Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack

Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack

Its compact uni-body frame fits a variety of vehicle makes and models, just like bigger bike racks do, minus the adjustments. It also fits neatly in a trunk or closet, making Solo as easy to store as it is to use. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.346 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
75 out of 78Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
133 Questions | 178 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Review 1 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works exactly as described

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitting the rack to any car (I tried three) is swift and straightforward, and once attached the whole thing feels really secure!
I would definitely recommend this to friends, although I haven't used it over longer disctances (+100km).
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good product, does a job.

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: see above
This is a good product which keeps my bike secure on the back of the car. Easy to fit. One star deducted as on my car the bike pedal does come into contact with the car and needs to have padding for protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Easy to set up on car

Posted16 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: bike swing out at the bottom with nothing to secur
This product is easy to attach to the car. However there is nothing to secure the bottom of the bike and it swings as soon as I start to drive. I have had to wrap the pedal with bubble wrap to stop it damaging my car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

did not fit my car

Posted23 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Poor inforamtion relating to what cars the product fits to !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Doesn't quite fit an Audi a1

Posted15 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: only suits hatchbacks with no spoiler
I have purchased this and fitted it to an Audi A1 tfsi S-Line. It has been carrying a Norco Range, although I pull the straps as tight a possible(without breaking the spoiler) it seems to lift on the side the rear bike wheel sits; due to the short journeys I have made thus far, it is not an issue and I am happy to continue to using the bike rack, the price point far outweighs the minor issue I have; however I as yet do not have the confidence in this product to use it on an extended journey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic rack

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, easy to install
Nice basic rack, and great value. Super easy to install. Have to make sure the bike is balanced quite well on the back otherwise rack will develop a tilt, which is a bit unnerving in the rear view mirror! Compact enough when not in use to store behind driver's seat. Pleased with my purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Does the job nicely

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I'll admit that I was a little bit skeptical about this rack. It's claims to be cheap, sturdy and fits on just about any car. Surely there has to be a catch.
As far as I can tell though, there isn't.
It's very easy to fit. I think my first attempt took about 5 minutes and I can get everything sorted now in even less. It's rock solid once you've got a bike on there, although I have a road bike so it's not exactly the heaviest thing in the world.
The only issue on my particular car ('05 Mini Cooper) is that the straps ever so slightly obscure some of the number plate. You can still see the brake lights/indicators but a particularly vindictive copper could probably still give you a fine if they really wanted to. Personally, I'm going to just hang a number plate off the top tube just to be sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great Design - fits easily in boot when not in use

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, great design, compact
Cons: can cover no. plate
Top design work. Solid when fitted properly. Fits in small boot of my convertible when not in use.
The only downsides I can see are that you may need to hang a number plate on top of bike and that if you position bike badly on it then it might be less stable.
Pleased with this and the protectapads are a useful addition to prevent scratching if bike connects with car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
this product is well made and very simple to use.it takes less than 5 minutes to fit to your car.i used this so as to enable me to carry my mountain bike as well as towing my caravan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what I want from a single bike rack.

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Hassle free design makes for easy fixing to the car and provides a secure stowage for my bike in transit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly as described on the website and reviews.

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I have done one trial run with the rack and bike fitted and it appears to meet my requirements exactly.
It appears ideal for solo trips further afield or for being rescued by partner.
No more hernia's lifting bike onto the car roof.
The rack is compact enough to be kept in the back of the car ready for use. It has no loose parts.
One minor gripe - one strap had to be rethreaded before the rack could be fitted correctly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:East Dulwich

very easy to fit

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
This was a great purvhase esp if your other half doesnt appreciate the transportation of a bike on all holidays. Its in and off in minutes and very unobtrusive.
Only criticism is that it isnt obvious when its properly on. the first time i used it there was a lot of movement at 50mph the second, with no obvious difference was rock solid at 70.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
If you need car rack for one bike only- this is such an easy way to go. It is cheep, light way, ready to mount from the box, and very steady fixed. I had much bigger and expensive racks before, and the simplicity of the saris solo is a real joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
So easy to use, very light and small but holds my road bike perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than I expected !

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
With a second baby on the way and my dwindling budget being spent on bikes rather than cars I was fast running out of bits I could remove from the pony before I could squeeze it in the car.
I took a punt on this Saris because I know the brand and travelled with three downhill bikes on a Bones rack many times in my youth.
I fitted it to the Polo in literally 5 minuites and slapped the Road bike on with the wheels in the car..
I used two extra bungees to stop lateral movement then drilled it from Kent to North Devon...
The bike didn't move at all I was totally rigid the whole way...
Really solid rack compared to many I've used and I have used it ever since .
Would defiantly reccomend..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works well - good value for money

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This bike rack is very easy to fit and remove (well under a minute) and carries a bike safely and securely. The only downside is that the bike (at least on my car) is not held far from the body work of the car, leaving one of the tyres to rest alongside the bumper and the pedal nearest the car could swing onto the bodywork. These problems can be resolved fairly easily - so overall a good rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Awesome car carrier

Posted12 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I just wanted a cheap, easy to install and reliable carrier, lucked out with this one, it ticks all the boxes. Fits on my Ford Focus surprisingly securely, and does what it says on the tin! It also comes with a lifetime warranty so it's a no brainier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great item

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great item dose the job and dose it quick to put and feels really secure done a couple of moterway trips with it on and it is great really pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good rack for single bike use

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: need to buy add ons
This is the first car rack I have bought and it certainly works well. Have used it on a couple of trips now and it does the job. A couple of tips-buy the pads as they work well to ensure there is a reduced chance of damage to the bike and car. I have shimano spd pedals and one pad fits round this and stops any movement or scratching. Lastly buy the supporting clips for the wheels - this will stop the rear wheel turning and the front wheel from twisting and is worth the extra £8. In sum a good rack that functions well and is extremely easy to fit,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A great lightweight cycle carrier. I bought this for my wife, so she can take her bike out without having to struggle with our larger carrier. Really easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>