Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike

Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic full sized mountain bike

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Dahon Espresso 2011 bike, was just the product I was looking for. Having minimum space, this full sized folding bike ticked all the boxes I required and then some. I love the compact size when folded, the lightness and the very comfortable saddle....something I thought I might have to change. The quick release wheels and saddle make securing the bike a doddle.
It has a fantastic feel when riding and the colour is perfect.
Very happy customer and pleased to have come across such a gorgeous looking folding bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrinklyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very good value folding mountain bike

Posted02 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A very good buy for the price. The bike folds easily and can be transported in the boot of my estate car. I only have to fold up the pedals and fold the frame in half and this takes only a matter of seconds. Other types of car might need the seat lowering and the handle bars adjusting.
The bike fits under the stair well of my house for safe storage. The bike is comfortable and smooth to ride.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marxpedal
from S.E. Kent
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Dahon Espresso

Posted09 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: could benefit from a lower bottom gear
A good folding full-size bicycle, the easiest to fold that I have found, fits into the back of a small hatchback.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benny62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very practical

Posted04 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Having read all the reviews and used the bike for 6 months i would agree with all the commets, the bike has proved very usful and fits in the back of my fiat 500 with the seat folded) and folds into a usful hybrid its ideal for canal towpaths etc, and overall does what it says on the tin, i am 5'10" and the med frame is just about big enough, the twist grip gears are ok, but i plan to swap them with my partners paddel shifters (she likes the twist ones better) i have had no issues with the bike, the brakes were rubbing slightty when I got it but I soon sorted that, and the only thing that shows its been used is the paint has been worn off the rims by the brakes otherwise all good jb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sgaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great full sized folding bike

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I needed to get a fold up bike for use on the train & to fit into my small flat, so far seems very sturdy & is light enough to get up & down stairs. I'm no expert but this is quite a quick bike & I'm very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chiltern47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for casual country riding

Posted03 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, excellent height adjustment
We were looking for a large-wheeled bike which would be easily transportable within the local area without requiring a car rack, and the Espresso is ideal, happily sharing the boot of the Volvo with another bike. While we would probably not attempt anything too ambitious it has coped admirably with rutted woodland trails, and the fat tyres and comfortable saddle easily make up for the lack of suspension. On tarmac it is more than adequate and it is easy to forget that it is not a non-folding hybrid. The folding mechanism itself is simple to operate and locks in place with a reassuring solidity. The only minor niggle is the magnetic catch which is not really up to the job of holding the bike in its folded position.
All in all an excellent buy at the price - what a pity it's only available in the small size, or we'd buy another!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyb1979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent cross-town or trail folding bike

Posted28 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, sturdy
Cons: gear shift not so smooth
I've only had this bike a few weeks but in that time done a few hundred miles of cross-town/canal path commuting and overall I'm really pleased with it.
It's not technically the best of bikes (gears could be better), but is overall sturdy, lightweight, fast, resists potholes well, comfortable to ride and excellent value for money (I got it reduced at £300).
Brakes are very good and tyres solid (Schwalbe Big apple). The folding mechanism is not as simple as say a brompton, but it works, I fold it up on the train daily with no issues.
So overally, very pleased, would recommend it. Plus having taken it on trails a few weekends I'm happy I got a good all-rounder like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PAA1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent 26" folding bike

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My wife wanted a folding bike that looked and rode like a normal bike. So we searched for one with 26" wheels. This one from Evans fitted the bill perfectly. It folds easily, is light enough to pick up and put into the car, and rides well. Well built with quality components.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chesh76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent folding bike

Posted03 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, compact
This bike is perfect for cycling to work and can be used on and off road.
I have really enjoyed using it so far and the fold in pedals are an added benefit when folding the bike down.
It fits easily into the car and you don't require a rack.
Very pleased overall with this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zoe08
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fit for Purpose

Posted27 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, not efficient on hills
Wanted to cycle to work but felt at the time, that the journey from my home to work was a bit of a distance so I decided to cycle part way and use the train hence the purchase of the expresso. I was happy with the purchase. it is very easy to fold and sturdy however, I found it difficult at times to load it into the boot of my nissan micra.
It can with effort pick up a decent speed (i did change the tires to slick) although up hills it does not cut the mustard.
After using it to take part in the London to Southend bike ride I have decided to get a road bike.
Conclusion it is fit for purpose I would not have gone for any other folding bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hendon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall a good bike

Posted18 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult gears ?
It is a good sturdy bike. However the gears are sometimes difficult to work and also seem less efficient on relatively small climbs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gaza999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent Price and Value

Posted06 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this so that I could train better when on the move and in different locations. It's an excellent ride that quickly lets you forget it's a folder. Can thoroughly recommend both it and Evans excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cb2012

Good value for money

Posted18 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this bike in the sale and got a full-sized 21-speed folding bike for the price of a normal one. So far it seems a good ride, easy enough to fold and pack away, and reasonably lightweight.
Also I got a multi-tool and most precious of all, a pedal-spanner thrown!
Handlebars feel a bit low compared to a normal bike, but maybe that's only to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tanker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This bike looks really good

Posted12 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have now had this bike for four weeks and have already covered several miles on it. The bike is very comfortable with a excellent riding position and being aluminium it is also very light and easy to manouver both on the road and also when folded to lift in and out of the boot of the car. Folding the bike is very easy and only takes a few seconds. I did a lot of research before buying a folding bike and the Dahons may not be the cheapest on the market but most reviews I read people rated them as one of the best, a view which I totally agree with and would have no hesitation in recomending a Dahon Espresso to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kutini
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I recommend this product as it is good value for money. It a normal sized bike still folding. But it is not extremely compact when it is folded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fidget
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good full size folding bike

Posted30 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I live in a flat with a very small hall way, and this full size folder fits perfectly. It rides like a normal bike, feel pretty solid, fast as well as a good hill climber. The only thing that took a star from it is that the gear shifting is a bit 'clanky' and noisy, and it's not as smooth as it should be when shifting gears. So if you don't want a baby folding bike like Brompton, and you're restricted with space, this is a good full size folder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Justin2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Satisfied with the bike

Posted29 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I have been using this bike for commuting. So far so good. It is comfortable to ride. Definitely better than my old foldable. Slightly bulky after folding, but you would expect from a full sized bike.
I can't comment on reliability yet. For I have only used for 4 weeks. So far I don't have any problem. Overall happy with the bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ck88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

Posted30 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have got a 20" Dahon Speed 7 and folding bike is very very convenient to have. This 26" Dahon is very good value and the quality can match any other brands in the market. The bike folds neatly and the folding mechanism is better than other more expensive bikes.
As for Evans I cannot fault the speed of delivery and also the bike was ready for use. I also find the tool kit from them is great to have which I did not expect it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrSmith
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, but suffers from some poor quality component

Posted23 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, folds quickly
Cons: Poor quality, needs higher top gear
The Espresso offers a great ride for a folding bike, but still folds small enough to fit into the car boot. The thing that lets it down is the poor quality of some of the components. The Shimano Tourney gears are smooth and reliable, but greatly benefit by swapping the feisty-grip for some after market trigger shutters. The folding pedals didn't last 3 months before the bearings gave out and several items of brightwork have rusted badly. It would also benefit from a higher top gear. I seem to spend most of my time in top, and wish for a few more pedal inches.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dahon Espresso 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carra
from England
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy ride

Posted06 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, folds like a dream, stands up when folded
I have not ridden a cycle since I was about 12 and am now 67, and in order to get my confidence back I ride in a group. For Christmas 2010 I had a 20" wheel folding bike and my legs had to go like pistons to get any speed, but upgraded to Dahon Espresso 2011 26" wheel from Evans Cycles Christmas 2010 - sooooo easy. I can now keep up with the leaders of the pack and enjoy the rides much, much more; I even have time to look round.
The Espresso folds quickly and easily to go into the boot of my car only problem is that the handlebars would need to come off and be turned 45 degrees to accommodate a smaller boot. It is very light for its size and has a stand so does not fall over when folded prior to being put in the boot, and for ‘parking’ at home.
Price; - Evans’ was better than other retailers researched on the ‘net’ for this cycle.
Delivery: - quicker than quoted (5-7 days, arrived in 3)
Packing: - good, except mine was ripped at bottom probably by the carriers, so bike was delivered upside down but complete.
Instructions: - very clear; only handlebars and seat to fit to make it ready for personalising.
Tools - Evans Allen key and screwdriver set included along with a 'Y' Allen key tool for comfort alterations of seat and handlebars.
Overall rating: - Love it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>