Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Rear Light

Knog Boomer Rear Light

Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Review 1 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
husto68
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonable design let down by a dodgy switch

PostedOctober 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
The Knog boomer could be a great light, it's just let down by a dodgy on off switch. I purchased both the front and rear Knog Boomer lights and they both have the same problem. They turn on, when you don't want them on. They don't turn off, when you want them off. They turn off and on while cycling, they are hard to turn on etc. They are nice and bright, small, easy to install and swap between bikes (reason I purchased them). If knog could fix the switch, they could be onto a winner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright light at a good price

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this light for about £6 from evans and it is incredibly bright with several different strobe, blinking and static settings. My only criticism is that the white version gets dirty really easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gdays
Country:Chile
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and good

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It work well, it's very bright at night and it's easy to place it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a miniature marvel

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
"So small!" I thought when I opened the package. "Will it shine brightly enough with those tiny batteries?" Well, it certainly did, whether still or flashing; so said the serious cyclist to whom I gave it. A miniature marvel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
janed

annoying

PostedDecember 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find it hard to attach the light to my bike, but then this is a problem with rear lights generally. The other thing is that it keeps turning on in my bag (the front light doesn't). The light is very bright but I wish the attachment was easier. I keep thinking it's going to drop off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scruffmonster
from London/Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright, long lasting

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, easily fitted/removed
Cons: sensitive power button
I've had this light for a year and it's good value. It's brilliant for quickly clipping on and off as it's just a silicon loop.
However, it has the most sensitive on/off switch I've ever seen. The vibration from the road somehow manages to switch the light to 'steady' on every ride, it simply will not remain on flash. I now use this light in conjunction with a Mars 4.0 which offers more light for the same money. Everyone should use two rear lights in my opinion, so I'm not massively bothered by the Knog remaining on steady.
I'd buy it again as a second light, but wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for a primary light, there are better options out there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dipdab
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Nice light but has a major design flaw

PostedNovember 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, flawed design
I like the overall design of this light. It looks good and feels solid whilst being lightweight. I like the way it fixes to your seat post. It is also bright. However it has a major design flaw which makes me wish I hadn't bought it: it is very easy to switch on the light accidentally when it is in your bag or pocket. This means at best I keep finding it flashing away in my bag after a day in the office or at worst I find the batteries have run themselves completely flat so I have to cycle home in the dark. This seems to me like a real defect. One to avoid.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Knog Boomer Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
road
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

rear light

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Takes AAA batteries. Seems to start very bright. Connects well enough to the seatpost
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BC1973
 
Please wait while more information about BC1973 is loaded.
Additional information about BC1973 could not be loaded.
Posted November 24, 2012
I've had two sets of these in a year. They look great and are easy to pop on and off. A further benefit is the lack of bracket. However, as I said, I've been through two sets in a year.
They simply don't last. The front lights were the first to go in both instances. (One started flashing red for some reason.) with the rear fairing a little better. I don't know if it's rain related or what but I've since gone back to more normal lights of a similar price and they are fairing well.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)