Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Youll know when one of Continentals tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.67 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
88 out of 91Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training tyres

Posted13 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: not for racing
I bought these to replace my usual GP4000s tyres. While the GPs gripped like the race tyres they are, for general use in all weathers they tended to attract glass/flints and mysterious cuts/slashes appeared in the tread over time.
After a month or so of use I can confirm that while the Gatorskins ultimate grip doesn't feel as good, it is certainly good enough for all but race use and is fine even in wet conditions. I can't comment on how they will react to Northern Hemisphere winters though.
They also feel a bit more 'sluggish' & 'dead' straight after using the GPs but again, it isn't a major drawback for even fast training rides.
The dreaded tread cuts have not appeared and (so far) neither have any punctures or flints.
All in all a great tyre for anything but flat out crit racing. I'll certainly be buying more of these for regular bunch rides but I'll maybe keep some GP4000s set aside just for special occasions :o)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been looking for the Holy Grail of tyres for a while, as I'm sure have many. A light tyre, with low rolling resistance and high puncture protection.
There will always be compromises between out and out speed and resistance to punctures but I've found these gatorskins to be a good balance.
I ride about 200 miles a week, mostly on main roads to and from work but also around the Surrey hills and lanes. So far, these tyres haven't let me down.
I've certainly ridden lighter and faster tyres, but they tended to puncture if you sneezed on them.
These have so far repelled any attempt by flint, stone or glass to penetrate, do not feel sluggish at all and feel grippy even in heavy rain.
These are my first Continentals so others in the range may have different qualities.
On a practical note I found them easy to fit without resorting to levers, which hasn't always been the case with other folding tyres I've tried.
I'm very happy with these tyres and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Hemel Hempstead
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exellent tyre

Posted11 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
What a great tyre fantastic grip wet and dry conditions, been on several long rides now and so far no punctures even after hitting some very large pot holes. A very smooth rolling tyre have already recomended to others. Also very fast delivery once again from evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Macclesfield

Very durable tyre - no trade off.

Posted06 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these because I was starting to get a lot of punctures throughout the winter. I did check the weight compared to my original tyres, the Gatorskins were slightly heavier, but I thought this would be the case as they are winter tyres! They have been great! Whilst riding I haven't noticed any decrease in rolling resistance or weight. I've not had a puncture yet and I've done about 400 miles in them so far. But I'll be realistic they don't roll anywhere near as good as my Continental GP summer tyres, but they puncture every 2 minutes in the winter. These tyres get a bit of a tough time with experienced riders but I really can't see why! They are a little pricey, but I'd rather pay a little more and not have to bother with punctures every ride! - And inner tubes cost money so you are saving there! (Get the wider version for a slightly more comfortable ride).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable training tyre

Posted30 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've been using these tyres for several years now and find them highly resistant against punctures without being overly heavy. The good quality rubber provides reassuring grip in both the wet and dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Easy to put on, rolls well

Posted18 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I've been meaning to get a Gatorskin for a while now, and Evans price-matched this item from another site so it was finally made to be affordable.
Most hassle-free tyre change I've ever done, the tyre rolls silently and offers decent grip even as it turns to the winter months. Have not had a puncture yet so touch wood this will continue to be the case..!
If my rear tyre goes for whatever reason, I'll replace it with one of these. Industry standard and they look the business even on a retro racer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

say good bye to punctures... sort of

Posted30 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: tight
This is my second set of gator skins, really happy with the product, get a lot less punctures with these and they last for years! Only issue I have with them is that they are incredible tight to get on and off compared to other makes, this does distract the enjoyment in my rides especially in the winter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Rolls well and grippy in wet

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Although looks not to have much grip it performs great in the wet, rolls well and hard wearing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ok tyre but not as strong as you'd think

Posted06 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable, Poor quality
This tyre did an adequate job riding from lands end to john I groats but still got 5 punctures and a slashed sidewall meaning I needed an entirely new tyre!
Not great overalll
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

NO PUNCTURES!!

Posted25 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, puncture protection, good grip
Great tyre. Changed from the mavic tyres that came with my wheels and the extra grip in the bends was noticeable and the rolling resistance seems low on the straights. Better still, no punctures (yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Highly recommend

Posted20 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great quality and value for money. It gives grip on wet surface and it really does offer protection against punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:India
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really nice

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
before using these tyres, i used to get two or three flats a week. no such prob now. i am in cochin, most of the roads are very bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great, free rolling tyre

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
No punctures for over 800 miles. :-)
I'd used specialised tyres and whilst it just be bad luck this season, I was getting flats all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Gatorskin tyre, provides security

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Conti Gatorskins are great, especially if riding around the country lanes, tend to last the right amount of time/distance before needing to replace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Great Tyres

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These tyres are perfect for commuting, you'll get 1000s of miles out of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Hate Punctures; get this tyre

Posted19 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Since I have purchased this tyre, no issues. Perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good so far

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good tyres so far, but a bit pricey. Will need to wait a bit longer to see if they stand the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good reliable tyre

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Using this on my BMC GF01 - I like the 25mm width, it's the right compromise between comfort and performance.
So far so good on the puncture protection too.
The weight is good, not much more than other 'race' tyres but with the added piece of mind of the puncture resistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Durable, satisfactory protection

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, durable
I have bought the 28c. It fits to Canyon road bike, M frame. But anything larger wouldn't fit.
I have had a few punctures in the early months, but no punctures for the last 6 months, that is more then 5000 km.
It has now been 10 000 km on the tires. May be 1500 km of this is on trainer, and despite the trainer got a bite out of the tires, it still looks like they may be able to survive for another 5000. Gotta wait to see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Posted17 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product was sold to me as the best winter tire on the market by evens cycles, 16k into my first ride with this tire PUNCTURE!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>