Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike

Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andrew66
from greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very well ballanced, strongly recommended

Posted19 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, well ballanced
Cons: Expensive
Good quality bike , excellent for commuting from A to B.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim58
Country:Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Perfect back-up bike

Posted31 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought the Jetstream as a back-up reserve bike for a variety of purposes: back-up incase my daily ride is "off the road", spare for visitors to use, spare for short trips etc.
This bike has exceeded my expectations by a country mile. I bought my father in-law a cheaper folder as a reserve bike and this Dahon is so much better. My daily commute is 13 km on a mix of asphalt, cycle paths, traffic and gravel tracks through a park area. The Jetstream takes it all in its stride. The frame and handlebar stem despite having folding functionality remain stiff enough during ride to make the whole bike feel solid (something the cheap folder was very poor at).
Offroad the bike performs well with the limiting factor being the grip of the what are basically road tyres (no fault of the bike). It looks great and is well made. This bike punches well above it's weight!
Irritations are a lack of easily available assessories, like a rack and lack of mudguarding (although it looks cool without). Saddle isn't wonderful over longer journeys either.
I call it my BMX for grown-ups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastictoast1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Flexible, convenient, comfortable Folding bike.

Posted23 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, flexible
I have bought two folding bikes, this and a matrix. The jetstream was bought for the range of who can ride it and the convenience of having a folding bike. I am using for short rides only.
Folded size: This takes up half my car boot (the matrix takes up all the boot). Easy to fold, using levers/ catches (no tools needed). Frame is a little stiff to fold. Less floppy than matrix. Comes with velcro strap. Peddles fold down when on the ground/ in car.
Weight: lighter than the matrix, but still stable in strong winds.
Gears: only 8 (matrix has 24). Turn to shift (matrix has levers). I can get up most of the steep hills around here (hills are easier on matrix of course).
Brakes: usual ones, work well (matrix has disc brakes instead).
Suspension: good on tracks, pot holes, etc.
Wheels: only 20inch. I have not had a problem riding, despite being tall.
Handlebars: don't have a height adjustment (unlike the matrix). Not an issue been an issue for me, I am 6ft 4. Another 5ft rider finds them slightly too high.
Overall a favourable purchase, it had most of the features I wanted in a short distance folding bike.
I have only had it 6 weeks, so am unable to comment on its durability.
Delivery of bike was a bit strange- left in a neighbours shed without a note posted informing me of delivery.
Arrived constructed with only minor work to do (e.g. fit peddles, reflectors).
They do a free check up after 6 weeks if you have a store close enough.
I bought it when price £600. Cheaper at that point than other sources.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveLogic

Excellent Bike! Very Pleased

Posted22 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I must say I was sceptical about buying a folding bike but needed something to fit in the boot of my car. I have 2 other bike, a specialised Epic and Secteur. Both of which are fantastic, so I was worried about the quality of the jetstream.
I really like this bike, its light, fold easily and rides very well. 20" wheels doesnt make it as twitchy as the 16" wheels. The gear range is more than adequate for my useage and it does climb well.
At this offer price, I would certainly rank this higher than a brompton.
The initial delivery from Evans was quick, delivered in one day to the store. Had a small issue with a repaired scratch on the fork which they soon sorted out after a couple of phonecalls.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
D8veh
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Faultless quality and convenience

Posted10 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought it to convert to electric powered. The ready-made electric bikes don't have decent suspension and are generally poorer quality.
I tried the bike first unassisted and it was very nice. everything worked smoothly and it had been well set up by Evans - just had one ding in the paintwork, which must have happened in handling somewhere.
It's my first folder, so nothing to compare it with really - not as comfy or efficient as my Giant NRS, but a lot easier to get in and out of the house.
I would say that it's well worth the money if it's a quality folding bike you're after.
The photo shows it after conversion with a 24V 201rpm Cute (Ananda) motor running with 48V to bring the max speed to about 20mph
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
amorphix
Worcestershire
 
Please wait while more information about amorphix is loaded.
Additional information about amorphix could not be loaded.
Very help, interested in converting one too
Posted 18 August 2012
Like the last poster, I'd be interested to know about your choice of motor. I'm planning to convert a JetStream P8 to electric myself, rear wheel..but would probably use a 250W 100mm 36V motor... any reasons why I shouldn't?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Rioridh
geordieland
 
Please wait while more information about Rioridh is loaded.
Additional information about Rioridh could not be loaded.
electric conversion
Posted 15 February 2012
Thanks for posting the pic,iam also a recent owner of this superb machine, and was wondering if you could provide details of your electic conversion...parts difficulty..cost etc. As i am thinking of doing this myself.Many Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 6 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SubEtha
from St. Albans
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

This folder flies over bad tarmac

Posted29 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have two folders from Dahon, the Jetstream P8 and the Vitesse D7 (both Version 2009). The Jetstream was quickly my favourite bike! I use it mainly for commuting 5 miles on a bike path. This path has a tarmac with a lot of cracks and bumps from tree roots. The Jetstream takes them so much better than the Vitesse even though they have the same wheel diameter. This is for two reasons I think.
First and obvious, the suspension takes out the worst stings. It is also helpful when I overlook or forget a speed bump (happened to me in the dark!). Then the bike path dips several times into small roads. When I don't take care and raise from the saddle the rear wheel has to take all the downward force. This is where the rear suspension helps!
Second and maybe even more important, the bike has a great frame. It just feels very solid. The clamp does hardly make any noise at all. Compared with the Vitesse it feels much stiffer.
So whereas with the Vitesse I always feel that I have to work against the road, with the Jetstream this feels almost like flying over it! This is not to say that the Vitesse is bad (I like it as city bike), but compared with it the Jetstream feels like a racing machine. I should say that on a proper road the Jetstream is also pretty good thanks to its good tyres. The gear ratio allows speed up to 35-40 km/h.
I took the bike to Scotland for a week long bike trip of 300 km. I was very happy with it and I did feel comfortable. I had no panniers and I had to carry everything in my rucksack, but I found it not so bad as expected. However, panniers would be great! For some steep hills I had to walk because the slowest speed that I could make was 10-12 km/h. That was for some steep sections too much.
Some final remarks. I like the great technical look, so this is also for the technic loving geek ;-) I really admire the handlebars, that give always a good rest and grip. The saddle is well done too, with is slim shape it does not interfere with pedalling. Changing gears works pretty well and reliable, even when the chain is not perfectly clean.
Cons? If the bike is folded, it is not very stable, so one has to prop it against a wall etc. When folded, the package it a bit large, so that carrying it is more difficult than with most other Dahons.
Summary. I think the bike plays well Dahon's strengths. If folding size does not matter too much, you can get a bike that just rides very well for a folder!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dahon Jetstream P8 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikerepairman
from Brighton
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

High Performance Folder

Posted18 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great handling, fast, quick to fold
Cons: a bit awkward when folded, luggage a bit of a challenge!
The 2010 Jetstream P8 is the same design (with a number of refinements) as the 2008 model I’ve been commuting on for over a year. I’ve tried small-wheeled folders before, but this is something else – a real performance machine.
Though the bike is clearly marketed for road use, the suspension is no gimmick. Unlike pre-2008 Jetstreams, German A’s frame design is so well balanced the fork doesn’t bob under acceleration, it just evens out the lumps in the road to give a superbly stable and smooth ride. And thanks to the light but rigid frame and very light wheels and tyres, it’s amazingly nimble and quick. Simply great fun to ride.
The very simple fold takes about 10 seconds. The instructions say 15, but this includes swivelling the bars that you don’t need to do. Unfolding is similarly quick. The folded package is quite awkward – particularly to carry in a crowded shop or supermarket, but it will lean against a wall OK. For the train, carry a small bungee to tie it up so it doesn’t fall over.
The lack of provision for luggage is a puzzle. Dahon quote a maximum rider weight of 105kg, so maybe they’re aiming the bike at speed freaks, but it seems a missed opportunity. The bike responds very well to weight at the front end – I’ve carried quite heavy bags by just draping them over the handlebars and it still handles fine. So the extra convenience and safety of a bag mount on the head tube (as found on some other Dahons, and of course the Brompton) would seem a no-brainer to me.
At the back, a rack-top bag would be a useful everyday feature that could stay in place when you fold the bike, and being able to carry panniers occasionally would be nice. But, alas, though the dropouts have mudguard eyes the frame isn’t designed to take a rack. Either the seat stay bridge or lower shock mount would offer a solid mounting point, but not without significant adaptation and ingenuity. Come on, Dahon – sort it out!
For all-weather city commuting, add Dahon’s superb SKS mudguards and Busch & Muller’s Cycle Star mirror with the short curved stem. Oh, and get clipless pedals – they transform the bike’s performance.
If a tidy fold or convenient load-carrying is paramount, buy a Brompton. But if handling and performance are top of your list, this could be your ideal folder.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.