Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set

Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set

Overall rating:
3.312 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Review 1 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PMax110
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great deal on good lights

Posted29 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got these lights at a 50% discount, so an excellent deal.
Perfect for city commuting as you can attach and remove them in 2 seconds. Not enought light for dark country roads, but 100% happy with the purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Downhill54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value, simple to fit

Posted09 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great value, simple to fit, bright enough for daily commute. Needs a second "see where you are going" light if used in pitch black.
Excellent in town, good "to be seen light" . Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JoanneH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34

Convenient

Posted20 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Lights bought for racing bike - I didn't want to attach brackets so was looking for self-attaching lights. They're very bright and easy to use. I found the fit on my handlebars a bit tight but the light doesn't move when fitted. On a very bumpy road the front light did switch between settings by itself, which is a mild annoyance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nlas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great item as long as it fits your bike

Posted08 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: fitting may not work for all
Brilliant lights, not had long enough to test durability or battery life, but both front and back are much brighter than I expected and they seem pretty tough as well, with a good selection of flashes as well as full on. Only possible con is that the rear takes a lot of height on your seatpost (which is fine unless your seatpost is pretty much at the lowest setting when it's a struggle to get it to fit!). Also could be difficult to fit if you have unusually large seatpost and struggles to fit around the wider part of the handlebars on a hybrid. Again, great as long as it does fit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brianthecyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Lights BUT Battery Life of Front Light Poor

Posted24 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor battery life
These have been great lights.
I now use them during the day "to be seen". Up until recently the battery life was sufficient for a day's ride and they can be re-charged on the computer. The different light flash modes allows you to pick one that will show up.
The battery life of the front light is reducing and after a 4 hour ride the red warning light comes on. I have only recently started using them during the day and I am disappointed that the battery life of the front light is now so poor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Remedy111

Unreliable- not good enough

Posted04 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unreliable- not good enough for safety critical product
My partner bought these a couple of years ago, cost nearly 50 pounds the pair, at my insistence that she got some kind of lights for safety.
Now I feel bad because they started to malfunction really quickly:
The rubber covers come off;
They switch themselves on while in your bag/pocket and run down battery;
The flash modes started going wrong & eventually you couldn't get them to stay on in some modes;
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hayden
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A bit of a gamble that worked out.

Posted27 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I wasn't sure if these would be any good based on the reviews I could find and looking at them in the shop, but they have surprised me.
They are nice and small so easy to thow in your bag. They look good compared to all the other plastic lights out there. These are basically a simple plastic case with a rubber cover over top. I like how they are very easy to pull out and put on your bike in seconds as I didn't want to have lights on there permanently.
I have had an issue where they turn on and off randomly sometimes, but that was becasue the batteries were not sitting in the plastic housing properly at first.
They are very bright and have had no issues with them. Perhaps a little expensive for how simple they are, but overal I am happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kellycsk

Looking good, but...

Posted04 September 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I picked this product because it looks stylish, modern design and is white, to match my white bike!
My seat was cut down to quite a minimum height, and "just enough" to fit on with that "tall" back light.
Dust started to stick on after some time, and can't just rub off on that material. (Though still looking good).
Take a bit longer time to tie on compare to "Cateye" that just slide on the fixed holder easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
jh13
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

light unreliable

Posted16 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I loved this light at first as it was bright, easy to carry and easily fitted to another bike but unfortunately the light does not stay on the chosen mode after a bump or two, not sure if it is a switch problem. Unreliable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gussy
from Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

great build quality, and performance !

Posted19 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
raceface
from East Herts
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid purchase

Posted26 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
thus far this has proved a good buy. I bought this model in particular to use with recharging batteries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PjLL
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Design badly flawed

Posted11 October 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, badly designed for bike use
The light is ultra bright, it has various strobe modes, it's small and doesn't weigh much. It's great when it's in your hand and seems like the ideal bike light.
HOWEVER, strap it to a bike and oh dear.
The first problem is the flexible case of the front light distorts the inner battery holder. This in turn opens the case and makes battery contact intermittent. It gets worse on bumpy roads or rattly tarmac. Result:- lights go out or change modes randomly, but mostly it goes off.
The second is it says "water-resistant", yep, it gets wet inside when it rains which causes it to... turn off.
So maybe cut off the loop and use it as a hand held torch but otherwise spend your money elsewhere.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mjpitchforth

Good idea and design, but not reliable

Posted15 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I found the design and use of the casing to be very good, however the most improtant bit, the lights are not at all reliable, the battery case on the front tourch pops off, especially when you go over a small bumb, leaving you in pitch black. The rear light will often turn themself on when it's in a bag, draining the battery. So paying over £40 for an unreliable set is not the best use of money.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tom1234
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid be-seen lights

Posted15 May 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, great design, rapid fitting
Cons: build quality ok not great.
A nice compact lightweight pair of lights with more than adequate brightness.
The build quality of both parts is OK. They are formed from an inner hard plastic case which holds the LED and battery compartment. This main unit is wrapped in a removable soft silicon shell which fits tightly to form a water resistant seal. Although the overall design seems very robust and well protected, the actually factory finish on the parts is merely OK; there are some lumpy seams and residual glue around the edges.
On both units changing the batteries is performed by pulling back the silicon sleeve and removing the inner case. Both front and rear take two standard AAA batteries.
The bike mounting is exceptionally simple and is one of the great selling points for these lights. On both front and rear a large silicon band formed from the outer casing wraps around the seatpost or handlebars and hooks to the other side of the case. Because the lights are not heavy they stay in place without the need for screws and clamps. Fitting takes just a few seconds.
The lights are both adequately bright to be used as a main light around town. The front is not quite bright enough to navigate by in pitch black, but for city riding and riding at dusk it is perfectly OK. The rear light is very bright and i'd be happy using it as a main light in most situations. I compared it next to the well-regarded Smart RL307, and it had similar brightness and beam pattern.
Each light has a set of strobe-flashing modes as well as a constant beam and regular on-off flashing. They are cycled by repeated button presses. The lights are turned off by holding the button down for a short time - much less time than the two-second hold required from some other lights.
Overall these lights are a great combination. They have the rapid-fitting, light weight and robust shell of small backup lights such as Knog Frogs or keyfob lamps, but are substantial enough to use as an everyday main town light with AAA batteries.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nev1450
from South Shields
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A little 'light' on reliability

Posted21 April 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive, button unreliable
Having used Froggy lights for a year or two now, I tried the Boomers in an attempt to beef up my lighting options on my commute home from Evans - Gateshead of an evening.
On the plus side, these lights are very bright and will get you noticed. However, the button operation and flashing sequences are a little sketchy.
Also the lights seemed to have a mind of their own on bumpy roads. I put this down to a tight fit on my oversize bars/seatpost causing the case to press on the button and alter settings. The rear also developed a very annoying habit of turning itself on in my bag!
As a 'get you home' light after work/racing/quick pint, they are OK. But stick to a more permanent light set for your training, dark night/winter steed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Knog Boomer Front and Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
petesReviews
from hobart, tasmania australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

stylish lights.

Posted29 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
while not perfect, these lights have amazing looks, and a high level of quality.
i bought a white cannondale badboy solo. and these are the perfect accessory, being all white.
i group lights into two types, be seen or can see. these lights are almost too good for 'be seen' but not good enough for 'can see'
Likes:
looks
adequate for using on well-light roads.
rear light is fantastic.
dislikes:
i can't work out how to use all the modes. i tend to randomly press the button until something happens.
they get dirty pretty easily.
there is an annoying back-reflection from the front light, so light tends to get in your eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.