Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Storage or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit

Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit

Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Review 1 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CFCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Really sturdy rack

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, sturdy, secure, easy to install, saves storage space
Cons: instructions not accurate
We only use this for garage storage but it's brilliant at it. It's really sturdy, easy to put up, easy to use, very secure & saves more space that you'd think. The only criticism is that the instructions for the mounting point give the wrong size & tell you to drill a hole bigger than you want.
(Not sure how good it would be for a work unit because you wouldn't be able to get to the whole bike without lifting it off & turning it, & you'd need to have enough space around the rack to get to the bike in the first place)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim42
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Solid storage for 2 bikes, with some effort

PostedMay 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was one of the few wall racks I could find that holds 2 bikes and probably the only one at a reasonable price. The rack itself seems very sturdy. I did manage to put 2 bikes on it but since they are a hybrid and a mountain bike, which both have wide handlebars, its a bit of a struggle to fit them. OK for storage but I wouldn't want to take the bikes on and off every day.
I fitted the rack to a garage wall made of lightweight insulation block and the supplied screws were no good for that (the instructions do say the screws are for brick or solid blocks). Having tried and failed with rawl plugs and anchor bolts I finally got it fixed with resin (some sort of specialist builders glue) and metal bolts set into the wall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark35
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong and easy to install.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I am hopeless at DIY but easily fixed this rack onto concrete block garage wall with the screws provided, you really don't need wallplugs!
Rack easily holds my MTB and cyclocross bikes. Well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveZimbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great storage unit

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Admittedly this is my first wall-mounted storage system, but I must say that I am impressed with this product. Easy to install and use. If mounting in the garage and near the garage door, make sure that you test that the garage door closes whilst the bikes will be in situ. I didn't first time round!
Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ned91
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and secure storage

PostedJune 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The unit was easy to fit and use. The quality is very good, but may put a stronger padlock on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Martyn12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good for some but not all bikes

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: bit too small
Very easy to install. Robust, easily copes with a heavy load. Wanted to load two bikes: (1) A 19" Orange MTB and (2) a medium sized Specialized MTB. Once the large Orange bike (with its 26" wide handle bars) was on the Maxx Raxx, I found it difficult to add the Specialized - not enough space - because of the Orange's handlebars.
I found I COULD load two medium (15.5" frames) mountain bikes....but it was a tight fit. And I suspect that 2 ROAD bikes (with narrower handlebars compared to MTBs) would fit even more easily on the Maxx Raxx (BUT I have not checked that out).
Concluson: I am happy with the product - as it gets my son's Orange MTB "up and out of the way". But if you want to store 2 bikes on the Maxx Raxx, you do need to be aware of the above described size constraints in relationship to the types of bike you have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Exceptional quality. Easy to install & operate.

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An extremely high quality product.
Almost everything you'll need is included in the box. You will require a 6mm or 6.5mm masonry drill bit, 6mm for 'softer' material (eg breeze block) or 6.5mm for 'harder' material (eg brick). Also a powerful drill, preferably with hammer action if you're drilling into concrete/brick etc.
Otherwise it comes with all the fixings (3 x brick screws, no rawl plugs required) and a security driver bit to screw them in with (needed because they have a special anti tamper head).
The rack is very stable when fitted to brick. I weigh 70kg and I hung off the end of the bar and it was absolutely rock solid, so two bikes weighing 25-30kgs combined is nothing for this thing!
The ratchet/webbing system works very well and keeps your bike tightly strapped to the rack. The built-in steel security cable is a nice touch and comes with a padlock. This is useful because it means you can lock your bikes easily & they are secure even if you have the garage door open.
In summary: I'm very pleased with the product & would highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DDCheshire
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Extremely good solution, garage storage/security

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit with all parts included. Good solution for brick garage wall to store bikes securely. Great that kids can leave garage door open and the bikes are still secure during the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dreadnought
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Product and Evans good but lousy carrier.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I am very pleased with the Maxx Raxx two bike storage unit which is well made and securely holds two bikes. I would certainly reccommend this product which, whilst more expensive than some bike storage brackets, offers a degree of security against theft which is what I wanted. I found the service from Evans Cycles very good indeed with the item dispatched exactly as promised. However, I would not recommend their choice of carrier, an organsiation called Yodel, which failed to deliver in accordance with its own website procedure. Fortunately I was able to collect it from a local depot which appeared to have no working IT system so I was lucky it was able to be found.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGeneral

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Just fitted the Maxx Raxx storage unit in my gagrage. Very easy to fit and the two GT mountain bikes sit on the holders well. I can even get my car into the garage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chopper67
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to operate
The only rack I found on the market that can accommodate two bikes. Fortunately, it performs well. Fitting was simple, even for a DIY novice. Bikes can be quickly secured and unsecured. I have no use for the integral lock, but its appears to function well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ozwoz
from Bedfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Buy this

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to assemble.... Easy to use....excellent product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robo1
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
It does exactly what it said it would and well. Holds two bikes with ease.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whocares
from North West England
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for storing bikes but not ideal for repairs

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, simple to assemble
This bracket is very simple to assemble and mount on the wall. Only 3 screws needed and they are supplied in the kit. It's very useful for holding 2 bikes. However, you should be very careful about where you mount it. Your top frame tube will be horizontal with the ground when your bike sits in the rack, so don't be surprised to find your saddle far higher than your handlebars and your front wheel far lower than the rear. Be careful not to mount too close to the garage ceiling. Also, I wouldn't recommend it for bike maintenance or repairs. A proper bike stad that grips the seat tube is far more stable. The 2 bike mounts can easily slide along the main bracket, and it would benefit from a screw to hold each in place.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucien
from Hampton
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

An excellent purchase - meets my expectations

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a very thoughtfully designed unit that easily accommodates two mountainbikes in relatively small space in my garage. It was easy to install and appears to be of excellent quality at this early stage - time will tell. At this point in time, I would happily recommend it to someone requiring a compact good quality bike storage unit at a reasonable price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RForeman
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Easy to fir storage rack

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to fix to the wall and set up and took about 20 mins. Very solidly made and stores the bikes perfectly and securely. Will be buying a second one to replace existing 'two prong' rack to store remaining bikes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxx Raxx 2 Bike Storage/Work Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LandyBoy
from Wigan

If Carlsberg made racks it would exactly like this

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very well made rack, solidily constructed and very easy to put up. Holds the bike securely with the inbuild ratchet strap. Neat feature of locking the bike to the storage rack. All parts supplied to fix to a wall including security bolts. In summary well made, looks good and keeps your bike safe when not in use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.