Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Child Seats or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack

Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Review 1 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cooko

Excellent spacious and secure seat

PostedJune 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I looked at a number of seats as my daughter can be quite fussy but she really liked this bike seat. We tried the Hamax but the fixing seemed more flimsy and not as spacious. She loves going in this and the quality is excellent overall. It is expensive but it does include a separate good quality aluminium rack that makes it easy to take the seat on and off and use the rack. Good comments from other parents and children about the seat. My only criticism is that you can't put the strap on when they have their helmets on - have to put them on, then the strap, then the helmet which can be a bit frustrating especially if you have had a battle about putting the helmet on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thehoff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Really pleased, great kids seat

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Agonised for ages over which child seat to go for, which was a bit more confusing due to some supporting disc breaks and some not, and ended up settling for this one. It seems to be at the top end of the price range, but well worth the money. The rack was easy to fix onto the bike, the seat was all all assembled and just needed slotting on. The combination of straps and bar really put your mind at easy that the little one is secure, and my 17 month old has been enjoying trips out on the back for a few months now.
Have side bought an extra rack to out onto my wife's bike, so we can just swap the seat over and share the workload - works brilliantly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Switz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great child seat, very easy to fit and remove.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: foot straps not that easy to adjust
Just bought this for our one year boy - he loves being in it. Was very easy to fit the rack and the seat has a great mechanism for easily taking in and off. Nice idea to have some suspension in as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jgcsurrey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made. Safe. Secure. Easy on/off feature

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent baby seat. Allows the seat to be taken quickly and easily on and off the bike with no tools meaning its a must for the family who use their bikes for other things as well. Sturdy, safe and holds baby very securely in the seat. It even has a little suspension spring for the child although my only criticisms are that this isn't quite soft enough and the padding isn't quite enough. Would have been nice in black too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pipinini

Excellent child seat

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It is a great seat and you really feel that your child is secure and protected all around (especially with the side protectors and the high back. I had a Hamax before which was much more wobbly and most definitely not as secure as this one. My son loves it and he even commented himself that it is better than the one we used before. I find it installing/removing pretty straightforward.
Evans service was excellent. Many thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mortbiker
from South wales
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My lad loves this seat and seems very happy traveling in it. Great service from evans and fitting the seat was simple.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CarlosCM
from Botucatu, BRASIL
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good seat but no warning about rack imcompatibilit

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, not compatible with topeak super tourist dx rack
This is a really good seat when talking about material and weight, very light. But, I was terribly dissapointed when I try to set this seat on my brand new TOPEAK SUPER TOURIST DX RACK, totaly imcompatible. Because this rear rack has the side bars for the side panniers it disables completely the seat to clip on it, this rack is to wide for the baby seat fits on it. It´s terrible to know I have to change my rack every time I want to travel with side panniers or ride with my son.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Babysitter Child Seat and Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wolseyboy

one happy toddler!

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to install
Cons: release mechanism
My 2 year old sits snugly in this well protected seat - the added suspension helps on bumpy trails. The seat feels very secure and robust and has a high rear for good head protection and an useful handle for holding when not riding. The x-bar is also a great safety feature which is often missing on cheaper versions. Once you've installed the rear bike carrier then it is very simple to install /remove the seat from the bike - although the securing device is a bit crude and can jam ( I carry a rubber mallet with me to knock out the plastic locking pad). My only frustration has been with the feet securing straps which can be a bit fiddly.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.