Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Youll know when one of Continentals tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
80 out of 82Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRosa
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training tyres

Posted13 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: not for racing
I bought these to replace my usual GP4000s tyres. While the GPs gripped like the race tyres they are, for general use in all weathers they tended to attract glass/flints and mysterious cuts/slashes appeared in the tread over time.
After a month or so of use I can confirm that while the Gatorskins ultimate grip doesn't feel as good, it is certainly good enough for all but race use and is fine even in wet conditions. I can't comment on how they will react to Northern Hemisphere winters though.
They also feel a bit more 'sluggish' & 'dead' straight after using the GPs but again, it isn't a major drawback for even fast training rides.
The dreaded tread cuts have not appeared and (so far) neither have any punctures or flints.
All in all a great tyre for anything but flat out crit racing. I'll certainly be buying more of these for regular bunch rides but I'll maybe keep some GP4000s set aside just for special occasions :o)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CR64
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been looking for the Holy Grail of tyres for a while, as I'm sure have many. A light tyre, with low rolling resistance and high puncture protection.
There will always be compromises between out and out speed and resistance to punctures but I've found these gatorskins to be a good balance.
I ride about 200 miles a week, mostly on main roads to and from work but also around the Surrey hills and lanes. So far, these tyres haven't let me down.
I've certainly ridden lighter and faster tyres, but they tended to puncture if you sneezed on them.
These have so far repelled any attempt by flint, stone or glass to penetrate, do not feel sluggish at all and feel grippy even in heavy rain.
These are my first Continentals so others in the range may have different qualities.
On a practical note I found them easy to fit without resorting to levers, which hasn't always been the case with other folding tyres I've tried.
I'm very happy with these tyres and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazman75
from Hemel Hempstead
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exellent tyre

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
What a great tyre fantastic grip wet and dry conditions, been on several long rides now and so far no punctures even after hitting some very large pot holes. A very smooth rolling tyre have already recomended to others. Also very fast delivery once again from evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cwgw1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great, free rolling tyre

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
No punctures for over 800 miles. :-)
I'd used specialised tyres and whilst it just be bad luck this season, I was getting flats all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Gatorskin tyre, provides security

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Conti Gatorskins are great, especially if riding around the country lanes, tend to last the right amount of time/distance before needing to replace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pettowl
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These tyres are perfect for commuting, you'll get 1000s of miles out of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justgo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Hate Punctures; get this tyre

Posted19 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Since I have purchased this tyre, no issues. Perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good so far

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good tyres so far, but a bit pricey. Will need to wait a bit longer to see if they stand the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good reliable tyre

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Using this on my BMC GF01 - I like the 25mm width, it's the right compromise between comfort and performance.
So far so good on the puncture protection too.
The weight is good, not much more than other 'race' tyres but with the added piece of mind of the puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DevrimUy
It was bought:Online

Durable, satisfactory protection

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, durable
I have bought the 28c. It fits to Canyon road bike, M frame. But anything larger wouldn't fit.
I have had a few punctures in the early months, but no punctures for the last 6 months, that is more then 5000 km.
It has now been 10 000 km on the tires. May be 1500 km of this is on trainer, and despite the trainer got a bite out of the tires, it still looks like they may be able to survive for another 5000. Gotta wait to see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
vanbo78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Posted17 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product was sold to me as the best winter tire on the market by evens cycles, 16k into my first ride with this tire PUNCTURE!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PlymouthSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Won't use anything else

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
On about my 5th set in 5 years. Run them for about 1500 miles on the rear, when they start to get a flat profile. Front go twice that far. VERY puncture resistant, and I atcually set faster times than with lighter tyres due to the excellent rolling resistance.. or lack of.
Im 16 stone and run 25's with them at 105psi.
And of course.. nothing slows you down like a puncture!
Rubbish in the snow though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davidaa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

very happy with these tyres

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
very happy with these tyres, needed a little more effort to get on compared to old tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nosliwtrauts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Excellent tyre

Posted17 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Wanted a tyre that's going to last without ending up with something really chunky and slow. This fits the bill and looks great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DegsyBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easier to fit than the wired Gatorskin - don'y snap anymore tyre levers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clarkiecat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The punctures seem to have stopped

Posted04 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Old tyres were full of holes, cut to buggery and letting the broken glass in. These bad boys are resisting nicely and at the price I got them, have already been worth it in time save on puncture repair. Also folding type seem quite easy to put on. But I don't think I will get much practice ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mbloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough

Posted23 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought before I went on a long ride in the Highlands where I didn't fancy having to stop in the middle of nowhere and fix a puncture I'd had one a few weeks before near to home with the lightweight road tyres that came with a newish bike. These lasted the ride up & down hills on all sorts of road quality and in the wind & rain. Kept me upright in the rain when I hit a bit of subsidence with a van coming towards me. Good tyre, built to withstand rough roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveAT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyre

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this to replace another Gatorskin after finding a two inch cut in my rear tyre. Im sure that other tyres would have failed with such bad damage but this one got me home (15 miles) and stayed in one piece. I had no hesitation in buying the same tyre again.
Might not be the lightest out there, certainly not race tyre, but probably one of the best tyres out there for UK road conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PabC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Pretty good tyre - not expensive

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have used Gatorskins for a couple of years now and they do not disappoint.
These tires are durable and the grip is not too bad (though always we careful when riding on wet roads)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ewan87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

great tyre at low cost

Posted28 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
this is a strong tyre for my weekend ride's and my work commute, good puncture protection
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>