Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
39 out of 41Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RalphB1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Posted29 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Great quality, grip and roll. Provide confidence in all weathers! A vast improvement on previous tyres.
A little bit expensive but worth the extra cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steveb123445
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These are great

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is my second one. Got the first one after Specialized bought Armadillo and the quality slipped.
Have had no punctures in 18 months (apart from one snakebite due to under-inflation)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadRev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Never fail...well maybe once...

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've done over 5000 miles on Gatorskins and only ever had one flat. I wouldn't swap them out for anything based on that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cievo1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Ameizing I'm very hepy.its perfect person working in the shop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cpcommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great performance for a quick commute

Posted31 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've been riding these for a few weeks now and have really enjoyed the ride. Tough and durable, yet with clear performance on the roads. Surprisingly good grip even on damp or slick roads despite that fact that mine are only 23mm wide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buntonn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Fantastic winter tyres!!

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I have replaced a pair of Continental Gator tyres with these as I need maximum protection on the roads this time of year. Feel very confident using these and know I am in good hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adsfasthair
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great winter tyres

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Done a couple of hundred miles with confidence in rotten weather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GMS1203
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Top quality tyre good pincture resistance

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Good grip in all weathers despite relatively slick tread pattern. Good puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LKED
It was bought:Reading

Extremely tough!

Posted11 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having ridden on these tyres for a solid 24 hours to Paris, I didn't get a single puncture. They just keep going! There didn't seem to be any compromise on speed either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough tyre for regular use.

Posted16 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
As the name suggest, these road tyes have a hard compund which is noticeably firmer than racing tyres. Grips well enough in dry and wet conditions but not to be pushed too hard. Suggest running with 10psi less than max pressure for more rubber in contact with road. Good for fast commuting and Sunday morning recriational runs.
Appears robust and should withstand most poor road surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisfroome
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

good tyre

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive
I destroyed my previous front Gatorskin on a typical London pothole so decided to upgrade to these beauties in the hope of no more (or at least fewer) punctures. So far so good but only done 300 miles.....I'll update when or if they bite the dust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Victoria123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Confident computer ride

Posted06 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having suffered from a number of punctures in quick succession of each other whilst commuting to work I invested in a pair of these tyres. I feel confident cycling to work knowing that although I may at some point get a puncture due to the amount of debris on the cycle paths, the chances are slim and I will continue to beat the public transport home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micky46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After using All Terrain tyres decided I wanted something a bit smoother / faster and I am not disappointed. Noticed a significant difference straight away my speed increased and the overall ride was much smoother would highly recommend.!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
redadair72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Commuting Tyre.

Posted17 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, best puncture resistance
Cons: none
I buy these for my commuting road bike. Used the 23mm and 25mm tyres on different bikes for the last 5 years and never had a puncture ( astounding on the Edinburgh roads!) They are fast and the folding tyres are easy to put on. Grip great in the wet which gives you confidence at speed.
Yes, they are pricey but this is the only part of your bike that is touching the ground, so give your self the best chance of staying on the bike and avoiding punctures.
Buy these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
faser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Rode all winter

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, at first i thought they were expensive but in hind
Rode all winter 5 or 6 days a week couple of thousand miles while training for the end to end not one single puncture October to march
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gordinio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Folding Tyre

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, puncture resistant
I have just replaced my last pair of Gator Hardshells with the same in preparation for my summer of cycle touring in France and Belgium.
I found that these tyres performed simmilarly to the excellent Gatorskins but with better puncture resistance, all importtant to the touring cyclist.
The performance allows fast responsive cycling, with a robust ride with plenty of grip even in the wet. I am confident of my footing even on tow paths or other off piste type cycling that I find myself doing from time to time.
On my touring bike I use Mavic Open Pro Rims on Campag Centaur Hubs and have completed over 15000 miles of riding on this combination.
I can recommend the Gator Hardshell Tyres for Commuting/Touring and general day to day riding. For added performance at speed I choose the Conti GP4000s 23mm clincher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adeyw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Always reliable

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Done thousands of miles on Gatorskins and they always hold up well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stubbsjoshua
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Brilliant.

Posted04 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rode from John O'Groats to Land's End using these tyres and managed not to get a single puncture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wheely
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Posted19 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The Hardshell works really well for London roads, doesn't wear down nearly as quickly as my last tyre. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EPS56
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for regular road cycling

Posted19 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A tough and resilient tyre that can take a lot of hammer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>