Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Ionus Chain Lock

Abus Ionus Chain Lock

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Review 1 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zodiacat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent service, Quality product

Posted11 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought this lock as an added bit of security when looking my BMX up in town of an evening for an hour or two. Not used in anger yet and I do live in a relatively low crime area(if there is such a place these days). Like the red and it stands out so hope it will act as a deterrent. One reason i bought this is it sits nicely in the bottom of my backpack but it does weigh 1.8 kilos (put it on the kitchen scales) which is fine but you prob don't want to go on a days ride carrying it. In summary - Like the lock, feels quality and if the thief wants to take your wheels they will really have to go some, we can all live in hope! Would recommend. Great service from Evans, yet to let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kstpap
from Oxford
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted15 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Pretty strong and long enough chain. 4 starts because it is quite heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luscious
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Not dainty but it works

Posted14 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Chunky and heavy, but works in all the places D locks don't - large poles and other wide street furniture. Length is about perfect to fix your bike to most anything.
If weight is a major issue I'd go for a different lock, but if security is more important this lock is a very good choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
byrnesy

Posted29 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Sure its heavier than other locks but with the weight you feel assured. My bike hasn't been stolen yet so guess it works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jpp1
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and handy

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Looks good and does the job well enough. This lock is more convenient to carry around with your bike, than U-lock or thick wire lock. That's at least when you don't have any rear rack of other places to stash the lock in. The length makes it possible to attach the bike to lampposts or trees and it coils around the seat post nicely when you're in the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MandCandO
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Option

Posted17 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Light, Strong and easy to use...convenient length to encircle lamp post and other objects..but not easy if you want to carry on your shoulder..The fabric cover make difference when its came to take care of the paint but the connection to the lock bit flimsy..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IanTheBeard
from Cardiff
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality chain

Posted21 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This chain is a good heavy-duty piece of equipment; some people might say its weight is a con however I find assurance in knowing it's not some lightweight, burglar friendly, cereal packet jewellery. In fact I found it's surprisingly light for its generous length so I haven't found the weight an issue. Furthermore, the length is adequate to fit around lampposts, wide handrails or other awkward objects onto which you might find you have to lock your bike. The natural malleable properties of a chain means it is easily carried around in the bottom of your backpack without taking up much room. The locking mechanism is sturdy and not prone to jamming like some cheaper key-lock chains and comes with a spare key.
All round I'm very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone who regularly commutes on their bike and has to leave it somewhere which isn't secure.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Ionus Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lively

A weight of my mind

Posted06 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
In spite of its weight, this lock provides a convenient length chain to encircle lamp posts and with no weak links would appear to be the ideal security chain for bikes. Fit conveniently around the saddle post, so is easy to carry on the bike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.