Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wheely
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The Hardshell works really well for London roads, doesn't wear down nearly as quickly as my last tyre. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EPS56
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for regular road cycling

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A tough and resilient tyre that can take a lot of hammer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NepalJack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

easy to fit - looks tough wearing

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
bought this to try and improve on 4 seasons model durability (not found to be resistant enough to cuts from stones etc)
Click and reserve is a better deal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SJR85
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Tyre - Fantastic Price

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This Tyre speaks for itself.
I do a lot of KM's commuting and these are the perfect tyre for the job.
Cheapest on the web!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
railwayman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Will it do what it say's on the tin?

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Early days but hope it will give increased puncture protection. Normally use standard Continental gators but thought I would upgrade. Too early to say comment on performance as only cycled a few hundred miles with them to date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Winter Tyres

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These were easy to fit and appear just right for the daily winter commute. It is a little too early comment on puncture resistance but so far so good. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent Tyre

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Great durable commuter/tourer tyre, bought to replace Specialized Armadillo and they seem equal if not better quality tyre. Highly recommend.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent Tyres!

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought these following a recommendation by a member of staff in the Wimbledon store, and I have to say I am very pleased with them!
I was a little concerned they would be difficult to fit, but they went on a dream. No punctures, even when battling my way across London to work.
The ride is a little firmer than my Hutchinson Equinox 2's but I am running a higher pressure and I would put it down to that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richnz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Excellent commuting and training tyre

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Really happy with this tyre as found it to be fast rolling and so far no punctures on my commuting in London. Also found it to be a more comfortable ride than my specialized tyres I had before even though I run these at a higher pressure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkeybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Brilliant!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tyre has been awesome during the winter weather on my daily commute. Recommended without reservation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David50
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very good tyre..

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have run these tyres on both of my road bikes, current stats are 1885 miles punture free on my Bianchi and 979 miles puncher free on my Felt. All mileage undertaken in last 4 months so over the horrible weather/road condition period.
Tyres on the Bianchi are now looking a little warn but no horrible cuts/gashes.
Tyres on the Felt, well still look as good as new other than one 3mm gash on front tyre. Picked out big flint that most other tyres I have had would have punchered.
Dave.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eswarap
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Tyre

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Light weight, fast, easy to put it on and puncture resistant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DTrain
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Conti Gator Hardshell - great puncture resistance

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
These tyres have already saved me on at least 5 occasions from having to fix a puncture on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cavo71
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value, hard wearing, puncture resistant

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Gatorskins woud have to be the best value hardest wearing tyres around. I have tried many other brands and puncture after puncture I decided to give the gators a go. I have now been using gators for many years and will not be changing anytime soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boof
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost bullet proof

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, almost puncture proof
I do around 7500 klm a year, mosty on the edge of country roads where there is usually a lot of debris. I have just got through a whole summer without one flat on the gatorskins. The only flat I did have was while using a spare set of wheels that had GP4000's on them. The gatorskins are only VERY, VERY slightly slower than tyres like the GP 4000, but if you want to avoid flats, they are the way to go. They do well in the wet and dry so i love them for day to day rides. Boof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roughrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Folding convert

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, grippy
Following recent hardshell wired purchase decided to try the folding version too. I have always used wired till now but wanted to try a folder in preparation of future touring plans, as I would feel happier with a spare in my pack
Much easier to fit on first use than wired. Performs well so far , no punctures when others seemed to be suffering on recent Sportive. Once unpacked the tyre forms into usual shape surprisingly quickly
Happy newbie to the folding experience
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Claus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Tough tire

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
380 miles in 4 days, no punctures. Tough without feeling like wellies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
abdomet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Did not do the function

PostedJune 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable, not puncture resistant
I bought them after in store advice as I suffered lots of punctures. In 200 miles they punctured 5 times. Changing the inner tube is very difficult as the tyres are really stiff. Rolling is very heavy and they never grip on wet ground.
I would go back to my original specialized tyres as they are brand new.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic!!

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
I was recommended these tyres after suffering regular punctures on rural roads. Since then I have not suffered one.....they are great. Very tight fit and hold pressure really well, I'm impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JL2012
from london Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

punctures

PostedJuly 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, Uncomfortable
I got two punctures in less than 100kms, the ride is not smooth at all. I will not buy Continental again (nor for my car)
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>