Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
46 out of 48Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Great Tyres

Posted03 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very strong tyres, last a really long time. it feels very comfortable and grounded for stable riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great durable tyre, really tough and not too heavy. Very slippy at first though so be careful round corners on the first few rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good quality tyre though tricky to fit

Posted24 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I hope this will be a good investment to save on new inner tubes/ repairs from the many pot holes and "rubbish" that ends up on Sheffield's roads! The tyre is a bit tricky to fit but looks good and I've not yet had a puncture in wet and wintry conditions in over 300 miles since fitting. Overall, recommended for a tough winter tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Reliable

Posted22 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
The tire is reliable, good quality. So far no complaints. In wet and dry conditions does the job well. Recommend for everyday use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Hard wearing and grippy

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Rolls very well and grips great in the wet although doesn't look to have much grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good tyre

Posted06 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Ridden regularly for a month and no punctures so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Re-assuring for those long rides

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought and used these for a long sportief as my Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres finally got a a deep nick which I didn't want to risk. I was advised by Evans that these would be good and must say that the ride and use was very good. The only reason there don't get a fhigher rating is until I have had them for a while I don't know how they would stack up against the Schwalbes and they are quite expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Posted29 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Great quality, grip and roll. Provide confidence in all weathers! A vast improvement on previous tyres.
A little bit expensive but worth the extra cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These are great

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is my second one. Got the first one after Specialized bought Armadillo and the quality slipped.
Have had no punctures in 18 months (apart from one snakebite due to under-inflation)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Never fail...well maybe once...

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've done over 5000 miles on Gatorskins and only ever had one flat. I wouldn't swap them out for anything based on that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Ameizing I'm very hepy.its perfect person working in the shop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great performance for a quick commute

Posted31 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've been riding these for a few weeks now and have really enjoyed the ride. Tough and durable, yet with clear performance on the roads. Surprisingly good grip even on damp or slick roads despite that fact that mine are only 23mm wide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Fantastic winter tyres!!

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I have replaced a pair of Continental Gator tyres with these as I need maximum protection on the roads this time of year. Feel very confident using these and know I am in good hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great winter tyres

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Done a couple of hundred miles with confidence in rotten weather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Top quality tyre good pincture resistance

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Good grip in all weathers despite relatively slick tread pattern. Good puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Reading

Extremely tough!

Posted11 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having ridden on these tyres for a solid 24 hours to Paris, I didn't get a single puncture. They just keep going! There didn't seem to be any compromise on speed either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough tyre for regular use.

Posted16 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
As the name suggest, these road tyes have a hard compund which is noticeably firmer than racing tyres. Grips well enough in dry and wet conditions but not to be pushed too hard. Suggest running with 10psi less than max pressure for more rubber in contact with road. Good for fast commuting and Sunday morning recriational runs.
Appears robust and should withstand most poor road surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

good tyre

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive
I destroyed my previous front Gatorskin on a typical London pothole so decided to upgrade to these beauties in the hope of no more (or at least fewer) punctures. So far so good but only done 300 miles.....I'll update when or if they bite the dust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Confident computer ride

Posted06 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having suffered from a number of punctures in quick succession of each other whilst commuting to work I invested in a pair of these tyres. I feel confident cycling to work knowing that although I may at some point get a puncture due to the amount of debris on the cycle paths, the chances are slim and I will continue to beat the public transport home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After using All Terrain tyres decided I wanted something a bit smoother / faster and I am not disappointed. Noticed a significant difference straight away my speed increased and the overall ride was much smoother would highly recommend.!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>