Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack

Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack

Its compact uni-body frame fits a variety of vehicle makes and models, just like bigger bike racks do, minus the adjustments. It also fits neatly in a trunk or closet, making Solo as easy to store as it is to use. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
70 out of 71Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
123 Questions | 167 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Review 1 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
punchcard
Country:Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works exactly as described

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitting the rack to any car (I tried three) is swift and straightforward, and once attached the whole thing feels really secure!
I would definitely recommend this to friends, although I haven't used it over longer disctances (+100km).
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hobb99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
this product is well made and very simple to use.it takes less than 5 minutes to fit to your car.i used this so as to enable me to carry my mountain bike as well as towing my caravan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EddyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what I want from a single bike rack.

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Hassle free design makes for easy fixing to the car and provides a secure stowage for my bike in transit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Putkin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly as described on the website and reviews.

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I have done one trial run with the rack and bike fitted and it appears to meet my requirements exactly.
It appears ideal for solo trips further afield or for being rescued by partner.
No more hernia's lifting bike onto the car roof.
The rack is compact enough to be kept in the back of the car ready for use. It has no loose parts.
One minor gripe - one strap had to be rethreaded before the rack could be fitted correctly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
alexmc
It was bought:East Dulwich

very easy to fit

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
This was a great purvhase esp if your other half doesnt appreciate the transportation of a bike on all holidays. Its in and off in minutes and very unobtrusive.
Only criticism is that it isnt obvious when its properly on. the first time i used it there was a lot of movement at 50mph the second, with no obvious difference was rock solid at 70.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nirozer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
If you need car rack for one bike only- this is such an easy way to go. It is cheep, light way, ready to mount from the box, and very steady fixed. I had much bigger and expensive racks before, and the simplicity of the saris solo is a real joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winchester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
So easy to use, very light and small but holds my road bike perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baggy1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than I expected !

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
With a second baby on the way and my dwindling budget being spent on bikes rather than cars I was fast running out of bits I could remove from the pony before I could squeeze it in the car.
I took a punt on this Saris because I know the brand and travelled with three downhill bikes on a Bones rack many times in my youth.
I fitted it to the Polo in literally 5 minuites and slapped the Road bike on with the wheels in the car..
I used two extra bungees to stop lateral movement then drilled it from Kent to North Devon...
The bike didn't move at all I was totally rigid the whole way...
Really solid rack compared to many I've used and I have used it ever since .
Would defiantly reccomend..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarkSC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works well - good value for money

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This bike rack is very easy to fit and remove (well under a minute) and carries a bike safely and securely. The only downside is that the bike (at least on my car) is not held far from the body work of the car, leaving one of the tyres to rest alongside the bumper and the pedal nearest the car could swing onto the bodywork. These problems can be resolved fairly easily - so overall a good rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nimms
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Awesome car carrier

Posted12 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I just wanted a cheap, easy to install and reliable carrier, lucked out with this one, it ticks all the boxes. Fits on my Ford Focus surprisingly securely, and does what it says on the tin! It also comes with a lifetime warranty so it's a no brainier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevenP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great item

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great item dose the job and dose it quick to put and feels really secure done a couple of moterway trips with it on and it is great really pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wolverine1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good rack for single bike use

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: need to buy add ons
This is the first car rack I have bought and it certainly works well. Have used it on a couple of trips now and it does the job. A couple of tips-buy the pads as they work well to ensure there is a reduced chance of damage to the bike and car. I have shimano spd pedals and one pad fits round this and stops any movement or scratching. Lastly buy the supporting clips for the wheels - this will stop the rear wheel turning and the front wheel from twisting and is worth the extra £8. In sum a good rack that functions well and is extremely easy to fit,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grannie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A great lightweight cycle carrier. I bought this for my wife, so she can take her bike out without having to struggle with our larger carrier. Really easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TimH1950
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Does the job

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I used this on my wifes Yaris to transport my bike from Bournemouth to Horsham. Very secure.
Might be a bit concerned about visibility of the rear number plate but had no issues raised on this journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pandu
Country:Indonesia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use the solo just occasionally to transport my Polygon Helios C5.0 and it works fantastically. My bike doesn't bump my car, but I was worried about it happening when I first purchased it. I even used it to take my bike on a 2 hour road trip and it didn't budge even at 75 kph. Overall totally worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Quick to fit and good value

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I found this rack quick and pretty straightforward to fit. Took a bit of trial and error to find the best way of positioning it on theback of the car to minimise movement. Once fitted and bike loaded it proved to be fairly stable even at high motorway speeds. Didn't mark paintwork on either car or bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnffc23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent styish little rack

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I normally use Thule on the roof bars but I bought this for my son for his Ford Ka and I borrowed it to take a 3rd bike to an event and it sat solid on the back of the Golf Estate.
Only slight negative is it has scratched the paintwork slightly (it'll T-Cut out) where the rubber pads are just a little too hard. If they were softer it would not mark. Having said that the rack and bike never moved, even sitting at 70 on motorways
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mb13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Fantastically simple carrier.

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product, simple and yet robust, quick and easy to fit and securely held my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mendy22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Secure car rack

Posted07 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Used this recently on a trip from Swansea to Anglesey. It's easy to fit to the car. The rack performed admirably on all types of driving - from motorway to twisting roads up in the hills. Bike was stable and no movment at all was visible.
The only drawback is the cost. That said, I have used cheaper racks in the past and the bike wobbled all over the place.
Also, the item was not boxed and so did not have fitting instructions and a product code for warranty registration with Saris.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Saris Solo 1 Bike Boot Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyedeebee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Quick and easy carrier

Posted31 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quick and easy to fit, great single bike carrier. Easy to store, nice and light - recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>