Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer

Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer

Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Review 1 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Figgleburton
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A summer layer base that does the job

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The generouse open weave means that this offering from Castelli is best used as a cooling / evaporative layer in 15+ C conditions. But with those parameters in mind it really excels in keeping you and your outer layer dry. Its perfect for warm spring season climbing in Melbourne where you can shed down to two layers on the way up and don your wind proof gillet on the decesent.
Recomended summer / spring wear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fomil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit for betting cold sweat

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This really helps by putting a thin air gap between your skin and your base layer keeping you drier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tyh68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great baselayer during warm weather.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light and quick drying. Being sleeveless prevents showing outside the outside jersey. Best part: you don't even realize you are wearing it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amrkl24

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This base layer is very comfy and light. Good to wear for riding under the sun.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mab69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value...

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Wanted to purchase a light base layer for the summer weather and hot conditions.....look no further.The one thing i will say is castelli do come up smaller so keep this in mind when buying.Glad i bought this as long rides in hot conditions were a lot more comfortable,plus felt fresher after.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bike4ed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Does what it promises

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this vest to stop my jersey sticking to me on hot days. It does exactly what it promises. Had two very comfortable long distance rides wearing it.
It is pricey but worth it as rides are more pleasant.
In reality it is a tight fitting string vest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
macsimmi
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not too bad

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
These are good summer base layers, but the lack of separate S, M and L sizes is annoying.
I'm usually a medium. Went with the S/M option and it's a bit too tight for my liking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JMA56
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Uncomfortable and hard to get off

PostedJuly 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable
tends to chafe around my nipples, hard to get off when sweaty, has several loose threads after 4 uses, don't know how long it will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ragglefraggle1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

What base layer

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It was my first summer time base layer & it barely feels like your wearing another layer. Though when you use it, it slowly becomes tighter & can be hard to get off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cobra1
from Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great one

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have one made by Campy and this is much better as it feels bettter and lighter , looks very cool and yoy forget it's there at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gloscyclist
from Gloucester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great bit of kit

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good piece of kit for riding in hot or cold/wet conditions. Wicks the sweat away from the body to keep you warm and dry without overheating.
Sizes are quite small (as per usual for Castelli), so you may want to go up a size, although you need a good snug next to skin fit for the wicking effect to work best.
I bought in the sale and was very pleased. I haven't tried the mesh base layer from Craft, but would consider buying that over the Castelli if it was full price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ortega
from Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Confortable!

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my 2nd piece of base layer. My first one was to use in winter. This one fits good to use both during winter (to help keep you dry) and summer.
Excellent to use with bibs.
I recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makkadee
from West London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, if far from flattering.

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I first used this on a long hot hilly day. 100k, 30 Celcius in the shade. At the end I was dry and comfortable. Job done.
As for looks - well it certainly has undertones of Rab C Nesbit/Onslow Bucket. Or you could consider it alluringly Italian. Sadly, on me it's the former. Then again...who cares?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrFothers
from Sheffield
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't be deceived by the gaps

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
It may not weigh more than a carrier bag, but the insulating properties of this string vest are not to be underestimated.
I have to confess I bought it with a light summer baselayer in mind, but it's a bit more potent than that.
A versatile fit, well made. The cost is reasonable when you appreciate it's warmer than first appears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FlyingScot2000
from Glasgow
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

String Vest

PostedMay 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having paid over £30 for a string vest I was delighted to find that it performs as promised. Light warm and dry in use and easy to wash out and dry overnight. I would certainly recomend it to other cyclists. Now I don't just sound like Rab C Nesbet I dress like him as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nunowoolmez
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Essential bit of kit

PostedApril 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
When I ordered this I wasn't sure about it, i pretty much took a punt having read some reviews & by trusting in the usual Castelli quality. However, when i tried it on, it was a perfect fit & could feel the thermal effect it had. I have worn it a few times now & am really chuffed with it. On a cool spring/ summer day this will be perfect under a jersey with some arm warmers.
The only thing about it is that it is very delicate & when taking it off it can tear. However, this can be a task you can ask your other half to do - unless they have long nails!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David186186
from Gibraltar
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very good fit bought a large but a bit tight for my likings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnTri
from Suburbs Melbourne Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Versatile Base Layer

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The first of these was an unexpected gift. So rapt am I in its performance I now have three in my wardrobe.
Provided you get a reasonable fit, which is not difficult as the fit is reasonably forgiving this is a great addition to your wardrobe. The material is soft to touch however does not appear prone to "pulling" threads.
My only gripe: the seams should either be flat or on the outside (I therefore wear mine "inside out").
* If you wear a HR belt this vest will secure it to your body.
* Need to wash and wear...no problem. Pull it out of the washing machine and wear it for a few minutes, it will only feel damp for a few minutes. Then throw on the rest of your gear.
* Riding on a cold day...no worries put a few layers on over the top. Even if you normally get clammy this will hold your top away from your skin.
* When you get hot on that climb unzip your top and air off. Zip the top back up for the descent and that "top stick to body" sensation will be a distant memory.
Officially my favorite piece of gear!
Re: the other Castelli gear: love the material, well manufactured. Be careful with the fit you may need a size larger than usual.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwarf
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

String vest with purpose.

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought to treat myself with Castelli short sleeve top. Fantastic, but a bit expensive. Fits perfectly and really works. If you have a bit of midriff to spare you might find this tight. Better fit than other base layers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.