Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones Solo Rack

Saris Bones Solo Rack

Its compact uni-body frame fits a variety of vehicle makes and models, just like bigger bike racks do, minus the adjustments. It also fits neatly in a trunk or closet, making Solo as easy to store as it is to use. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
97 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
punchcard
Country:Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works exactly as described

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitting the rack to any car (I tried three) is swift and straightforward, and once attached the whole thing feels really secure!
I would definitely recommend this to friends, although I haven't used it over longer disctances (+100km).
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mb13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Fantastically simple carrier.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: ease of use
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product, simple and yet robust, quick and easy to fit and securely held my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mendy22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Secure car rack

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Used this recently on a trip from Swansea to Anglesey. It's easy to fit to the car. The rack performed admirably on all types of driving - from motorway to twisting roads up in the hills. Bike was stable and no movment at all was visible.
The only drawback is the cost. That said, I have used cheaper racks in the past and the bike wobbled all over the place.
Also, the item was not boxed and so did not have fitting instructions and a product code for warranty registration with Saris.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyedeebee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Quick and easy carrier

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quick and easy to fit, great single bike carrier. Easy to store, nice and light - recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AndyI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Handy carrier

PostedMay 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This carrier is fine for short distances and modest speed. Above about 40MPH it lifts off the rear screen and becomes slightly unstable. To be fair this may depend on the vehicle it's fitted to and bike carried. I used it on a Citroen C4 with a girls bike which meant the rear wheel was high up and more exposed to drag (due to cross bar angle) which may explain what happened.
I believe it's a handy carrier that avoids the need to carry a bike inside a vehicle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutts2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Simple and safe!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this and had it fitted within 10 minutes - the straps are clearly- marked so you can't really go wrong. Used it for a 600-mile round-trip on motorways and moorland and there was very little, if any, movement. I carried a standard (ie not featherweight) road bike. For a better profile I removed the front wheel and put it in the boot, otherwise the only precaution to recommend is padding for where the straps fit on the top-tube so you don't come away with scratches, and something on the inside crank so it doesn't knock under braking. The straps are long enough to tie to the back wheel and handlebars to keep them from moving. All in all, a fantastic product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChewyStu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent bit of kit...just not for my car...

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: confusion over fitting to my car
I bought this for a Ford Fiesta 2009 - was in something of a dilemna as Saris' shop fitting guide said it wouldn't fit my car, yet their fitting guide on their website said it would.
I bought it from Evans on the basis if it didn't fit I could return it.
It fitted to the car very easily. The legs straddled the rear windscreen wiper and the 4 straps fitted quickly and easily to the car. The rack felt very secure on the car.
However, once I put the bike on it, the whole rack shifted downwards and the bottom legs lifted off the boot of the car, no matter how hard I tightened the straps.
A VERY good product if it fits your car properly - quick and easy to fit and small for easy storage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jtr7147
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good product for my needs

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I struggled to find a bike rack for my mondeo estate 2011 model without paying a fortune . The back door has a couple of slots which take the hooks. The bike sits firmly on the rack very secure. Nice light rack for a single bike even fits my wife's KA !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

OUTSTANDING!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Wanted something that is easy to fit and take off and this product suit the bill. I am not great in writing review but prompted to do so because of the quality and ease of this product. It take me about 2mins to set up and really steady as well. Please buy this product if you are looking for a single Top quality, easy to fit and affordable bike rack!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LouC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin...

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, stable, easy to use, nice size, reliable
The Saris Bones Solo rack is refreshingly straightforward to use, simple to fit, and does the job brilliantly.
It's a robust little unit, with no moving parts to worry about adjusting / fitting to your car. The straps are already attached with easy to use sliders, and the unit only works one way up which is clearly labelled and (I would suggest) hard to get wrong!
Once you've planted its feet to your car, it is very stable, and despite my initial fears that it's small size wouldn't aid this, the overall design leaves your bike with very little rocking / wobbling about on the back of your vehicle.
Better still, I've found myself using just a single bungee to secure my front wheel / handlebars as the Bones Solo's straps already deal with the pedals.
Coming back to it's size - a doddle to store at home or sling in the boot when not in use!
I am significantly more confident in it's ability to do the job than with the rack it replaced, which makes for a far less nervous driver!
I highly recommend the Saris Bones Solo for anyone who occasionally carries a single bike around and doesn't want much hassle and faff.
Further Info: I own / use an '04 plate Vauxhall Corsa, and have used the unit with a few different bike frame types.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harry270664
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great purchase

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
this item was purchased because i have just changed my car
and would have needed to buy new roof bars and cycle carrier because the old would not fit the new ,what a great purchase ,very easy to fit
and then take off after use and a good size to store in the boot ,feels secure when driving ,its a good idea to wrap some padding around the peddle ,or remove the peddle before securing the bike to the carrier ,for the price and convenience, if you only want to carry one bike ,you cant go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris1889
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Does the job

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Wanted a cost effective carrier, does the job, only drawback is lacks a little bit of flexibility on the type of vehicle it fits onto, but for the money a solid bit of kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PTS570
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Saris Bones Solo Rack

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bike carrier does the job perfectly. Thanks to great help and advice from the Brentford team........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyWilliams
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Quick to set up and very secure

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to take my bike to a tri and it took a matter of mins to set up.
Buy some bunge cords for stablising the wheels and some foam for your crank arm to protect the car.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peteg79

Excellent product

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent product taken it out already and sturdy and safe with the bike on my mini one 2002 plate
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kolof
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

The product is relatively easy to setup & dismount

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Using this equipment everyother day for the past month has been a relief. Quite reliable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chipata
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Ideal product-well designed and ergonomic

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, fit for purpose, legally compliant
I thought that the product was flimsy at first but, when fitted, it proved to be rigid , reliable and fit for purpose. It allows carriage of one adult size bike without obscuring lights or nuber plate on my FORD FUSION.
I would advise use of sponge or felt pads under each of the anchor points to protect car paint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hjhnjj

PostedJune 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Decent, well made. . No qualms. Fits my 1 series bmw hatchback. Quick to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TriKev23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Decent for price

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, quick to fit
Cons: not that sturdy
Picked this up as needed a lightweight & small rack for my bike. It's not the most sturdy but carries my road bike or girlfriends mountain bike with ease. It needs some care when installing and should come with rubber stickers for grip and to protect paintwork.
Perfect for me when taking my bike to work or to a triathlon. Came with free foam blocks to help protect bike & car.
Great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones Solo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kate123456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great bike rack!

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Super light and really easy to fit, would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>