Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre

Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti-tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Youll know when one of Continentals tyres features Duraskin. The dark brown fabric is applied externally to the tyre casing prior to the addition of the tread in the manufacturing process. This means that Duraskin is the first line of defence against intrusion, increasing the chances of sidewall survival significantly in the event of hitting a foreign object.
Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
62 out of 63(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRosa
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training tyres

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: not for racing
I bought these to replace my usual GP4000s tyres. While the GPs gripped like the race tyres they are, for general use in all weathers they tended to attract glass/flints and mysterious cuts/slashes appeared in the tread over time.
After a month or so of use I can confirm that while the Gatorskins ultimate grip doesn't feel as good, it is certainly good enough for all but race use and is fine even in wet conditions. I can't comment on how they will react to Northern Hemisphere winters though.
They also feel a bit more 'sluggish' & 'dead' straight after using the GPs but again, it isn't a major drawback for even fast training rides.
The dreaded tread cuts have not appeared and (so far) neither have any punctures or flints.
All in all a great tyre for anything but flat out crit racing. I'll certainly be buying more of these for regular bunch rides but I'll maybe keep some GP4000s set aside just for special occasions :o)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CR64
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been looking for the Holy Grail of tyres for a while, as I'm sure have many. A light tyre, with low rolling resistance and high puncture protection.
There will always be compromises between out and out speed and resistance to punctures but I've found these gatorskins to be a good balance.
I ride about 200 miles a week, mostly on main roads to and from work but also around the Surrey hills and lanes. So far, these tyres haven't let me down.
I've certainly ridden lighter and faster tyres, but they tended to puncture if you sneezed on them.
These have so far repelled any attempt by flint, stone or glass to penetrate, do not feel sluggish at all and feel grippy even in heavy rain.
These are my first Continentals so others in the range may have different qualities.
On a practical note I found them easy to fit without resorting to levers, which hasn't always been the case with other folding tyres I've tried.
I'm very happy with these tyres and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazman75
from Hemel Hempstead
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exellent tyre

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
What a great tyre fantastic grip wet and dry conditions, been on several long rides now and so far no punctures even after hitting some very large pot holes. A very smooth rolling tyre have already recomended to others. Also very fast delivery once again from evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SimonN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hopefully bulletproof

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easiest tyre I've ever fitted was a good start and no punctures so far. Long may it continue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DIJital
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Decent reliable tyre

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Been running this tyre for a few months commuting and the odd sportive. Had the odd flat and one sidewall tear but otherwise it's done me well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timmy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great and smooth would recommed. Last about 7 months riding 5 days a wekk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DHIW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great puncture protection.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I purchased these for my Croix de Fer. The stock tyres that came with the bike were very thin and prone to punctures. These Gatorskins replacement are great - I can ride down sharp gravel paths, they take everything the Isle of Wight roads can throw at them and they are comfy (I went with the 28s). They roll well too.
No punctures yet - recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KM2981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best winter tyres

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Brilliant in all conditions but dominate for winter
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Work well for me

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I changed to Gatorskins after getting loads of punctures at the beginning of last year. Since then I have done 3000 puncture free miles. They are easy to fit (not too tight) and there isn't much weight penalty if you use the folding version. They are a little expensive but I hate punctures so they're worth it to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilMc13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best winter road tyres!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Tough but light winter road tyres with real rubber grip for wet conditions.
Well worth the money to save you from a puncture in the freezing wind and rain.
These tyres ride smooth on the road but grip better than anything I have tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probesy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

All Good So Far

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Only done about 50 miles on a pair of these but impressed so far. Had read reviews saying they were sluggish, but seem to roll just as well as my summer Conti tyres.
Good grip in the wet and seem to shrug off gravel in the road ok, but early days yet and fingers crossed...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spinningirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good hard wearing tyres

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
fantastic tyres good for winter and not to heavy liked them that much i bought another pair for my other bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlexO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The tyres to have!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, durable, tough
I've used Gatorkins in all types of terrain and weather -- absolutely must haves for commuting as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanVan
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great feeling and grip

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've put this tyre on my front wheel for winter season.
It has a great grip even on wet road and , for now , i've not flats :-)
The 25" is not so heavy as i tought.
Also evans cycles has the lowest prive on the web!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quiv48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Foldy & grippy

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent tyre in the round. I was gripped from the start and once the folds were ironed out it was off on the open road. No flats on the flat for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
htid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Do exactly what you'd expect

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Only used them about 10 times so far but seems like good tyres. Used them in both wet and dry conditions and they seemed to grip well, but can't comment on their durability over time yet as I've not used them long enough. I Would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more punctures!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had my fair share of experience with all sorts of tyres, and up until November I had been using lightweight tyres which inevitably always end up with many cuts, due to the debris on the harsh British roads.
Since using these I have not had a single puncture. As a winter trainer, commuter, and general all rounder, I think these tyres are unbeatable. Bar racing, I'd be happy to use this for commuting, sportives, training etc. A perfect tyre for the long wet winter to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kazp02
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chiswick

puncture resistant tyres

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I used to get punctures every second week on my 10 mile each way London commute. Since I switched to these tyres I have only had 1 puncture (from a massive piece of very sharp glass) in six months. Highly recommend. I went for these ones as they are also good in the wet - something that's useful on my London ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
anton2767
Country:Taiwan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tires

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, extremely puncture resistant
Cons: Heavy
Been using this tires for few years now and had only 2 flats so far. It's a bit heavier than other tyres, but that gives you so much more safety on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gatorskin 700C Duraskin Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BananaFactory
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great confident tires

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
after getting an average of 1 flat per week, these tires are amazing. They were a little hard to put on the first time but after that, it's a breeze to change ( I had them the wrong direction at first)
Grips well on the road - haven't done a wet ride yet, but so far, it's been great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>