Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads

Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Review 1 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smartboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Brake pads that work

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Use these on my "+1" commuter doing 20+ miles a day, every day, in all weathers, through busy town centre, so stopping regularly for traffic etc.
Means I go through brake pads at a rate of about one set every 3 months!
This replaceable pad system minimises the cost (once you've bought the first pair which includes the carrier body) and the pads are a decent compound that work as well as can be expected of road-bike rim-brakes (but I'm used to discs on my 'main' bike which is a MTB).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JN1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Responsive

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to install, responsive, durable and good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
samd8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fair Weather Brakes...

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
These pads are surprisingly effective in the dry and, as someone who likes to ride quickly, I have been grateful for this on a few occasions.
However, the moment you have any moisture to contend with, they are next to useless. In my opinion, good brake pads are able to create enough friction to make your tyres skid in an emergency stop in the rain. These would struggle to make that happen using slicks on an ice rink.
The search continues...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good break pads

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These are good break pads for the front of the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blinkydoyle
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sharp stoppers

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to fit
Really good blocks, pull you up really sharply without much noticeable delay in the rain.
Easy to fit, took less than 2 minutes.
Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kezzers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable but at the cost of stopping power

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: durable
Cons: average stopping power
Had these brakes on my bike now for 4 months and commute every day so have thrown them at all the conditions Britain has to offer.
I'm surprised by the reviews here praising the stopping power. I found they took quite some time to break in and compared to previous pads I've had the stopping power is distinctly average, especially in the wet. That said I feel there has been a compromise made between stopping power and durability, in terms of wear rates they are in much better shape than I would expect.
I think a recommendation for these pads depends on your use, if you commute daily in traffic where quick stopping power is a priority these are probably not for you. However these would be well suited to touring bike where pad life is as important and sheer stopping power.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
n33d4sp33d
from Wilts
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the pads that came with my bike were bad until I got these nearly got killed skidding down the road!
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MaverickMan
 
Please wait while more information about MaverickMan is loaded.
Additional information about MaverickMan could not be loaded.
Skidding?
Posted September 24, 2012
If the writer was skidding, one presumes that the brakes worked?
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poppeye
from Brisbane
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Punch above their weight

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good stopping power, durability and ease of install.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haylatron
from London

Great brakes, easy to install

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am loving these brake pads! They were recommended to me by a friend and I have to say they were correct. They are remarkably durable and easy to install. Recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aztec Road Insert Plus Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Argy
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great stopping power!

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Highly recommend these brakes, the stopping power is intense. Good value too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.