Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest

Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest

Windstopper Active Shells are the lightest, most packable garments offering total windproofness, maximum breathability and water resistance. Windstopper Active Shells keep you comfortable for enhanced performance during highly aerobic activities.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcsharp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and effective

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Seems expensive for such a flimsy item but it is surprisngly effective at keeping the wind and light rain off. The mesh back panel makes sure you don't overheat. Exactly what I needed. I wouldn't say it was headwearing though - I doubt it could survive a tumble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Diddyfunk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Great Product

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant Windstopper vest
I have tried a few and this is by far the best. This also got voted best in MBUK test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
TheBronze1965
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This vest does what it promises

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Well made, fits well, light, and keeps the wind out. Great for Australian conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MDolt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Piece of kit

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great quality kit from Gore. I got the small and it fits nicely (I'm 5'8'', 65kg) if a little big around the waist.
Handy zipped pocket on chest and the cut outs in the back are ideal for accessing jersey pockets.
Windstopper keeps my chest warm but doesnt make me too hot.
All round a great purchase - would recommend to anyone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sgian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Top Quality

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This vest is very light and is ideal for summer use.It's well made and you can't go wrong with Gore Bike wear.It's always worth paying extra for quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Topgear555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
An excellent lightweight and packable extra layer to carry and put on when a change in the British weather dictates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Langer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Gillet

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a excellent top which I have used almost every ride since buying. Its very Lightweight, excellent quality, fits a little on the snug side, I am 6ft 2, 42" chest and 35" waist and I opted for the xl, a large would have been too small. It is pretty quiet when riding, has handy easy access pockets to the rear and a nice zipable shower proof pocket to the front left. The back is pretty much all mesh which allows your back to breath nicely with out getting too cold, however 5 minutes after stopping and you will get chilly. All in all its an excellent product and I am pleased that I spent the extra for the quality of this top. I am quite hooked on the Gore range as a result.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nike

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great high quality product. Warm, waterproof and best of all has pockets. Not two, but three! Very handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monks1970

Good fitting, Quality Gilet

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My 1st bit of Gore Bike Wear kit and really pleased. Whilst being pretty light and not at all bulky, the gilet keeps out the wind.
The fit is quite slim but no flapping what so ever. I'm 180 pounds, 6ft, and 40 inch chest, large is perfect but I wouldn't want it any smaller.
Excellent purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Snug fit, good performance

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: small back pockets
I'm 6'4" and a suitably trim 15 stone with 44" chest. The vest I orderred was size XL and is a snug fit. I feared it was too tight but has proved perfect on the bike.The chest pocket opens easily to hold bars and valuables. Only down side is the pockets on the back of the jacket are a bit too small for my hands to be able to access them on the go
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AF99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

destined to become a favourite

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
well made, bright colour and very good fit - am of slim build with narrow shoulders - about 38", medium was perfect.
never used a gilet before but the difference on cold rides is enormous. Seems to keep my temperature about right without the need to keep taking things on and off. Feature to allow you to reach through to access rear pockets is a bit fiddley - in winter gloves anyway, but not to bothered about that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
farmerjon
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

reliable forget its on gillet

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Size medium fits good I am 40" chest and fits snug over heavy weight jersey: some noise flapping at shoulders on descents but not excessive.
All features well thought out access to pockets easy through slits on back
actual rear pockets hard to find. I have used it extensively recently and it fended off light rain and wind without noticeable sweating. Note 2 1/2 layer vest does fit in jersey pocket but not as compact or light as some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dubcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

compact, comfortable, lightweight and effective

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to stow
This gilet is extremely useful, comfortable and high quality. I use it to allow me to wear my summer jersey in the autumn (in conjunction with armwarmers). It has a very useful pocket on the front but even better is the entry to my jersey pockets on the rear. This means that I do not have to transfer all my items from my gilet to my jersey when taking the gilet off. Brilliant idea.
Speaking of taking the gilet off, it is very compact when rolled up. Fits very easily in to my jersey pocket. In fact it fits in the same pocket as my phone and keys to give you an idea of how compact it is. This means you can start a ride nice and toasty warm but when you heat up a bit you can take the gilet off. Heating up is not a huge issue in this anyway as the back is well vented where it needs to be and the front stops the wind extremely well. A brilliantly designed item of clothing and I would have another one in a heartbeat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful piece of kit

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for cold mornings/evenings and changeable weather conditions. Windproof and shower resistant and when coupled with arm warmers you can wear it over a race jersey. Packs small enough to fit in jersey pockey and allows access to jersey pockets when worn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dangerousd
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Waterproof, breathable, lightweight & a bit pricey

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Countdown AS vest is a top bit of kit for wearing over a baselayer on iffy days, and packing in your backpack should it get warmer.
I initially bought the medium (since nearly all medium tops fit me) and ended up returning it for a large. The medium was a bit tight around the paunch. I'm 5'10", 12 1/4 stone and 34" waist. I don't carry much chub really. The large was a perfect fit for me.
It's really good at keeping your core warm whilst still offering loads of ventilation and avoiding the boil-in-a-bag sensation of thicker gillets or sleeved waterproofs.
Build quality appears great. It's lightweight which is great for wearing or sticking in the bag, though I can imagine there is a possibility of tearing it on rocks if you land bad (as pretty much most clothing!).
The back's fully breathable, which works really well with a back pack.
The pocketing detail is a little weak. There's only the one Napoleon pocket up front and out back it offers two fiddly "roadie" pockets. I say fiddly because a) if you wear a back pack they're inaccessible and 2) to the side of the pockets are two slits allowing access to the roadie pockets on your baselayer. There's a high risk of confusing the two and having what you thought you stuck in the pocket fall out the back. I'd prefer a couple of normal front pockets really.
Big downside is of course the price. A bit steep at full whack for such a scanty bit of clothing; though you're paying for quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardcastle58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Never been disappointed by a Gore Product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great vest lightweight and wind proof. Just what is required when it's breezy or the weather is changeable. Easily folds up and fits in a rear pocket of a cycle jersey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cykelmyg
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent wind protection

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Can easily be stored away in a pocket. Good wind protection on cold mornings
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doseone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really good quality, doesn't flap, very comfortable. Good windstopper. Nice to have the zipped pocket on the front. Rear pockets are useful and the gap to get your hand in to your jersey pockets is very well thought out.
One word of warning - the size comes up big. I went by the sizing chart on the Gore website. I'm a 44" chest and the website says that should be XXL. It was very big when it arrived so I sent it back (great service from Evans) and changed it for the XL which is a much better fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snsn

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good vest. It's well design and useful for down hil, and of course in the city.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WallabyAK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good weight and packs down well

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a typical Gore product, well designed and well made. The sizing is largish - i bought large (my typical size) and it is a loose fit and does flap on the shoulders when doing high speeds. It packs down well to fit into your jersey pockets when it warms up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>