensive, complicated, night mode
I'm a commuting cyclist, so I want a cycle computer to do a number of really simple things. It needs to tell me my speed, it needs to tell me the time and it needs to tell me the temperature. Having a stopwatch is useful but most of all you need to see it at night! This computer is the closest thing any cycle computer has got to that and still its miles away from what it could be. For a start programming this is a pig, silly micro buttons on the back and modes. Why can't they be easier to program. Having it wireless is great, but I've yet to see how long the batteries will last. At night what you want is computer that stays lit so that as you cycle you can glance at - unfortunately this only glows (very dimly) for 3 seconds after you press it. Better than most. And another thing why can't you have a simple start stop button for the stopwatch? Instead there is only one button - the device itself. It usefully can strap to the stem, unfortunately you can't reach the tiny light button underneath. So Cat Eye - good effort but can do better - oh and pretty pricy too.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tommy2p
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tommy2p is loaded.
Additional information about Tommy2p could not be loaded.
Posted 18 February 2011
I'm glad you pointed out that the light switch is on the back of the unit as I was going to buy one of these, but read poor reviews. I was told in the shop that there was a ten minute back light, but read in reviews that the switch was on the back of the unit, obviously no one would have a switch on the back right? I was buying one because it has a backlight, it is obviously not useable and therefore a very expensive and unnecessary mistake.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Cateye Commuter Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SidE
from Cambs
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted31 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: a bit plain looking
Good quality as you would expect from Cateye products, A bit plain looking but very easy to read. Time will tell how strong it is as I ride off road quite a bit.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>