Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals

Odyssey JC-PC Pedals

Here's what Odyssey had to say about the JCPC Pedal - "One shortcoming of an all plastic pedal is going to be the grip. Lightweight and fast grinding come at a price, which is not having as much grip as provided with metal pins. The JC PC is the natural progression of that last decade of pedals. The best selling, most popular shaped pedal of the last ten years combined with the most recent popular trend of a plastic bodied pedal. The JC PC also uses an assembly that few pedals have used. Instead of the traditional spindle and bolt through a solid body, the JC PC is a sandwich. Two mating plastic sides sandwich around the spindle with no bearings. The self lubricating plastic rotates around a thicker spindle. The Two sides are held together by 16 metal pins (8 per side), thus solving the grip problem that plagues all plastic pedals. When you grind a pedal down, typically the rest of the pedal is still good, but you have to throw it all away. The sides of the JC PC are replaceable. So instead of replacing an entire pedal, you just need to use one new plastic side. The JC PC takes the affordability of plastic pedals to another level. You can also install a different colored side to you have a visual cue of your 'grind' side that might have shorter pins and no grip. The spinning rate can also be adjusted by tightening or loosening the pins, which make the body bite more or less on the spindle."
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Review 1 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FergieBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best of both worlds

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lets keep it simple, more grip than regular plastics but is still forgiving for harsh landings (good for old knees) . Good value when you factor in replacement bodies and you can remove pins to give you a slippy side for grinds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UnitedForever
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing pedals, well worth the money.

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, amazing grip
Cons: expensive but worth it
had these a couple months now, ive had no problems with them and i absolutely love them, the grip is phenomenal, its better than trailmixes due to the fact that the pins are pretty much screws, this is one of the best purchases ive ever made and i know for a fact these pedals are going to last me forever and im never going to run a different pedal, the grip is fantastic even when you get caught in the wet which happens to me quite often because im in scotland, but yeah, best grip out of any other pedals ive ever tried, the spindle system is really clever, its basically an all round solid pedal, i highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harryboybmx
from kent
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

jc-pc

PostedMay 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
very good pedals really grippy best of metal and plastic combined great in wet muddy dry conditions no problems easy to assemble - however i would avoid shin contact with them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dsink
from Glasgow
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Pedals

PostedMay 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Absolute quality pedals, feel tough and bearable and of course, extremely grippy.
The replaceable parts mean I will be using these pedals for a very long time!
Very convenient to put on as they feature an axle which can be fitting with a small shifting spanner - no pedal spanner required!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JdJd

Really good pedals

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pedals are super grippy and work with everything i ride.Even in the rain the hold they have is brilliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HBailey
from Devon
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth the buy!

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Replacement parts make these pedals a great buy because you don't have to worry about wear or breaking them, they also are the best of both worlds - plastic bodies for light weight yet metal pins for extra grip!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sketch
from Romford, Essex
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best pedals ever

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
metal pins are easily available for £1 for 4 from b&q
there are no bearings to break
bodies for £10. this pedal is amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pattyr
from wakefield
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

amazing buy !!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
amazing pedals ,supper grippy ,super fast delivery amazing value for money you carnt beat £35 and free delivery for this product BUY IT !!!!!! ps Thanks evans !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
calstar
norton, northyorkshire
 
Please wait while more information about calstar is loaded.
Additional information about calstar could not be loaded.
great buy
Posted April 25, 2011
these pedals are reali light, cheep and grippy on problem is i have fallen off sometimes dojngs bars and stuff , from not been able to take my feet of quick enuff , overall great buy and i would recomed them :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Odyssey JC-PC Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RosscoMcA
Age:25-34
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very grippy

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: too grippy sometimes
these pedals seem to be stuck to my shoes which is no always a good thing but generally good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.